Fordmods Logo

Thermo Wiring 

 

Page 1 of 1 [ 11 posts ] 

 
 Post subject: Thermo Wiring
Posted: Fri Jun 17, 2005 2:30 am 
Technical Contributor
Offline
User avatar

Age: 32

Posts: 3097

Joined: 5th Nov 2004

Gallery: 29 images

Ride: VU SS

Location: Ivanhoe
NSW, Australia

OK, just looking at the thermofan doco, and the EL specs page.

How I intepret it is that when the thermofan outputs are at 12v the relays are meant to be off. So if I send 12v to the relay, when the outputs go to 0v they will be ground and this will trip the relays? Is that right?

If not can someone explain how it's meant to work?

Cheers.

 

_________________

EF Fairmont now Sold!
Guides: Polishing|Modifications |Manual Conversion

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Fri Jun 17, 2005 1:17 pm 
Technical Contributor
Offline
User avatar

Age: 53

Posts: 5589

Joined: 14th Jan 2005

Gallery: 10 images

Ride: 96 XH/97 EL

Location: South Coast
NSW, Australia

Couple of questions:
a) Do you have the EL thermo wiring diagram in front of you ??
b) Do you want to know for just knowledge, or is there a problem, or are you wanting to modify it, etc.
Answers to these help before posting a reply . . . . .

 

_________________

96 XH Longreach 'S': LPG, Alarm, 3.23:1 LSD, Cruise, Trip Comp, ABS, Power Windows, Mid Series Dome Lt, Climate Ctrl
97 EL Futura S/W: LPG, Alarm, LED int Lts, Trip Comp, F/Lane Dome Lt, Climate Ctrl, T5 Conversion

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Fri Jun 17, 2005 1:21 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 36

Posts: 8655

Joined: 5th Nov 2004

Gallery: 37 images

Ride: V8 EF Futura

Location: Adelaide CBD
SA, Australia

There are 'normal open' and 'normal closed' relays in the twin thermo setups.

I have a little spreadsheet for the EF showing the relay states for given fan operation... i think EL is different but may assist your understanding of the system. PM your email addy if you want...

 

_________________

I promise..... I will never die.

Fordmods Administration Group MINOR PUNKED

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Fri Jun 17, 2005 1:32 pm 
Technical Contributor
Offline
User avatar

Age: 53

Posts: 5589

Joined: 14th Jan 2005

Gallery: 10 images

Ride: 96 XH/97 EL

Location: South Coast
NSW, Australia

. . . .And let us know if you have a wiring diagram or not - I can post one here. With all this stuff , you should then be able to figure it out yourself.

 

_________________

96 XH Longreach 'S': LPG, Alarm, 3.23:1 LSD, Cruise, Trip Comp, ABS, Power Windows, Mid Series Dome Lt, Climate Ctrl
97 EL Futura S/W: LPG, Alarm, LED int Lts, Trip Comp, F/Lane Dome Lt, Climate Ctrl, T5 Conversion

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Fri Jun 17, 2005 2:57 pm 
Technical Contributor
Offline
User avatar

Age: 32

Posts: 3097

Joined: 5th Nov 2004

Gallery: 29 images

Ride: VU SS

Location: Ivanhoe
NSW, Australia

All I really want to know is if I run 12v to the relay, and the Terhofan output from the ECU to the other - will the relay trip when the thermofan output goes to 0v.

I have all the wiring sorted, just need to knwo this.

Cheers.

 

_________________

EF Fairmont now Sold!
Guides: Polishing|Modifications |Manual Conversion

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Fri Jun 17, 2005 3:16 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 36

Posts: 8655

Joined: 5th Nov 2004

Gallery: 37 images

Ride: V8 EF Futura

Location: Adelaide CBD
SA, Australia

With the EL 3 relay setup, the first 2 are normally open. When EEC trips these relays they close and enable the 12V output... the third relay is normally closed so when EEC trips it, the output is 0V

Both fans half speed: EEC tripping relay 1... relay 3 is normally closed and therefore diving this power in 2 so each fan receives 6V

Both fans full speed: EEC tripping relays 1, 2 and 3. R1 has 12V output to fan 1... R2 has 12V output to fan 2... as R3 is normally closed, as EEC triggers it, it opens and therefore has no output.

 

_________________

I promise..... I will never die.

Fordmods Administration Group MINOR PUNKED

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Fri Jun 17, 2005 4:42 pm 
Technical Contributor
Offline
User avatar

Age: 32

Posts: 3097

Joined: 5th Nov 2004

Gallery: 29 images

Ride: VU SS

Location: Ivanhoe
NSW, Australia

I'm doing mine a bit different to that, just going to use two relays, and have 1 fan come on for Mode 1, and the secod fan Come on for Mode 2.

The relays I have here are Normally open, and I'm hoping that when the ECU goes to 0v I can trip them by feeding them 12v. But if the ECU opens the circuit instead of grounding it I'm screwed. I'll just have to wire em up the way ford intended in that case.

Cheers.

 

_________________

EF Fairmont now Sold!
Guides: Polishing|Modifications |Manual Conversion

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Fri Jun 17, 2005 7:49 pm 
Technical Contributor
Offline
User avatar

Age: 53

Posts: 5589

Joined: 14th Jan 2005

Gallery: 10 images

Ride: 96 XH/97 EL

Location: South Coast
NSW, Australia

voxace wrote:
I'll just have to wire em up the way ford intended in that case.
This may be the best and simplest option because if the ECU doesn't see the circuit as std, it might start spitting out error codes for the relays, and for the fans as well - only an issue for faultfinding. Your fans may not operate correctly when doing a std serviceability test either - again not an issue unless you're faultfinding.

 

_________________

96 XH Longreach 'S': LPG, Alarm, 3.23:1 LSD, Cruise, Trip Comp, ABS, Power Windows, Mid Series Dome Lt, Climate Ctrl
97 EL Futura S/W: LPG, Alarm, LED int Lts, Trip Comp, F/Lane Dome Lt, Climate Ctrl, T5 Conversion

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Sat Jun 18, 2005 11:46 am 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 36

Posts: 1249

Joined: 5th Nov 2004

Ride: Falcon

Location: Melbourne
VIC, Australia

In mine cause theres no ECU n all that garbage :P we just put an element into the rad pipe and used that as a thermo switch, all on or all off, EL Twin thermos are the best by far, dont even bother with anything else.

 

_________________

I couldnt fix your brakes so I made your horn louder
Image

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Sat Jun 18, 2005 3:43 pm 
Technical Contributor
Offline
User avatar

Age: 32

Posts: 3097

Joined: 5th Nov 2004

Gallery: 29 images

Ride: VU SS

Location: Ivanhoe
NSW, Australia

MikGan wrote:
In mine cause theres no ECU n all that garbage :P we just put an element into the rad pipe and used that as a thermo switch, all on or all off, EL Twin thermos are the best by far, dont even bother with anything else.


I used to have the Davies Craig temp switch, peice of s**t that was. It was good being able to adjust temperature and stuff, but f**k me did it leak. Silcone everywhere trying to stop it lol.

 

_________________

EF Fairmont now Sold!
Guides: Polishing|Modifications |Manual Conversion

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Sat Jun 18, 2005 5:27 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 36

Posts: 1249

Joined: 5th Nov 2004

Ride: Falcon

Location: Melbourne
VIC, Australia

Oh yeah we used a bit o silicone, but no leaks and it looks very tidy, and is right on the money, very accurate

 

_________________

I couldnt fix your brakes so I made your horn louder
Image

Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:
Sort by  
 Page 1 of 1  [ 11 posts ] 

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Google [Bot] and 11 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

 

 

It is currently Sun Dec 17, 2017 12:00 pm All times are UTC + 11 hours

 

 

(c)2014 Total Web Solutions Australia - Australian Web Hosting and Domain Names