Fordmods Logo

Why should I fit an aftermarket ECU? 

Page 1 of 1 [ 7 posts ] 

Post subject: Why should I fit an aftermarket ECU?
Posted: Thu Jan 29, 2009 7:24 am 
Parts Gopher

NSW, Australia

Hey guys, I'm a noob at EFI systems so bear with me..

I've just fitted new extractors, a high flow cat and lowered diff gearing (3.7:1) onto my EF Fairmont 5sp conversion, and I can really notice a difference in power. I took it to get a tune up, and the guy would not shut up about how much more awesome and how much better tuned it would be if I fitted one of these Haltech systems. It'l be the best 3k you've ever spent, he says. And it will give my car so much more hawspowarz he reckons

What I want to know is.. will it? I mean I know I need a computer upgrade that's reprogramable if I regrind the camshaft.. But will it make a d**k of difference with the standard camshaft?

E-series

Post subject: Re: Why should I fit an aftermarket ECU?
Posted: Thu Jan 29, 2009 7:37 am 
Smokin em up

TAS, Australia

change anything on a car, and the factory ecu becomes a compromise, eg. your extractors work, the ecu see's a leaner mix and trys to richen thing up,you need some from of change

some members on here are flashing chips to convert the ford ecu and getting good results

i my self have a wolf 3d v500 ,cheaper than the haltech, more intergrated,more features

ring robbie at wolf , have a chat, tell him paul mayne put ya on to him , great bloke

NC2 Fairlane AU2 Intech 4.0 Wolf V500 ECU Accel 500cc Injectors Eaton M90 Blower MPx Porting 75mm Mustang TB Intercooler Holley 255lph EL XR6 Rear End 3.45 LSD Duel Fuel lots more.
Long and Very Nice

Posted: Thu Jan 29, 2009 8:41 am 
Parts Gopher

NSW, Australia

Ok so it's not so much a matter of ECU=horsepower, more like the fancy ECU will be able to make better use of other non-factory mods.

I've done a bit of homework since I posted this and I can kind understand the need for a better ECU.