Fordmods Logo

Sory a catch code question again. 

 

Page 1 of 1 [ 9 posts ] 

 
 Post subject: Sory a catch code question again.
Posted: Thu Jul 05, 2007 10:53 pm 
Smokin em up
Offline

Age: 35

Posts: 296

Joined: 16th Oct 2006

Ride: 94 EF (OPT20), TF Cortina Ghia

Location: Bendigo
VIC, Australia

4DTA. Its an EF ECU. can anyone tell me the wheel size that this model would have had pls. it is a 3.23 auto. wondering if maybe it could be the 16 inch option. Got it off ebay cos think i may have probs with mine.

 

_________________

"Look I found tape, I'm a mechanic now!!!" Mike Teutul

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Thu Jul 05, 2007 11:31 pm 
Technical Contributor
Offline
User avatar

Age: 38

Posts: 4093

Joined: 20th Mar 2005

Gallery: 2 images

Ride: 2.0 Turbo VW

Power: 142 rwkw

Location: Seaford State:
VIC, Australia

wheel size wont matter.

Saw this ECU CC in a 95 EF GLi Auto Wagon with a 3.23:1 SS with 15"
I happened to find a car today with this exact ecu number but it was a remanufactured one

 

_________________

Carefree, we may not be number one, but we're up there.

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Fri Jul 06, 2007 3:54 pm 
Smokin em up
Offline

Age: 35

Posts: 296

Joined: 16th Oct 2006

Ride: 94 EF (OPT20), TF Cortina Ghia

Location: Bendigo
VIC, Australia

Yeah i realise hat the wheel size wont matter. but the ecu i currently have is off the 15in option and as i have 16's now it would be good if it was the 16 option. i know it doesnt realy matter but i was just hopeing. or is the wheel size completely irrelevant to the ecu and only goverened by the speedo cogs on the box?????

 

_________________

"Look I found tape, I'm a mechanic now!!!" Mike Teutul

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Fri Jul 06, 2007 4:04 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline

Posts: 6166

Joined: 8th May 2007

Wheel size doesnt matter as long as the correct tyre is fitted to it to keep the same overall rolling diameter

Check here for wheel, tyre sizes. The stock tyre size for 15" wheels is 205/65/15
http://www.miata.net/garage/tirecalc.html
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Fri Jul 06, 2007 4:16 pm 
Smokin em up
Offline

Age: 35

Posts: 296

Joined: 16th Oct 2006

Ride: 94 EF (OPT20), TF Cortina Ghia

Location: Bendigo
VIC, Australia

YES YES YES. I understand all that and i got a dashi can calibrate. I was just wondering. because if this is a 16 inch option ecu. my other ecu is a 15 inch option and i have my spedo calibrated to suit. now if i put in an ecu suited to 16 inch wheels then my calibration will be wrong. I understand all that. my question isnt a how do i change tyre size without affecting my speedo question. its a does the ecu have specific wheel sizes that its programmed for?. and if so what are those sizes

PS. I am not changing the comp to fix my wheel problem. i am changing ecu cos mine has basicly s**t itself im told. wont idle or nothin properly and a few other things. but the scanner shows no codes. so the mechanic sugested changing the computer to see what happens then.

 

_________________

"Look I found tape, I'm a mechanic now!!!" Mike Teutul

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Fri Jul 06, 2007 4:27 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline

Posts: 6166

Joined: 8th May 2007

Mate, the question has been answered twice.

No, there is not a special 16" / 15" ecu for an EF.

Regardless of the wheel size, ford had certain size tyres to keep all different sized wheels the same rolling diameter. :)

One thing im not sure of is if different diff ratios are programmed into the ecu.....
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Fri Jul 06, 2007 7:12 pm 
ACT Cruise Moderator
Offline
User avatar

Age: 36

Posts: 6275

Joined: 24th Nov 2004

Ride: '06 BF GT-P

Power: 293 rwkw

Location: Canberra
ACT, Australia

Different diff ratios matter for auto ECUs as they affect the shift patterns.

 

_________________

1998 DL LTD in Sparkling Burgundy, daily, 302W, stereo, slow - 97.5rwkw
2006 BF GT-P in Ego, mods. 293rwkw - 12.427@109 - 0-1000m 24.838@221

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Sat Jul 07, 2007 1:04 am 
Smokin em up
Offline

Age: 35

Posts: 296

Joined: 16th Oct 2006

Ride: 94 EF (OPT20), TF Cortina Ghia

Location: Bendigo
VIC, Australia

thanx fordfairmont. so ford kept the 15 and 16 rims the same with a lower tyre on the 16. basicly thats sorta what i wanted to know in a roundabout kinda way. sorry if i appear a bit thik. but in the lists of catch codes i found when i searched i noticed that some of them say for 15 or 16 in wheels and it was this information that led me to believe that the ecu's may have been programmed differently. Sory.

 

_________________

"Look I found tape, I'm a mechanic now!!!" Mike Teutul

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Sat Jul 07, 2007 7:24 am 
Getting Side Ways
Offline

Posts: 6166

Joined: 8th May 2007

Dont apologize mate, the only way to find out somthing is if you ask!!
Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:
Sort by  
 Page 1 of 1  [ 9 posts ] 

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 13 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

 

 

It is currently Sun Dec 17, 2017 12:53 am All times are UTC + 11 hours

 

 

(c)2014 Total Web Solutions Australia - Australian Web Hosting and Domain Names