Fordmods Logo

Running out of fuel before tank is empty!!!??? 

 

Page 2 of 2 [ 21 posts ] Go to page Previous  1, 2

 
Posted: Sun Jan 06, 2008 10:05 pm 
Smokin em up
Offline

Age: 42

Posts: 225

Joined: 9th Dec 2005

Ride: EF Fairmont

Location: Frankston
VIC, Australia

Mitch_ wrote:
he told you what to do though! its not like his post isnt helping you and just adding onto it! F**k!
so you replaced it yet? also fuel and dte would both get there info from the same source pretty much :P fuel sender - cluster - trip computer...


I didnt know it was the fuel sender! until it was first properly answered for me by fongus

 

_________________

Love getting ripped off by fellow Ford Modders... 4 to date so far since 2005!!!!
Please do it more!!!!

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Sun Jan 06, 2008 10:20 pm 
Technical Contributor
Offline
User avatar

Age: 53

Posts: 5587

Joined: 14th Jan 2005

Gallery: 10 images

Ride: 96 XH/97 EL

Location: South Coast
NSW, Australia

dazzat wrote:
Thanks heaps snap0964
Yeah I talked to andrew on the phone earlier about this.
I just hate it when I get flamed for a perplexing problem I'm having...
NP fella - actually I remember when some of Phong's posts were pretty ordinary - if you read his post earlier, it's pretty much spot on - he has learnt a lot and grown - if people think posts are a waste, don't reply to them - simple solution.
If you learn from this thread, then it isn't a waste - if someone asks the same question later on, refer them to this thread . . . . . .

 

_________________

96 XH Longreach 'S': LPG, Alarm, 3.23:1 LSD, Cruise, Trip Comp, ABS, Power Windows, Mid Series Dome Lt, Climate Ctrl
97 EL Futura S/W: LPG, Alarm, LED int Lts, Trip Comp, F/Lane Dome Lt, Climate Ctrl, T5 Conversion

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Sun Jan 06, 2008 10:23 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline

Age: 33

Posts: 6746

Joined: 13th Mar 2006

Gallery: 10 images

Ride: NCII Fairlane

Location: Bathurst
NSW, Australia

phongus wrote:
Could the floating petrol level sensor arm in the tank be jammed after it hits 1/4 of petrol?

phong =P~


i say this may be the case... i ran out of fuel awhile ago and knocked the pump out and noticed that my baffle / dirt tray free in the tank it held the sender arm up and guage said 1/4 tank but wasn't

 

_________________

R.I.P Tobias my son.

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Sun Jan 06, 2008 10:38 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 85

Posts: 1088

Joined: 30th Jan 2005

Gallery: 16 images

Ride: F350

Location: Brisbane
QLD, Australia

Mate, I apologise for appearing like I was flaming you, I was merely venting after opening post after post of menial crap that just wastes time.
If dash, and trip computer say one thing, but another thing happens, F**k me, its not rocket science.
I'll buy you a few beers when you are up here to make up for my mistake, sorry champ.
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Sun Jan 06, 2008 10:38 pm 
Fordmods Junkie
Offline
User avatar

Posts: 11739

Joined: 17th May 2005

Gallery: 11 images

Ride: EL Fairmont, VFR400 racer

Power: 144 rwkw

Location: Melbourne
VIC, Australia

snap0964 wrote:
dazzat wrote:
Thanks heaps snap0964
Yeah I talked to andrew on the phone earlier about this.
I just hate it when I get flamed for a perplexing problem I'm having...
NP fella - actually I remember when some of Phong's posts were pretty ordinary - if you read his post earlier, it's pretty much spot on - he has learnt a lot and grown - if people think posts are a waste, don't reply to them - simple solution.
If you learn from this thread, then it isn't a waste - if someone asks the same question later on, refer them to this thread . . . . . .


thanks snap ;) I have learned heaps off this site and try my best to help those who were like me :D. Now it's time to give back to the community :D

Hope you get it fixed dazzat.

phong =P~

 

_________________

phongus = Post whore 2006
EL XR6 motor, EL ECU + J3 chip, WADE 1673 Camshaft, 3" S/S intake, Pacy 4480, 2.5" Hi flow cat, 2.5" Lukey exhaust.
Max Power = 144.6 rwkw (03/05/2008)

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Thu Jan 17, 2008 5:49 pm 
Parts Gopher
Offline
User avatar

Age: 38

Posts: 84

Joined: 17th Jul 2006

Location: sydney
NSW, Australia

when i fitted my walbro pump it was shoter than the stock one and therefore didn't quite reach the bottom of the tank so it ran out of fuel at 1/4 full...i modified it to site as low as possible but make sure its always got over 1/8 tank....so maybe it has and after market pump fitted and fitted too high
Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:
Sort by  
 Page 2 of 2  [ 21 posts ]  Go to page Previous  1, 2

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 7 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

 

 

It is currently Thu Dec 14, 2017 3:31 pm All times are UTC + 11 hours

 

 

(c)2014 Total Web Solutions Australia - Australian Web Hosting and Domain Names