Fordmods Logo

The Proper way to reset the ECU. 

 

Page 2 of 3 [ 37 posts ] Go to page Previous  1, 2, 3  Next

 
 Post subject: The Proper way to reset the ECU.
Posted: Thu Aug 25, 2005 12:04 pm 
Stock as a Rock
Offline
User avatar

Age: 59

Posts: 161

Joined: 8th Nov 2004

Ride: BA Fairmont Ghia

Location: Guildford
NSW, Australia

Would the procedure described be the same for an EB with MPFI ???
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Thu Aug 25, 2005 2:50 pm 
Tyre Shredder
Offline
User avatar

Age: 42

Posts: 333

Joined: 25th Apr 2005

Gallery: 2 images

Ride: Au Fairmont Wagon, BA Tradesman

Location: Ipswich
QLD, Australia

Does anyone know the procedure for AUs

 

_________________

FACTS ARE MEANINGLESS.

THEY CAN BE USED TO PROVE ANYTHING!

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Tue Aug 30, 2005 12:59 am 
Getting Side Ways
Offline

Posts: 413

Joined: 14th Nov 2004

Ride: 2000 AU II Fairmont Ghia

Location: Brisbane Most of the time/Sydney Some of the time
QLD, Australia

its the same for the au... i had the official ecu manual off a mate for a while, the only diff i saw was it said 2 mins in each position.

 

_________________

Organza 2000 AU 2 Fairmont Ghia
4.0 VCT
JMM Race Series Exhaust
AWC TS50 Front bar
3.45 LSD

Coming soon:
G&D Airbox
CAPA Edit

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Thu Sep 01, 2005 10:25 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 48

Posts: 2537

Joined: 5th Nov 2004

Gallery: 13 images

Ride: EFII Fairmont

Location: Perth
WA, Australia

Thanks Sly. I did this. I gave my car a service yesterday, oil, oil filter, fuel filter and decided to disconnect my negative battery lead for 20 minutes.
I reconnected it again and went through your procdures, and it is much better now. Like the standing start for instance, I no longer wince with pain as the 1st gear whines all the way up, as it jerks into 2nd, I no longer need to be affraid of that 'push pull' affect the car had as it went into 3rd. Now it's really smooth. Thankyou mate!

Now all I have to do it get this driveline clatter diagnosed. It's not really loud, but it's like driving around with a warped axel or something. It doesn't feel like a warped axel but it sounds just like one if it were, if you get my meaning... :(
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Tue Sep 06, 2005 10:50 am 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 47

Posts: 1826

Joined: 6th Nov 2004

Gallery: 3 images

Ride: 1997 Falcon EL Gli/Sleeper

Location: Bayside, Brisbane
QLD, Australia

No worries

 

_________________

" In life their is never an Obligation just an Opportunity to..Own an awesome 1970 Ford Mach 1 Mustang! "

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Wed Oct 12, 2005 2:59 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline

Age: 61

Posts: 437

Joined: 11th Nov 2004

Ride: EL GHIA

Location: adelaide
SA, Australia

great post

can i ask a dumb ? without gettin flamed :oops:

does the battery "have" to be disconnected for an extended period prior to performing this calibration sequence or will it overwrite existing settings without disconnecting battery :?:
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Wed Oct 12, 2005 3:54 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 33

Posts: 3885

Joined: 6th Nov 2004

Gallery: 24 images

Ride: BF MKII XR6 Turbo

Location: Victor Harbor
SA, Australia

LOL i knew this ages ago, i bet my original thread on it is still around here somewhere :) Still good job :P

 

_________________

Image -BF MKII XR6 Turbo in EGO-

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Wed Oct 12, 2005 3:56 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 33

Posts: 3885

Joined: 6th Nov 2004

Gallery: 24 images

Ride: BF MKII XR6 Turbo

Location: Victor Harbor
SA, Australia

tiny56 wrote:
great post

can i ask a dumb ? without gettin flamed :oops:

does the battery "have" to be disconnected for an extended period prior to performing this calibration sequence or will it overwrite existing settings without disconnecting battery :?:


Nope you have to disconnect the battery, you really only need to disconnect it for 1 hour.

 

_________________

Image -BF MKII XR6 Turbo in EGO-

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Wed Oct 12, 2005 6:39 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline

Age: 61

Posts: 437

Joined: 11th Nov 2004

Ride: EL GHIA

Location: adelaide
SA, Australia

kewl thanks
Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: ECU calibration
Posted: Sat Oct 15, 2005 2:17 am 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 50

Posts: 1525

Joined: 13th Oct 2005

Gallery: 13 images

Ride: The DEVEL XR6

Location: Perth
WA, Australia

Hey guys.

When you say disconnect the battery for an hour, ...is this BEFORE or AFTER you drive the car up to operating temp before performing the steps?

Please clarify ASAP, as I wanna calibrate this weekend!

Cheers!

 

_________________

Hot Chilli Red EL XR6, 5-spd, JMM DEV 5 enhanced (161 rwkw custom tuned), Eliminator Switch Chip, 18" BA GTP rims, Pedders Superlows, BA XR6 badges, BA Sunroof, Pioneer Stereo, Splits, 6x9's, 10" sub, 700W 6-ch Viper amp.
QUARTER MILE PB: currently 14.590 @ 96.00 mph ...BOOST AHEAD!!

Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: ECU calibration
Posted: Sat Oct 15, 2005 5:01 am 
Stock as a Rock
Offline
User avatar

Age: 59

Posts: 161

Joined: 8th Nov 2004

Ride: BA Fairmont Ghia

Location: Guildford
NSW, Australia

I would still like to have my question answered :?: Can this procedure be used for an EBI Fairmont with MPFI or is there another way. I realise this is an older car, but really guys that is no reason to ignore me.
Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: ECU calibration
Posted: Sat Oct 15, 2005 9:08 am 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 47

Posts: 1826

Joined: 6th Nov 2004

Gallery: 3 images

Ride: 1997 Falcon EL Gli/Sleeper

Location: Bayside, Brisbane
QLD, Australia

elusiverunner wrote:
I would still like to have my question answered :?: Can this procedure be used for an EBI Fairmont with MPFI or is there another way. I realise this is an older car, but really guys that is no reason to ignore me.


I honestly am not sure whether or not it is the same procedure for your MPFI EB1 Fairmont. The only way to see if it really works is to just go ahead and try it and see how your Mont goes after you do it. :D

 

_________________

" In life their is never an Obligation just an Opportunity to..Own an awesome 1970 Ford Mach 1 Mustang! "

Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: ECU calibration
Posted: Sat Oct 15, 2005 9:12 am 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 47

Posts: 1826

Joined: 6th Nov 2004

Gallery: 3 images

Ride: 1997 Falcon EL Gli/Sleeper

Location: Bayside, Brisbane
QLD, Australia

markr154 wrote:
Hey guys.

When you say disconnect the battery for an hour, ...is this BEFORE or AFTER you drive the car up to operating temp before performing the steps?

Please clarify ASAP, as I wanna calibrate this weekend!

Cheers!


I think it dosent matter as I you can just disconnect the battery for 1+ hours or even overnight and and then re-connect battery drive around until your Ride reaches operating Temp then immediately Start Calibration :D

 

_________________

" In life their is never an Obligation just an Opportunity to..Own an awesome 1970 Ford Mach 1 Mustang! "

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Sat Oct 15, 2005 1:43 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 50

Posts: 1525

Joined: 13th Oct 2005

Gallery: 13 images

Ride: The DEVEL XR6

Location: Perth
WA, Australia

1 SLY 97EL wrote:
markr154 wrote:
Hey guys.

When you say disconnect the battery for an hour, ...is this BEFORE or AFTER you drive the car up to operating temp before performing the steps?

Please clarify ASAP, as I wanna calibrate this weekend!

Cheers!


I think it dosent matter as I you can just disconnect the battery for 1+ hours or even overnight and and then re-connect battery drive around until your Ride reaches operating Temp then immediately Start Calibration :D
Cheers Sly! Did it last nite, seems to be fine.
The idle speed seems to sit at a constant 650rpm in D, 750rpm in N...is this NORMAL?

P.S. My bro' got one of those resistor-type chips (off ebay) for his Commodore VN...what are your thoughts on those things? (the chips I mean, HA)

They claim to modify your IAT so that your ECU thinks constant cold air, and gives you a richer air/fuel combo.

The instructions then tell you to idle car to operating temp, switch off, take out your ECU fuse after installing the resistor, leave it 5 mins, then plug it back in, start the car, let it idle for 3-4 mins, turn off car, then restart to reset the ECU for the chip mod.

Surely the ECU will then lean out the mix to compensate for the chip mod? Defeats the purpose I think!

What do you guys reckon?

I can tell my bro' (or there again, I might not Heh Heh)

 

_________________

Hot Chilli Red EL XR6, 5-spd, JMM DEV 5 enhanced (161 rwkw custom tuned), Eliminator Switch Chip, 18" BA GTP rims, Pedders Superlows, BA XR6 badges, BA Sunroof, Pioneer Stereo, Splits, 6x9's, 10" sub, 700W 6-ch Viper amp.
QUARTER MILE PB: currently 14.590 @ 96.00 mph ...BOOST AHEAD!!

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Sun Oct 16, 2005 4:36 am 
Getting Side Ways
Offline

Age: 31

Posts: 3893

Joined: 15th Nov 2004

Gallery: 24 images

Ride: BF MKII V8 Fairmont Ghia

Location: Perth
WA, Australia

those chips are a crock... let ur bro buy it and laugh at him...

cant remember exactly.. f**k s**t up tho...

senses lots of cold air, makes mix richer to compensate, then oxy sensor detects its runnig rich, then itll try lean the car out, but it still thinks lots of cold air..

so yeh.. i think thats the deal with them being a wothless POS

 

_________________

2007 Steel BF Ghia MKII V8 - 19" GTP's + Superlows

Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:
Sort by  
 Page 2 of 3  [ 37 posts ]  Go to page Previous  1, 2, 3  Next

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 13 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

 

 

It is currently Thu Dec 14, 2017 1:53 am All times are UTC + 11 hours

 

 

(c)2014 Total Web Solutions Australia - Australian Web Hosting and Domain Names