Fordmods Logo

TPS voltage woes 

 

Page 1 of 1 [ 11 posts ] 

 
 Post subject: TPS voltage woes
Posted: Wed Jun 25, 2008 5:54 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline

Posts: 6913

Joined: 6th Nov 2004

Gallery: 4 images

Ride: BF XR6, BF XT Wagon

Power: 197 rwkw

Location: Perth
WA, Australia

Righto I'm trying to check my TPS voltage. I've done it according to the sticky in the V8 forums. I've stuck a pin in the red wire and one in the black wire. Red for positive black for negative. Connect up the multimeter and I get 5v.
When I got it set up I was told it was set to 1.035v and we all know it should be under 1v. 0.98v seems to be the setting everyone loves at idle.
But for the love of god I can only get 5v and its at idle position.

The ignition is set to the II mark before actual ignition position.

What the f**k am I doing wrong? :x

 

_________________

EL XR8
Timmeh banned himself from being a moderator.

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Wed Jun 25, 2008 6:47 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline

Posts: 6166

Joined: 8th May 2007

i think your taking the measurement at the wrong wire as there is 5 volts constant at the power wire. As there are three wires try the other one.

And 6 cylinders should be between 0.55 and 0.85 volts at idle and im guessing the V8's are the same. And anything above 4 volts at WOT is good
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Wed Jun 25, 2008 6:50 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline

Posts: 6913

Joined: 6th Nov 2004

Gallery: 4 images

Ride: BF XR6, BF XT Wagon

Power: 197 rwkw

Location: Perth
WA, Australia

Its for my XR8. I'm not getting a steady reading from the green wire at all.

 

_________________

EL XR8
Timmeh banned himself from being a moderator.

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Wed Jun 25, 2008 6:58 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline

Posts: 6166

Joined: 8th May 2007

yeah the green middle wire it is on mine.

So what exactly is the reading? Maybe the multimeter pins arent sitting in the back of the plug properly?

btw you can check the voltage with the ignition on without having to keep starting the car
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Wed Jun 25, 2008 7:06 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline

Posts: 6913

Joined: 6th Nov 2004

Gallery: 4 images

Ride: BF XR6, BF XT Wagon

Power: 197 rwkw

Location: Perth
WA, Australia

I don't start the car I just have it where the fuel pumps comes on then off before the start.

I'll check the green wire again.

OK green wire and red wire I get 3.98v

Its wierd cause the car runs fine idles fine. I just can't get the reading I am supposed to.

 

_________________

EL XR8
Timmeh banned himself from being a moderator.

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Wed Jun 25, 2008 7:31 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline

Posts: 6166

Joined: 8th May 2007

Hmm, maybe your contacting both pins when trying to take measurement off the correct one

I really have no idea what advice to give, hopefully someone can help
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Wed Jun 25, 2008 8:00 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline

Posts: 6913

Joined: 6th Nov 2004

Gallery: 4 images

Ride: BF XR6, BF XT Wagon

Power: 197 rwkw

Location: Perth
WA, Australia

Well for a start I'm using the wrong wires HAHAHAHA. I must de dsylexic or something. Its the green wire to the + on the multimeter and the black wire for the - on the multimeter.
I re-read that sticky in the V8 forum very slowly and out loud and now I get it.

I've been using red the whole time for positive conencted to the red on the multimeter.

I should be able to get the right reading now I hope.

 

_________________

EL XR8
Timmeh banned himself from being a moderator.

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Wed Jun 25, 2008 8:05 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline

Posts: 6166

Joined: 8th May 2007

lol i thought so.....good to see you got it worked out
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Wed Jun 25, 2008 8:57 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline

Posts: 6913

Joined: 6th Nov 2004

Gallery: 4 images

Ride: BF XR6, BF XT Wagon

Power: 197 rwkw

Location: Perth
WA, Australia

I can't get it below 1.035v Not enough adjustment. Lucky for me seeing as I used the AU TPS and cut the tail off and put a E series plug on it that the AU TPS has metal bushes in the screw holes so when I get those out I should have enough movement to get it to under 1v. I might even just cut the bush away on one side and then put it back in the hole so its supporting the hole when the bolt is done back up.

 

_________________

EL XR8
Timmeh banned himself from being a moderator.

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Thu Jun 26, 2008 7:48 am 
Getting Side Ways
Offline

Posts: 6166

Joined: 8th May 2007

yep get a drill bit slightly bigger and it should catch on the metal dowels and twist them loose.
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Thu Jun 26, 2008 10:18 am 
Getting Side Ways
Offline

Posts: 6913

Joined: 6th Nov 2004

Gallery: 4 images

Ride: BF XR6, BF XT Wagon

Power: 197 rwkw

Location: Perth
WA, Australia

Good idea. That'll stop me breaking the plastic if I just try to bash them out.

 

_________________

EL XR8
Timmeh banned himself from being a moderator.

Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:
Sort by  
 Page 1 of 1  [ 11 posts ] 

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 8 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

 

 

It is currently Mon Dec 18, 2017 6:18 am All times are UTC + 11 hours

 

 

(c)2014 Total Web Solutions Australia - Australian Web Hosting and Domain Names