Fordmods Logo

Using an Auto ECU for a Manual Car 

 

Page 1 of 1 [ 9 posts ] 

 
 Post subject: Using an Auto ECU for a Manual Car
Posted: Wed Nov 17, 2010 10:09 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 36

Posts: 613

Joined: 5th Aug 2007

Location: Ararat
VIC, Australia

Quick question. When using a tricked auto ecu on a manual falcon (eb2) Will the car run as it should, like fuel usage wise,performance, etc

What is the process in doing this and does it make the car any different to a car running an original manual ecu?

 

_________________

EF Ghia 5L V8
BAMk2 XR8 Velocity/Cobra 19's

Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: Using an Auto ECU for a Manual Car
Posted: Wed Nov 17, 2010 10:18 pm 
Technical Contributor
Offline
User avatar

Age: 28

Posts: 3705

Joined: 27th Sep 2006

Gallery: 20 images

Ride: ED Falcon

Power: 133 rwkw

Location: Leeton
NSW, Australia

All you do is put two resistors in it the auto plug which mimic to sensors in the auto box... One tells the computer the transmission is at the right temperature and the other tells it its in neutral... This prevents the computer trying to do any gear changes and throwing up error codes...

I can't see why fuel economy would alter...

This was not written by me... I found it on here a while back...

Attachment:
Manual Conversion.pdf [1.02 MiB]
Downloaded 204 times


Cheers,
Tim

 

_________________

93 Red ED 5spd Manual Build Thread

Performance: Complete AUII VCT Wiring & Power Train, Pacey Headers, 2.5" Exhaust, Exedy Clutch, DBA Rotors
Visuals: FG XR Wheel, XR Front, 17's, BA 5 Spd Shifter, BA Ghia Window Switches, NL Cluster
Tunes: 8" Pioneer Sub, JBL Speakers, Clarion Double DIN Headunit

Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: Using an Auto ECU for a Manual Car
Posted: Sun Nov 21, 2010 7:18 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 31

Posts: 2450

Joined: 5th Nov 2004

Gallery: 1 images

Ride: NL V8 Fairlane

Location: Sydney
NSW, Australia

If you can, you're better off getting a J3 chip and plugging that into your ECU with a manual binary loaded onto it. The reason for this is that the auto binary is slightly different in that, for example, there is a torque truncation table due to it being auto which can affect economy/power.

 

_________________

There are 10 types of people in this world.
Those who know binary and those who don't.

Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: Using an Auto ECU for a Manual Car
Posted: Sun Nov 21, 2010 9:18 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline

Age: 33

Posts: 6746

Joined: 13th Mar 2006

Gallery: 10 images

Ride: NCII Fairlane

Location: Bathurst
NSW, Australia

EB2 don't worry I think that ED or EF when they deleted the TCM you needed to trick the ecu other models you remove the TCM and car starts and runs as normal Unless you have upgraded interior and elecs with EF or EL bits

 

_________________

R.I.P Tobias my son.

Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: Using an Auto ECU for a Manual Car
Posted: Sun Nov 21, 2010 9:50 pm 
Technical Contributor
Offline
User avatar

Age: 28

Posts: 3705

Joined: 27th Sep 2006

Gallery: 20 images

Ride: ED Falcon

Power: 133 rwkw

Location: Leeton
NSW, Australia

Froudey,

Only the windsors had the TCM didn't they? All 6 cyls had the TCM integrated into the EEC? Or so I thought... :?

EDIT:

Unless maybe EA's with the three speed didn't? I thought the 4 speeds were all in the EEC anyway...

 

_________________

93 Red ED 5spd Manual Build Thread

Performance: Complete AUII VCT Wiring & Power Train, Pacey Headers, 2.5" Exhaust, Exedy Clutch, DBA Rotors
Visuals: FG XR Wheel, XR Front, 17's, BA 5 Spd Shifter, BA Ghia Window Switches, NL Cluster
Tunes: 8" Pioneer Sub, JBL Speakers, Clarion Double DIN Headunit

Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: Using an Auto ECU for a Manual Car
Posted: Sun Nov 21, 2010 10:32 pm 
Technical Contributor
Offline
User avatar

Age: 53

Posts: 5587

Joined: 14th Jan 2005

Gallery: 10 images

Ride: 96 XH/97 EL

Location: South Coast
NSW, Australia

So is the car an I6 or V8 ??

 

_________________

96 XH Longreach 'S': LPG, Alarm, 3.23:1 LSD, Cruise, Trip Comp, ABS, Power Windows, Mid Series Dome Lt, Climate Ctrl
97 EL Futura S/W: LPG, Alarm, LED int Lts, Trip Comp, F/Lane Dome Lt, Climate Ctrl, T5 Conversion

Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: Using an Auto ECU for a Manual Car
Posted: Mon Nov 22, 2010 5:13 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 36

Posts: 613

Joined: 5th Aug 2007

Location: Ararat
VIC, Australia

One Drone wrote:
If you can, you're better off getting a J3 chip and plugging that into your ECU with a manual binary loaded onto it. The reason for this is that the auto binary is slightly different in that, for example, there is a torque truncation table due to it being auto which can affect economy/power.


Thats what I meant, ta

Cars a EB2-SXR6, but it's all ok. Apparently the ecu has been shorted out or something from the last guy I bought it off. ABS check light is always on- car still seems to run fine though.

Thought it would be much easier to locate a auto ecu then another 2DAD.
Is there any way to determine if ecu is working correctly?
Thanks for the replys.

 

_________________

EF Ghia 5L V8
BAMk2 XR8 Velocity/Cobra 19's

Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: Using an Auto ECU for a Manual Car
Posted: Mon Nov 22, 2010 5:15 pm 
Technical Contributor
Offline
User avatar

Age: 28

Posts: 3705

Joined: 27th Sep 2006

Gallery: 20 images

Ride: ED Falcon

Power: 133 rwkw

Location: Leeton
NSW, Australia

do a run test and KOEO test and see if any error codes are displayed... See how fuel economy is... Other than that not much else you can check... There is nothing to short on them... if its a 2DAD its a manual computer anyway, doesn't need any mods...

 

_________________

93 Red ED 5spd Manual Build Thread

Performance: Complete AUII VCT Wiring & Power Train, Pacey Headers, 2.5" Exhaust, Exedy Clutch, DBA Rotors
Visuals: FG XR Wheel, XR Front, 17's, BA 5 Spd Shifter, BA Ghia Window Switches, NL Cluster
Tunes: 8" Pioneer Sub, JBL Speakers, Clarion Double DIN Headunit

Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: Using an Auto ECU for a Manual Car
Posted: Mon Nov 22, 2010 5:52 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 28

Posts: 3374

Joined: 11th Mar 2008

Ride: EA SVO, AU2 Forte

Location: Bendigo
VIC, Australia

timmytimtim wrote:
Froudey,

Only the windsors had the TCM didn't they? All 6 cyls had the TCM integrated into the EEC? Or so I thought... :?

EDIT:

Unless maybe EA's with the three speed didn't? I thought the 4 speeds were all in the EEC anyway...


EA with 4 speed and EB1 had a TCM

 

_________________

Daily driver: AU2. 5 speed. 19" FG luxos. Full exhaust. Lowered. AU3 XR leather interior, converted to full power windows. 3.45 LSD. IN THE FUTURE: Tickford 6
Weekend driver: EA SVO AU motor. Built BTR. TCE 2800 stall. T76 turbo. Locked diff. On E85. approx 320rwkw. 11.5 @121mph

Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:
Sort by  
 Page 1 of 1  [ 9 posts ] 

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 8 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

 

 

It is currently Wed Dec 13, 2017 5:46 am All times are UTC + 11 hours

 

 

(c)2014 Total Web Solutions Australia - Australian Web Hosting and Domain Names