Fordmods Logo

Where to get Diagnostic Plug? 

 

Page 1 of 3 [ 43 posts ] Go to page 1, 2, 3  Next

 
 Post subject: Where to get Diagnostic Plug?
Posted: Thu Mar 17, 2005 2:46 pm 
Technical Contributor
Offline
User avatar

Age: 32

Posts: 3097

Joined: 5th Nov 2004

Gallery: 29 images

Ride: VU SS

Location: Ivanhoe
NSW, Australia

Hey guys,
I am wanting to make a little module that I can keep permanently attached to the diagnostic connector (to put it in test mode or runa diagnostic etc at the flick of a switch).
Just wondering where I would find the male version of this connector?

Cheers.

 

_________________

EF Fairmont now Sold!
Guides: Polishing|Modifications |Manual Conversion

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Thu Mar 17, 2005 2:50 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 36

Posts: 8655

Joined: 5th Nov 2004

Gallery: 37 images

Ride: V8 EF Futura

Location: Adelaide CBD
SA, Australia

What does the EB one look like? I spotted the back of a VT commodore's factory stereo and noticed this looked like the EF/EL connector. IIRC Brad looked into it but turned out to be a bit of a dead end.

 

_________________

I promise..... I will never die.

Fordmods Administration Group MINOR PUNKED

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Thu Mar 17, 2005 3:10 pm 
Site Admin
Offline
User avatar

Age: 34

Posts: 8831

Joined: 18th Dec 2002

Gallery: 6 images

Ride: AUII V8 LTD

Power: 270 rwkw

Location: Sydney
NSW, Australia

EB-EL are the same.. 6cyl and V8

I found 3 male plugs which fit the diag socket within the EB dash loom!

Cant remember what they were for behind the dash, but they work :)

And yeh.. VT HU is the same. Been trying to source these through an aftermarket car audio supplier, but nil stock for the last few years :P

 

_________________

WAG363: AUII LTD Supercharged 363 Dart Stroker [Supercharged 363 LTD Build]
WAGGIN: 2012 Volkswagen Passat Wagon - V6 4Motion.

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Thu Mar 17, 2005 3:24 pm 
Technical Contributor
Offline
User avatar

Age: 32

Posts: 3097

Joined: 5th Nov 2004

Gallery: 29 images

Ride: VU SS

Location: Ivanhoe
NSW, Australia

Cool as. I might go to a wrecker and browse through the dash wiring til I find the plug.
Then it's just a matter of adding the wires I want to the pins I need. Sweet.

Another thought: those universal head unit adpapters for the VT should have the male plug too??

Waggin, you were going to do something a little more fancy with the plugs though hey? A proper diagnostic device?

 

_________________

EF Fairmont now Sold!
Guides: Polishing|Modifications |Manual Conversion

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Thu Mar 17, 2005 3:27 pm 
Site Admin
Offline
User avatar

Age: 34

Posts: 8831

Joined: 18th Dec 2002

Gallery: 6 images

Ride: AUII V8 LTD

Power: 270 rwkw

Location: Sydney
NSW, Australia

voxace wrote:
Another thought: those universal head unit adpapters for the VT should have the male plug too??


yep, thats what I was looking at sourcing.. but had little luck buying from my distributor. They're probably available at a place like Strathfield.. but i'll be f**k if i set foot in their stores :P

The plugs i found on the EB were on the passengers side, around the glovebox (the dash was sitting on the front seats when i snipped

 

_________________

WAG363: AUII LTD Supercharged 363 Dart Stroker [Supercharged 363 LTD Build]
WAGGIN: 2012 Volkswagen Passat Wagon - V6 4Motion.

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Thu Mar 17, 2005 3:42 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 42

Posts: 452

Joined: 21st Dec 2004

Gallery: 1 images

Location: Adelaide
SA, Australia

You can get a replacement plug for the VT loom, which is the one you are after, from Autobarn. AirPro manufacture them I think.

What you want is actually a female plug. When talking male/female plugs you are talking about the pins, not the plastic surround. You will notice your diagnostic plug has the metal d**k hanging out, hence male.

 

_________________

Adrian
EF Fairmont, 5.0Lt, Pacemaker Headers, Sports cats, Redback muff, T5 manual, 16" Tickford rims, Tickford "Body Styling", DBA Gold Rotors, Heritage Green, JVC MP3
XB Coupe, 351C, twin system, C4 shift kitted auto, 9" LSD, Eccose Blue, very loud !!!!

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Thu Mar 17, 2005 4:02 pm 
Site Admin
Offline
User avatar

Age: 34

Posts: 8831

Joined: 18th Dec 2002

Gallery: 6 images

Ride: AUII V8 LTD

Power: 270 rwkw

Location: Sydney
NSW, Australia

Ah yep.. well the 3 plugs i found are all Female.. ie, they have vagina's :D

 

_________________

WAG363: AUII LTD Supercharged 363 Dart Stroker [Supercharged 363 LTD Build]
WAGGIN: 2012 Volkswagen Passat Wagon - V6 4Motion.

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Thu Mar 17, 2005 4:22 pm 
Technical Contributor
Offline
User avatar

Age: 32

Posts: 3097

Joined: 5th Nov 2004

Gallery: 29 images

Ride: VU SS

Location: Ivanhoe
NSW, Australia

Ahah, lol. So multiple d**k/vaginas hey. Well that convention is just stupid - but I'll take note of it. Thanks.

 

_________________

EF Fairmont now Sold!
Guides: Polishing|Modifications |Manual Conversion

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Tue Mar 22, 2005 10:35 pm 
Technical Contributor
Offline
User avatar

Posts: 2799

Joined: 6th Nov 2004

Gallery: 7 images

Ride: Falcon

Location: Sydney
NSW, Australia

I was thinking of making a simple device, using an IC, and a simple alphanumeric LCD screen, which you just plug in, and it counts it all for you, and displays it, and you can scroll through the codes. If enough memory (probably not) make it able to access what the codes mean... this is just to make my life easier. Just food for thought.


Cheers

 

_________________

;++JustForDimSim++;

Cheap, fast and reliable.. choose 2.

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Tue Mar 22, 2005 10:41 pm 
Oompa Loompa
Offline
User avatar

Age: 56

Posts: 22

Joined: 15th Mar 2005

Gallery: 1 images

Ride: EL Fairmont

Location: Melbourne
VIC, Australia

You can get those plugs from Repco and Super Cheap as well (airpro ones)

 

_________________

Nothing-but NOTHING beats pure CUBIC INCHES !!!!!!

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Tue Mar 22, 2005 10:44 pm 
Technical Contributor
Offline
User avatar

Age: 32

Posts: 3097

Joined: 5th Nov 2004

Gallery: 29 images

Ride: VU SS

Location: Ivanhoe
NSW, Australia

Yeah wouldn't be too hard to make one that displayed the number as it occurs.

Would be a little harder to create one that logs the codes though, and significatly harder to have it tell you the error meanings lol.
Easier to go down the PIC road for that stuff I think.

But a simple counter IC (more likely 2), which resets it after a certain time interval (the space between codes) would be fairly easy to make I reckon.

The first circuit would count the first lot of flashes to register on the 7-segment display. After the 'gap' you would ahve it start counting on the second display. When the next 'gap' occurs you have it reset both counters. Too easy.
Not sure what the best way to trigger the reset would be but maybe even a small value capacitor would do the trick if the resets were triggered by an active low voltage? Not sure, I'm not all that great with this stuff but I reckon I could do it. Might try it if I get time.

 

_________________

EF Fairmont now Sold!
Guides: Polishing|Modifications |Manual Conversion

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Tue Mar 22, 2005 10:45 pm 
Oompa Loompa
Offline
User avatar

Age: 56

Posts: 22

Joined: 15th Mar 2005

Gallery: 1 images

Ride: EL Fairmont

Location: Melbourne
VIC, Australia

http://aerpro.com/list.php

 

_________________

Nothing-but NOTHING beats pure CUBIC INCHES !!!!!!

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Tue Mar 22, 2005 10:49 pm 
Technical Contributor
Offline
User avatar

Posts: 2799

Joined: 6th Nov 2004

Gallery: 7 images

Ride: Falcon

Location: Sydney
NSW, Australia

well, I was referring more to a Chip, something like a microchip or something. I'm better at programming things than I am at constructing, so it would be easier to have the pulse pusling one of the inputs, and that would time the interval before hand, and produce the number, and then remember that, and ge the next so forth. As for scrolling, not that hard, if they are already stored.
To have the codes show meanings would be alot harder, it would require alot of memory, and then matching, it would take a long time in assembly, but the chip should support C, which would mean just a selection statement... a long one. So really, not that difficult, just the memory that I need. Anyone know what these chips hold, in terms of space?

Cheers

 

_________________

;++JustForDimSim++;

Cheap, fast and reliable.. choose 2.

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Tue Mar 22, 2005 10:53 pm 
Technical Contributor
Offline
User avatar

Age: 32

Posts: 3097

Joined: 5th Nov 2004

Gallery: 29 images

Ride: VU SS

Location: Ivanhoe
NSW, Australia

Yeah well I wouldn't know what to do there to tell you the truth. Never played with the stuff.

But as far as a cheap DIY alternative my idea would work alright.

Mate your probably only looking at 4Kb max for the list of error codes too I think, so + whatever programming you have to do. Wouldn't be all that much???

 

_________________

EF Fairmont now Sold!
Guides: Polishing|Modifications |Manual Conversion

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Tue Mar 22, 2005 10:58 pm 
Technical Contributor
Offline
User avatar

Posts: 2799

Joined: 6th Nov 2004

Gallery: 7 images

Ride: Falcon

Location: Sydney
NSW, Australia

Your idea sounds good, saves you screwing around with those damn pins each time... mine was just an idea, cos it would save alot of agony if you lose count, or if you CBF hooking an LED up.

I don't know much about these chips, but Im pretty sure they are measured in lines of code... and that would be like amount of error codes, plus the programming. So if that all fits, Ill go grab one from d**k, and Ive got a 2 line display at home... might also hook up the T pin from the diag connector, get it displaying my tacho in terms of a horizontal bar graph.... hehe..

Cheers

 

_________________

;++JustForDimSim++;

Cheap, fast and reliable.. choose 2.

Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:
Sort by  
 Page 1 of 3  [ 43 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2, 3  Next

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Alexa [Bot] and 16 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

 

 

It is currently Tue Dec 12, 2017 9:32 pm All times are UTC + 11 hours

 

 

(c)2014 Total Web Solutions Australia - Australian Web Hosting and Domain Names