Fordmods Logo

Switchable ECU Adaptor for EEC-V - Megasquirt 

 

Page 1 of 1 [ 7 posts ] 

 
 Post subject: Switchable ECU Adaptor for EEC-V - Megasquirt
Posted: Mon Oct 10, 2005 4:24 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline

Age: 35

Posts: 533

Joined: 12th Jan 2005

Location: Melbourne
VIC, Australia

Hi all.

I have a MS-I sitting on my desk that was going to wait for a WB sensor till it got installed, but I've decided to use the NB one for now.

What I am going to try and do with the aid of a friend is design an adaptor to go into the wiring harness and allow the user to switch between MS and EEv operation.

What info needs to be fed to the EEC so that it doesn't crack the s**t? I'm assuming for manual, the EEC wouldn't need any info seeing as once MS is controlling the fuel and spark, the ECU can't do anything to the spark/fuel because of any error codes.

The auto might be a bit different though. Will teh auto computers require any sensor inputs apart from the MAP obviously to work properly?
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Mon Oct 10, 2005 4:28 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 46

Posts: 1040

Joined: 5th Nov 2004

Gallery: 5 images

Ride: EA Fairmont Ghia

Location: Melbourne
VIC, Australia

gearbox temp at least, and some other gearbox feeds or it wil lgo into limp mode, I suggest check the wiring in the tech section.

 

_________________

Full working BA Shifter now upgraded to BF Shifter.
BA headlight inserts in my EA headlights.

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Mon Oct 10, 2005 4:51 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 36

Posts: 8655

Joined: 5th Nov 2004

Gallery: 37 images

Ride: V8 EF Futura

Location: Adelaide CBD
SA, Australia

Auto will require TPS and trans temp link... and econ mode switch position... and a tach feed. Auto couldnt care less about manifold pressure, its predominantly based on TPS and RPM...

If you have MS controlling ISC, EEC wont need air con, blower fan input... but i dont see the benefit in leaving that connected to EEC whilst MS runs the show...

You'll need to give EEC enough info to run the dash... CLT, RPM etc

 

_________________

I promise..... I will never die.

Fordmods Administration Group MINOR PUNKED

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Tue Oct 11, 2005 12:37 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline

Age: 35

Posts: 533

Joined: 12th Jan 2005

Location: Melbourne
VIC, Australia

All the auto wires to the ECU would stay connected as there's no reason to route these wires to the MS since it doesn't control the gearbox.

Only the engine sensors need to be shared between the two ECUs, so if all the EEC needs for auto is RPM and TPS it makes it a lot easier!!
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Tue Oct 11, 2005 1:25 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 46

Posts: 1040

Joined: 5th Nov 2004

Gallery: 5 images

Ride: EA Fairmont Ghia

Location: Melbourne
VIC, Australia

I have attached what was need as far as ECU input/shared sensors for the 4 speed auto trans computer in my car, should help alot with what you are doing.

 

 

Attachments:
File comment: EA series and Trans controller pin mapping.
ECU_&_TCU_Pin_Assignment.xls [22.5 KiB]
Downloaded 106 times

 

_________________

Full working BA Shifter now upgraded to BF Shifter.
BA headlight inserts in my EA headlights.

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Tue Oct 11, 2005 7:32 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Posts: 1960

Joined: 6th Nov 2004

Gallery: 22 images

Power: 315 rwkw

Location: Under the flight path of incoming packpackers
NSW, Australia

TPS can be shared, water temp wouldnt work both ecu's for me. Air temp i dont know, I use two separate sensors for that, injectors might need switching, ignition too
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Wed Oct 12, 2005 5:44 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline

Age: 35

Posts: 533

Joined: 12th Jan 2005

Location: Melbourne
VIC, Australia

CHEF wrote:
TPS can be shared, water temp wouldnt work both ecu's for me. Air temp i dont know, I use two separate sensors for that, injectors might need switching, ignition too


Found the info on the MS site. You simply leave out the bias resistors on the MS and determine the bias resistor in the EEC, then do new tables using that bias resistance.
Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:
Sort by  
 Page 1 of 1  [ 7 posts ] 

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 8 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

 

 

It is currently Thu Dec 14, 2017 12:22 am All times are UTC + 11 hours

 

 

(c)2014 Total Web Solutions Australia - Australian Web Hosting and Domain Names