Fordmods Logo

V8 owners 

 

Page 1 of 1 [ 6 posts ] 

 
 Post subject: V8 owners
Posted: Fri Mar 14, 2008 9:32 am 
Stock as a Rock
Offline

Posts: 119

Joined: 4th Jun 2006

Gallery: 5 images

Location: Palmerston North
Oustide Australia

I ran the diags on my car today and I keep on getting error code 27, gear select input position fault. Now the only thing I can find on the diagrams on the tCM in relation to gear lever is pin 10, which is a PRND321 ground. I have this conencted to ground but thinking it may not be right. Are there any v8 owners out there (especially EF) that can verify were this pin is meant ot be connected to? It is the purple/white wire. I still can't manually select 123, I'm stuck with D. so I'm trying to sort this out. Apart from connecting a new shielded wire from pin 43 of the ECU to the TCM is there anything else I'm missing?

any help would be greatly appreciated..starting to drive me nuts.
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Fri Mar 14, 2008 12:03 pm 
Smokin em up
Offline
User avatar

Age: 33

Posts: 291

Joined: 5th Nov 2004

Ride: EL GT - T2 TS50

Location: Cairns
QLD, Australia

Have you looked at the Neutral switch of the side of the gearbox? I had that problem with my EB and thats what it was, it tells the TCM what gear its in - in that respect.
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Fri Mar 14, 2008 12:49 pm 
Stock as a Rock
Offline

Posts: 119

Joined: 4th Jun 2006

Gallery: 5 images

Location: Palmerston North
Oustide Australia

yeah the inhibitor switch is brand new. From the diagrams I have I can see that info from the gearbox goes directly to the ECU on pin 64, and the switch is earthed via pin 91.

I found another diagram that suggests pin 17 (purple) has a connection from the same wire. Probing the wire however shows a flat 4.95v. Pin 10 is meant to be the PNRD321 ground but the book doesn't say if it is meant to be any ground or to pin 91 as well. I can't find anything about pin 10 or 17 that connect to the TCM (or so the repair manual says).

I can only think that the current gear position is transmitted to the TCM via the DOL from pin 43 on the ECU.

can anyone clear this up?
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Mon Mar 17, 2008 2:11 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 43

Posts: 1093

Joined: 29th Nov 2004

Gallery: 15 images

Ride: BA Ford Fairlane V8

Location: Lower Hunter Valley
NSW, Australia

I'll suss out mine mate and get back to you soon.

 

_________________

Interested in a fair go for the Hunter-New England area of NSW?

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Mon Mar 17, 2008 4:58 pm 
Technical Contributor
Offline
User avatar

Age: 53

Posts: 5589

Joined: 14th Jan 2005

Gallery: 10 images

Ride: 96 XH/97 EL

Location: South Coast
NSW, Australia

KiwiDazza wrote:
From the diagrams I have I can see that info from the gearbox goes directly to the ECU on pin 64, and the switch is earthed via pin 91. I found another diagram that suggests pin 17 (purple) has a connection from the same wire. Probing the wire however shows a flat 4.95v. Pin 10 is meant to be the PNRD321 ground but the book doesn't say if it is meant to be any ground or to pin 91 as well. I can't find anything about pin 10 or 17 that connect to the TCM (or so the repair manual says). I can only think that the current gear position is transmitted to the TCM via the DOL from pin 43 on the ECU.
I think you have it correct - the EA TCM used pins 10 & 17 - which hooked up directly from the trans range s/w. I think pin 10 in the manuals is an error, probably carries over from the EA 6 cyl TCM).

 

_________________

96 XH Longreach 'S': LPG, Alarm, 3.23:1 LSD, Cruise, Trip Comp, ABS, Power Windows, Mid Series Dome Lt, Climate Ctrl
97 EL Futura S/W: LPG, Alarm, LED int Lts, Trip Comp, F/Lane Dome Lt, Climate Ctrl, T5 Conversion

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Tue Mar 18, 2008 7:34 am 
Stock as a Rock
Offline

Posts: 119

Joined: 4th Jun 2006

Gallery: 5 images

Location: Palmerston North
Oustide Australia

yeah thge local ford guys said that too. at the moment i'm looking at installing another hall sensor for the speedo. I have it connected after the instrument cluster.

I noticed yesterday that from a stand still if you plant the gas it will go about 10-15m then going into LHM. I got to do it every time doing this. When taking it nice and easy it wont and when cruising along then planting the foot it wont do it then either. It is getting easier to live with..just have to hang out for a manual over here :)
Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:
Sort by  
 Page 1 of 1  [ 6 posts ] 

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 11 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

 

 

It is currently Sun Dec 17, 2017 9:25 pm All times are UTC + 11 hours

 

 

(c)2014 Total Web Solutions Australia - Australian Web Hosting and Domain Names