Fordmods Logo

Tickford LPG ECU 

 

Page 2 of 4 [ 54 posts ] Go to page Previous  1, 2, 3, 4  Next

 
Posted: Wed May 31, 2006 5:49 pm 
Oompa Loompa
Offline

Posts: 29

Joined: 25th May 2006

Location: South Perth
WA, Australia

twason wrote:
gowest wrote:
Ford had the car all day on Monday, charged me $240, (still not working) and told me I needed a new MAIN computer, hence my original post. At first I was told that they got the engine running on gas by bypassing the switch, a new one has to come from Victoria. Then when I got there to collect, the story changed. (got it running but very rough) They claimed they ran a diagnostic check on the MAIN computer and hence their diagnosis. When I questioned the fact that I thought there was a seperate gas controller,on board I was told there was DEFINATELY only 1 controlling both. Hence my lack of faith in sending it back to ford.

I have rang numerous gas repairers and none of them seem to want to look at it themselves. They all tell me to go to Perth Autogas who have already failed to diagnose the problem on 2 occasions.
The I doubt the Main ECU can cause this, lets see if we can find the fault ourselves. Try out my suggestions in the previous post and see where we are at.
Cheers
TW.


Thanks tw I appreciate your assistance. I have had a rather hectic week but I hope to get stuck into the car by thurs night. Please stay posted.

gw
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Wed May 31, 2006 9:06 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Posts: 2644

Joined: 6th Nov 2004

Gallery: 8 images

Ride: 2007

Location: Mount Annan
NSW, Australia

gowest wrote:
Ford had the car all day on Monday, charged me $240, (still not working) and told me I needed a new MAIN computer, hence my original post. At first I was told that they got the engine running on gas by bypassing the switch, a new one has to come from Victoria. Then when I got there to collect, the story changed. (got it running but very rough) They claimed they ran a diagnostic check on the MAIN computer and hence their diagnosis. When I questioned the fact that I thought there was a seperate gas controller,on board I was told there was DEFINATELY only 1 controlling both. Hence my lack of faith in sending it back to ford.

I have rang numerous gas repairers and none of them seem to want to look at it themselves. They all tell me to go to Perth Autogas who have already failed to diagnose the problem on 2 occasions.
GW, I had assumed that you are talking about an EF or EL, is that correct? It is unusual for Ford not to know basic system operation. My understanding is that the single ECU came out in the AU series but only for dedicated GAS. So it can't be applicable to yours as you state Duel fuel.

 

_________________

BF Fairmont Ghia Series II update.
GQ XR6T ghia patrol.

,======o00o
//__|__|_,\_____\,___
|_/--\'_|'__|_/--\_[]IIII[]
_( o ) )_____( o ) )=o=) )__

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Thu Jun 01, 2006 10:34 am 
Oompa Loompa
Offline

Posts: 29

Joined: 25th May 2006

Location: South Perth
WA, Australia

twason wrote:
gowest wrote:
Ford had the car all day on Monday, charged me $240, (still not working) and told me I needed a new MAIN computer, hence my original post. At first I was told that they got the engine running on gas by bypassing the switch, a new one has to come from Victoria. Then when I got there to collect, the story changed. (got it running but very rough) They claimed they ran a diagnostic check on the MAIN computer and hence their diagnosis. When I questioned the fact that I thought there was a seperate gas controller,on board I was told there was DEFINATELY only 1 controlling both. Hence my lack of faith in sending it back to ford.

I have rang numerous gas repairers and none of them seem to want to look at it themselves. They all tell me to go to Perth Autogas who have already failed to diagnose the problem on 2 occasions.
GW, I had assumed that you are talking about an EF or EL, is that correct? It is unusual for Ford not to know basic system operation. My understanding is that the single ECU came out in the AU series but only for dedicated GAS. So it can't be applicable to yours as you state Duel fuel.


It is an EL 03/98 dual fuel fitted by Tickford on the 19/03/98 compliance plates varified. Had a quick look at where the clutch pedal would normally mount and there is a gold anodised craddle holding a black and silver box with some wires pluged into it. I will have a good look, check power and earthing etc tonight.

Is it possible to unplug and remove the gas controller and still run on petrol?

Thanks
GW
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Thu Jun 01, 2006 1:25 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Posts: 2644

Joined: 6th Nov 2004

Gallery: 8 images

Ride: 2007

Location: Mount Annan
NSW, Australia

gowest wrote:
twason wrote:
gowest wrote:

Is it possible to unplug and remove the gas controller and still run on petrol?

Thanks
GW
Yes it is but you need to bridge wires to get the Engine ECU to fire the injectors. I don't have the detail handy but I can look it up if required.

 

_________________

BF Fairmont Ghia Series II update.
GQ XR6T ghia patrol.

,======o00o
//__|__|_,\_____\,___
|_/--\'_|'__|_/--\_[]IIII[]
_( o ) )_____( o ) )=o=) )__

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Thu Jun 01, 2006 2:18 pm 
Oompa Loompa
Offline

Posts: 29

Joined: 25th May 2006

Location: South Perth
WA, Australia

twason wrote:
gowest wrote:
twason wrote:
gowest wrote:

Is it possible to unplug and remove the gas controller and still run on petrol?

Thanks
GW
Yes it is but you need to bridge wires to get the Engine ECU to fire the injectors. I don't have the detail handy but I can look it up if required.


Thanks
Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Pm
Posted: Fri Jun 02, 2006 2:11 pm 
Oompa Loompa
Offline

Posts: 29

Joined: 25th May 2006

Location: South Perth
WA, Australia

Hi twason

Have you checked your pm's
Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: Pm
Posted: Fri Jun 02, 2006 8:48 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Posts: 2644

Joined: 6th Nov 2004

Gallery: 8 images

Ride: 2007

Location: Mount Annan
NSW, Australia

gowest wrote:
Hi twason

Have you checked your pm's

Brett,
If you can disconnect the vapour hose to the inlet and block off both open ends, then start the car and change to gas and see if it dies after a few seconds. This will partially check the wiring between the two ECU's is intact and you have the correct Engine ECU in there.

Cheers
TW.

 

_________________

BF Fairmont Ghia Series II update.
GQ XR6T ghia patrol.

,======o00o
//__|__|_,\_____\,___
|_/--\'_|'__|_/--\_[]IIII[]
_( o ) )_____( o ) )=o=) )__

Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: Pm
Posted: Fri Jun 02, 2006 10:41 pm 
Oompa Loompa
Offline

Posts: 29

Joined: 25th May 2006

Location: South Perth
WA, Australia

twason wrote:
gowest wrote:
Hi twason

Have you checked your pm's

Brett,
If you can disconnect the vapour hose to the inlet and block off both open ends, then start the car and change to gas and see if it dies after a few seconds. This will partially check the wiring between the two ECU's is intact and you have the correct Engine ECU in there.

Cheers
TW.


I clamped the vapour hose and the engine stalled exactly the same as when the hose is not clamped.
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Fri Jun 02, 2006 10:52 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Posts: 2644

Joined: 6th Nov 2004

Gallery: 8 images

Ride: 2007

Location: Mount Annan
NSW, Australia

OK, that sort of eliminates overfueling, why did you suspect spark? If you want to test that then connect a spare plug or a plug from someone else's car to one lead and earth the other end. Check for spark during the changover period.

 

_________________

BF Fairmont Ghia Series II update.
GQ XR6T ghia patrol.

,======o00o
//__|__|_,\_____\,___
|_/--\'_|'__|_/--\_[]IIII[]
_( o ) )_____( o ) )=o=) )__

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Fri Jun 02, 2006 11:00 pm 
Oompa Loompa
Offline

Posts: 29

Joined: 25th May 2006

Location: South Perth
WA, Australia

twason wrote:
OK, that sort of eliminates overfueling, why did you suspect spark? If you want to test that then connect a spare plug or a plug from someone else's car to one lead and earth the other end. Check for spark during the changover period.


I suspected spark because the engine doen't run rough at all at changeover, it just stops.
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Fri Jun 02, 2006 11:03 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Posts: 2644

Joined: 6th Nov 2004

Gallery: 8 images

Ride: 2007

Location: Mount Annan
NSW, Australia

At changeover the injectors are stopped, not the spark , unless there is something wrong with the engine ecu when running on the LPG timing map then I doubt there is a problem.

It is looking like a Convertor or Stepper motor issue. Anyway press on with the test of the spark if you like.

 

_________________

BF Fairmont Ghia Series II update.
GQ XR6T ghia patrol.

,======o00o
//__|__|_,\_____\,___
|_/--\'_|'__|_/--\_[]IIII[]
_( o ) )_____( o ) )=o=) )__

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Fri Jun 02, 2006 11:04 pm 
Oompa Loompa
Offline

Posts: 29

Joined: 25th May 2006

Location: South Perth
WA, Australia

twason wrote:
At changeover the injectors are stopped, not the spark , unless there is something wrong with the engine ecu when running on the LPG timing map then I doubt there is a problem.

It is looking like a Convertor or Stepper motor issue. Anyway press on with the test of the spark if you like.


I'm on it
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Fri Jun 02, 2006 11:17 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Posts: 2644

Joined: 6th Nov 2004

Gallery: 8 images

Ride: 2007

Location: Mount Annan
NSW, Australia

Quote:
I have loosened the flare nut on the gas lock on the converter and it spews out liquid.
I missed this PM before what was the liquid, coolant perhaps or was it thick like oil?

 

_________________

BF Fairmont Ghia Series II update.
GQ XR6T ghia patrol.

,======o00o
//__|__|_,\_____\,___
|_/--\'_|'__|_/--\_[]IIII[]
_( o ) )_____( o ) )=o=) )__

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Fri Jun 02, 2006 11:20 pm 
Oompa Loompa
Offline

Posts: 29

Joined: 25th May 2006

Location: South Perth
WA, Australia

twason wrote:
Quote:
I have loosened the flare nut on the gas lock on the converter and it spews out liquid.
I missed this PM before what was the liquid, coolant perhaps or was it thick like oil?


It was liquid GAS white and cold! That was on the tank side of the converter.
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Fri Jun 02, 2006 11:23 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Posts: 2644

Joined: 6th Nov 2004

Gallery: 8 images

Ride: 2007

Location: Mount Annan
NSW, Australia

Maybe thats why they call it LPG.

 

_________________

BF Fairmont Ghia Series II update.
GQ XR6T ghia patrol.

,======o00o
//__|__|_,\_____\,___
|_/--\'_|'__|_/--\_[]IIII[]
_( o ) )_____( o ) )=o=) )__

Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:
Sort by  
 Page 2 of 4  [ 54 posts ]  Go to page Previous  1, 2, 3, 4  Next

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 11 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

 

 

It is currently Thu Dec 14, 2017 9:26 pm All times are UTC + 11 hours

 

 

(c)2014 Total Web Solutions Australia - Australian Web Hosting and Domain Names