Fordmods Logo

Standalone ECU 

 

Page 1 of 1 [ 12 posts ] 

 
 Post subject: Standalone ECU
Posted: Sun Oct 07, 2007 7:18 pm 
Parts Gopher
Offline

Posts: 55

Joined: 31st Jan 2006

Location: Newy-ish
NSW, Australia

I've fitted a 4.o litre tickford motor/box into another car. I've pulled the (tickford) ECU out of the donor car and have a pinout diagram. How hard will it be to make the ECU stand alone?

 

_________________

4.o litre Tickford Feroza

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Sun Oct 07, 2007 7:20 pm 
Technical Contributor
Offline
User avatar

Age: 38

Posts: 4093

Joined: 20th Mar 2005

Gallery: 2 images

Ride: 2.0 Turbo VW

Power: 142 rwkw

Location: Seaford State:
VIC, Australia

eh?

from what to what?
Donor car was:
Transplant is: Hilux?

 

_________________

Carefree, we may not be number one, but we're up there.

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Sun Oct 07, 2007 7:28 pm 
Parts Gopher
Offline

Posts: 55

Joined: 31st Jan 2006

Location: Newy-ish
NSW, Australia

EF fairmont ghia 4.o litre motor/ecu into Feroza. The recipient car shouldnt really matter as the ECU needs to "standalone"

 

_________________

4.o litre Tickford Feroza

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Sun Oct 07, 2007 7:44 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Posts: 2644

Joined: 6th Nov 2004

Gallery: 8 images

Ride: 2007

Location: Mount Annan
NSW, Australia

You will need most of the engine and dash looms plus either Body electronics module (smartlock) or a smartlock bypass. Should be easy if you are comfortable with a meter and a circuit diagram

 

_________________

BF Fairmont Ghia Series II update.
GQ XR6T ghia patrol.

,======o00o
//__|__|_,\_____\,___
|_/--\'_|'__|_/--\_[]IIII[]
_( o ) )_____( o ) )=o=) )__

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Sun Oct 07, 2007 7:45 pm 
Parts Gopher
Offline

Age: 38

Posts: 61

Joined: 27th Jul 2007

Ride: XG

Location: adelaide
SA, Australia

you will have to use looms from original vehicle, or at least all the plug ends for ecu dizzy sensors etc.

i would keep the original loom intact then graft in the various power feeds earths etc,

there is someone on here that does bypass systems for the smart lock side of things,other than this you will need to wire in bcm ignition locks etc

should be easier if its manual

best of luck it can be done.
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Sun Oct 07, 2007 9:18 pm 
Parts Gopher
Offline

Posts: 55

Joined: 31st Jan 2006

Location: Newy-ish
NSW, Australia

Yeah I have most of the original loom. I'll spend the night tracing wires :/

 

_________________

4.o litre Tickford Feroza

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Mon Oct 08, 2007 12:15 am 
Parts Gopher
Offline

Posts: 55

Joined: 31st Jan 2006

Location: Newy-ish
NSW, Australia

Looks like I only need to wire in 49 wires to the ecu :/

Is the speedo circuit a feed or signal ie does the ECU get it's spped signal from the speedo head or a sensor in the auto?

 

_________________

4.o litre Tickford Feroza

Last edited by allmtr on Mon Oct 08, 2007 12:18 am, edited 1 time in total.

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Mon Oct 08, 2007 12:17 am 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 28

Posts: 5889

Joined: 2nd Mar 2006

Gallery: 5 images

Ride: '14 Grand Cherokee

Location: Port Lincoln
SA, Australia

id love to see pics of this Feroza powered by Ford :twisted:

 

_________________

11/93 ED OPT20 GLi | Full Boat Spec

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Mon Oct 08, 2007 12:21 am 
Parts Gopher
Offline

Posts: 55

Joined: 31st Jan 2006

Location: Newy-ish
NSW, Australia

http://img516.imageshack.us/img516/6651/insituto9.jpg

Still a hell of a lot to do...

 

_________________

4.o litre Tickford Feroza

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Mon Oct 08, 2007 12:24 am 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 28

Posts: 5889

Joined: 2nd Mar 2006

Gallery: 5 images

Ride: '14 Grand Cherokee

Location: Port Lincoln
SA, Australia

i reckon it would be one of the most powerful Ferozas in Aust when its finished :lol:

 

_________________

11/93 ED OPT20 GLi | Full Boat Spec

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Mon Oct 08, 2007 1:02 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline

Age: 38

Posts: 1319

Joined: 5th Nov 2004

Ride: 66 Coupe

Location: Perth
WA, Australia

Ive done a few conversion as well as a lot of customers are doing conversions into all sorts of things, ie speed boats, 5.0l's into hotrods etc.
If your confortable with a wiring diagram, then its not too hard, just time consuming.
You will need a smartlock bypass module (i can supply if req.) to enable the ecu without all the associated BCM crap.
The speedo signal cones from the cluster on the falcons, to the ecu, however there is also a way around that, so you can connect the speedo pickup direct to the ecu.
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Mon Oct 08, 2007 6:26 pm 
Parts Gopher
Offline

Posts: 55

Joined: 31st Jan 2006

Location: Newy-ish
NSW, Australia

Can you PM me the price of the bypass? Also how does it wire up?

So the VSS on the box transmits to the speedo and then to the ECU?

 

_________________

4.o litre Tickford Feroza

Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:
Sort by  
 Page 1 of 1  [ 12 posts ] 

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 12 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

 

 

It is currently Wed Dec 13, 2017 3:15 pm All times are UTC + 11 hours

 

 

(c)2014 Total Web Solutions Australia - Australian Web Hosting and Domain Names