Fordmods Logo

Will i need a new Computer for my Car??? 

 

Page 1 of 1 [ 7 posts ] 

 
 Post subject: Will i need a new Computer for my Car???
Posted: Wed Dec 21, 2005 6:22 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline

Age: 29

Posts: 573

Joined: 5th Jun 2005

Ride: BA XR6 Turbo

Power: 221 rwkw

Location: A
ACT, Australia

Hey Fellas,
I have a '93 ED XR6 auto and I am going to change my car from a puss box Auto to a Manual because my auto has just s**t its self. I have no 2nd or 4th gear plus it was pretty well rooted before that. Anyway what i want to know is do i need to change my computer??? I have been told that i do need to and then i have also been told that i dont, so what is it???
Cheers
Griffo

 

_________________

ED XR6 manual for sale. MOMO steering wheel and alot of extra's. PM for more info.


BA XR6 Turbo- 238.8rwkw

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Wed Dec 21, 2005 6:27 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 28

Posts: 4305

Joined: 6th Jul 2005

Ride: BA xr8 Magnet ute

Location: Melbourne
VIC, Australia

you do need to change your computer, you need a manual ECU otherwise the fuel to air mix will all be up the s**t. you can proably pick one up second hand from around $90
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Wed Dec 21, 2005 6:28 pm 
Technical Contributor
Offline
User avatar

Age: 34

Posts: 4355

Joined: 14th Dec 2005

Gallery: 36 images

Ride: Fairlane

Location: Newy
NSW, Australia

i do believe you do have change your computer, not 100% sure, i shall find out for ya

 

_________________

The Lane Lives.... Finally!!!!

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Wed Dec 21, 2005 6:28 pm 
Technical Contributor
Offline
User avatar

Age: 34

Posts: 4355

Joined: 14th Dec 2005

Gallery: 36 images

Ride: Fairlane

Location: Newy
NSW, Australia

well there you go, thought i might have been right.

i knew it was something like that

 

_________________

The Lane Lives.... Finally!!!!

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Wed Dec 21, 2005 6:29 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline

Age: 34

Posts: 419

Joined: 6th Nov 2004

Location: canberra
ACT, Australia

u will proberly find u dont have to change it but possibly swap or remove some pins from the ecu. so it know its not a auto.

also u will proberly find there might be some vacume lines to the intake system that might need removing or swaping. sure someone knows
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Wed Dec 21, 2005 7:02 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline

Age: 29

Posts: 573

Joined: 5th Jun 2005

Ride: BA XR6 Turbo

Power: 221 rwkw

Location: A
ACT, Australia

Cheers for the quick replys,
when i asked Frentree how much the kit was and what i needed, they said that i didnt need a new computer, this is why im gettin confussed, what does anyone thing???
Cheers

 

_________________

ED XR6 manual for sale. MOMO steering wheel and alot of extra's. PM for more info.


BA XR6 Turbo- 238.8rwkw

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Wed Dec 21, 2005 8:52 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline

Age: 31

Posts: 3772

Joined: 5th Nov 2004

Gallery: 33 images

Ride: EL Fairmont Ghia

Location: Hobart
TAS, Australia

you dont need a new computer you can add 2 resistors to the ecu wiring so it thinks its in drive all the time
Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:
Sort by  
 Page 1 of 1  [ 7 posts ] 

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 8 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

 

 

It is currently Sun Dec 17, 2017 12:42 am All times are UTC + 11 hours

 

 

(c)2014 Total Web Solutions Australia - Australian Web Hosting and Domain Names