Fordmods Logo

removing smartlock from the ECU by desoldering 

 

Page 1 of 1 [ 10 posts ] 

 
 Post subject: removing smartlock from the ECU by desoldering
Posted: Wed Feb 15, 2006 11:15 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Posts: 1549

Joined: 27th Apr 2005

Gallery: 1 images

Ride: AU Fairmont Ghia

Location: Perth
WA, Australia

can anyone confirm this is possible? I have heard of someone going around smartlock by simply removing the smartlock chip. This would make my BBM conversion simple
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Wed Feb 15, 2006 11:16 pm 
Fordmods Junkie
Offline
User avatar

Age: 38

Posts: 1000491

Joined: 6th Nov 2004

Gallery: 2 images

Ride: AUXR6 HP With Ducati SupA Bike!

Location: Perth
WA, Australia

mm not to my knowlage....

but cant see why not

have to be done very very carefully and then if u remove the chip will the ecu still work?

 

_________________

RIP SCOTT

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Thu Feb 16, 2006 1:27 am 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Posts: 1549

Joined: 27th Apr 2005

Gallery: 1 images

Ride: AU Fairmont Ghia

Location: Perth
WA, Australia

thats what i want to know
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Thu Feb 16, 2006 1:39 am 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 38

Posts: 1440

Joined: 7th Nov 2004

Ride: 320kw BA XR8

Location: Adelaide
SA, Australia

As far as I am aware it is actually software coded into the EEC, not a hardware change.
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Thu Feb 16, 2006 10:19 am 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 39

Posts: 1434

Joined: 5th Nov 2004

Gallery: 15 images

Ride: ALTED XR6 - ALTED EA - EF TAXI

Location: Sunshine Coast QLD
QLD, Australia

easier to install smartlock .

Its not as hard as everyone thinks.
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Thu Feb 16, 2006 11:24 am 
EFI Guru
Offline

Age: 52

Posts: 4289

Joined: 5th Nov 2004

Gallery: 28 images

Ride: 351 Vogue,XH 5.0,'17 5.0 Stang

Location: Perth
WA, Australia

Smartlock is part of the calibration code of the EEC. It is not a discrete circuit or component that can be physically removed. I can turn it off in some EB-ED 5.0 EEC's with the use of TwEECer.

Pete.
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Thu Feb 16, 2006 6:38 pm 
Tyre Shredder
Offline
User avatar

Age: 51

Posts: 377

Joined: 22nd May 2005

Gallery: 7 images

Ride: NF Fairlane V8

Location: Melbourne
VIC, Australia

Well after friggin around to install my remote start alarm and being under the dash with a CRO here's what I found out.. :twisted:

Smartlock is integrated into the BEM, all the functions are programmed into the microprocessor that lives there.

When you turn on your ign the BEM sends a pulse of power to the Smartlock module in the Ign barrel which then sends back a code (which the BEM has to learn when you change BEM or IGN barrel).
The BEM then allows relays to be switched on (Starter, EEC, etc) and it also sends the EEC an enable code which allows the EEC to fire the injectors.

Using the CRO I was able to capture the EEC enable signal (which I'm pretty sure is the same on all our cars) and its just a square wave with a sequence of 250 & 500Hz pulses that repeat over and over.
I was looking at programming a PIC to replicate the signal to see if it works as a bypass BUT I've been lazy and my car runs fine using the 2nd Ign barrel to I haven't got around to puting theory into practice.. :lol: :lol:

So where were we, Ohh yeah back to the Q. No. Start removing IC's inside the BEM and who knows what functions you lose?????

 

_________________

The TORQUE Monster project begins!

Pic's, details and all the yummy stuff:
http://www.fordmods.com/forums/viewtopic.php?t=22693

"There's no replacement for displacement!"

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Thu Feb 16, 2006 6:48 pm 
Technical Contributor
Offline
User avatar

Age: 33

Posts: 5858

Joined: 5th Nov 2004

Gallery: 8 images

Ride: '95 EF's

Location: Leederville
WA, Australia

anton - i have a full futura dash with wiring loom here if you want to grab it off me? we can sort something out for it! :) oh and a heater box too lol

 

_________________

R.I.P. Scotty

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Thu Feb 16, 2006 8:21 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Posts: 1549

Joined: 27th Apr 2005

Gallery: 1 images

Ride: AU Fairmont Ghia

Location: Perth
WA, Australia

sms'd you fraser

Thanks everybody
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Thu Feb 16, 2006 8:23 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 32

Posts: 3687

Joined: 4th Mar 2005

Gallery: 23 images

Ride: XR6 Turbo

Location: Taree
NSW, Australia

that would take such a steady hand, im not even game to touch my ecu

 

_________________

SS Inductions CAI, K&N Filters, M-spec FMC, Turbosmart BOV, 8psi capa tune, X-force cat.

Mods going on: Nizpro springs, bosch 040 pump + Walbro gss341, 600cc injectors, PWR transcooler, 20% Underdrives, 15psi Actuator, Kingspring SSL's, 15psi tune.....More coming

Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:
Sort by  
 Page 1 of 1  [ 10 posts ] 

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Google [Bot] and 12 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

 

 

It is currently Thu Dec 14, 2017 11:41 am All times are UTC + 11 hours

 

 

(c)2014 Total Web Solutions Australia - Australian Web Hosting and Domain Names