Fordmods Logo

will this work? 

 

Page 1 of 1 [ 11 posts ] 

 
 Post subject: will this work?
Posted: Sun Jul 03, 2005 5:00 pm 
Smokin em up
Offline
User avatar

Age: 32

Posts: 206

Joined: 5th Nov 2004

Gallery: 10 images

Ride: EF Falcon

Location: Perth
WA, Australia

Found this on Ebay just wondering if it will do what it is saying it will do

http://cgi.ebay.com.au/ws/eBayISAPI.dll ... RK:MEWA:IT

thanks

 

_________________

6 IN A ROW, THE WAY TO GO


- Lukey 2.5' Sports Exhaust, Genie Extractors, High flow Cat
- 18 grade tint
- King Spring Super Lows
- Plates (BONO'S)
- Neon Blue Dash
- Sony 350W 4 ways, Sony 900W Subs x 2, Sony MP3 Deck xls-3300, Boss 1000W 4 channel Amp
- 17" HP Racing - Design Rims

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Sun Jul 03, 2005 5:14 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Posts: 6168

Joined: 5th Nov 2004

i doubt it....but u could alway send ure $9 and try it :P

 

_________________

Image

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Sun Jul 03, 2005 5:37 pm 
Fordmods Junkie
Offline
User avatar

Age: 38

Posts: 1000491

Joined: 6th Nov 2004

Gallery: 2 images

Ride: AUXR6 HP With Ducati SupA Bike!

Location: Perth
WA, Australia

the good old dogey resitor for the intake temp trick
makes teh car run rich

 

_________________

RIP SCOTT

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Sun Jul 03, 2005 5:48 pm 
Smokin em up
Offline
User avatar

Age: 32

Posts: 206

Joined: 5th Nov 2004

Gallery: 10 images

Ride: EF Falcon

Location: Perth
WA, Australia

yeah i mean 9 bucks who really cares but i dont wanna put it in a blow up my car
lol

 

_________________

6 IN A ROW, THE WAY TO GO


- Lukey 2.5' Sports Exhaust, Genie Extractors, High flow Cat
- 18 grade tint
- King Spring Super Lows
- Plates (BONO'S)
- Neon Blue Dash
- Sony 350W 4 ways, Sony 900W Subs x 2, Sony MP3 Deck xls-3300, Boss 1000W 4 channel Amp
- 17" HP Racing - Design Rims

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Sun Jul 03, 2005 9:19 pm 
Stock as a Rock
Offline
User avatar

Age: 47

Posts: 189

Joined: 6th Nov 2004

Gallery: 5 images

Ride: FGX xr6

Location: Melbourne
VIC, Australia

If you install one of these the only difference it will make is to the fuel economy. It will use a s**t more fuel!!!!!!

 

_________________

-Dave

If you can't do the speed limit, get the F*ck out of the right lane!
Image

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Sun Jul 03, 2005 9:42 pm 
Stock as a Rock
Offline

Posts: 120

Joined: 3rd Jul 2005

Location: Melb
VIC, Australia

a more accurate way of getting the most out of the standard efi set up is these:
http://www1.jaycar.com.au/productView.a ... BCATID=347
which you program with one of these
http://www1.jaycar.com.au/productView.a ... &SUBCATID=

more expensive but more cotrolable as well.

 

_________________

Image

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Sun Jul 03, 2005 11:21 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Posts: 1549

Joined: 27th Apr 2005

Gallery: 1 images

Ride: AU Fairmont Ghia

Location: Perth
WA, Australia

W0rp3D wrote:
a more accurate way of getting the most out of the standard efi set up is these:
http://www1.jaycar.com.au/productView.a ... BCATID=347
which you program with one of these
http://www1.jaycar.com.au/productView.a ... &SUBCATID=

more expensive but more cotrolable as well.


this would not work because as far as i know the ford map sensor is frequency based so it would make no difference at all. Also this interceptor is not really suited to map sensor N/A cars any way as at WOT regardless of revs the sensor will read the same air flow because there will be zero maifold pressure. So this really is of no use on a i6.

Anyone feel free to correct me if im wrong
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Sun Jul 03, 2005 11:46 pm 
Stock as a Rock
Offline

Posts: 120

Joined: 3rd Jul 2005

Location: Melb
VIC, Australia

from my understanding this works off the O2 sensor, which, unless ford have there own design, put out a reading of between 0-1volt or 0-5volts (cant remember which one) that signal tells the ecu if the car is running lean or rich if its running rich the ecu will cut the fuel a little to get the right mixture, all this is doing is intercepting the line from the O2 sensor and increasing the voltage to the ecu but whatever % you program, therefore as all standard ecu's run rich, you change the volts to tell the ecu that it is running a little richer than what it actually is and the ecu will trim fuel out till the O2 feed is reading the right amount, exactly the same as what the resistor does except you can sit on a dyno with an O2 probe up the cars a*** and tune it a lot easier, safer, and quicker.

Where does wide open throttle and the map sensor come into that?

 

_________________

Image

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Mon Jul 04, 2005 12:05 am 
Getting Side Ways
Offline

Posts: 6449

Joined: 11th Nov 2004

or you could go to jaycar or d.Icksmith and get one for 50c


but it still wont work



how sad is that you can't even say d**k.

or d**k (d icksmith)

 

_________________

PERMANENTLY BANNED

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Mon Jul 04, 2005 12:59 am 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Posts: 1549

Joined: 27th Apr 2005

Gallery: 1 images

Ride: AU Fairmont Ghia

Location: Perth
WA, Australia

W0rp3D wrote:
from my understanding this works off the O2 sensor, which, unless ford have there own design, put out a reading of between 0-1volt or 0-5volts (cant remember which one) that signal tells the ecu if the car is running lean or rich if its running rich the ecu will cut the fuel a little to get the right mixture, all this is doing is intercepting the line from the O2 sensor and increasing the voltage to the ecu but whatever % you program, therefore as all standard ecu's run rich, you change the volts to tell the ecu that it is running a little richer than what it actually is and the ecu will trim fuel out till the O2 feed is reading the right amount, exactly the same as what the resistor does except you can sit on a dyno with an O2 probe up the cars a*** and tune it a lot easier, safer, and quicker.

Where does wide open throttle and the map sensor come into that?



This unit although it can be used on an O2 sensor was designed for an air flow meter. If you try to change to voltage that the ecu see's from the O2 sensor to lean out the mixtures the ecu will "learn around" what you have done and after a short drive your changes will have made no difference. Im afraid that although this is a brilliant and cost effective device it will not work well on a falcon. Also the ecu is not always monitoring the O2 sensor it only does this in closed loop AFAIK. Once a frequency based version is released our problems will be solved.
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Mon Jul 04, 2005 7:12 pm 
Smokin em up
Offline
User avatar

Age: 32

Posts: 206

Joined: 5th Nov 2004

Gallery: 10 images

Ride: EF Falcon

Location: Perth
WA, Australia

looks like im not buying one then
lol

 

_________________

6 IN A ROW, THE WAY TO GO


- Lukey 2.5' Sports Exhaust, Genie Extractors, High flow Cat
- 18 grade tint
- King Spring Super Lows
- Plates (BONO'S)
- Neon Blue Dash
- Sony 350W 4 ways, Sony 900W Subs x 2, Sony MP3 Deck xls-3300, Boss 1000W 4 channel Amp
- 17" HP Racing - Design Rims

Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:
Sort by  
 Page 1 of 1  [ 11 posts ] 

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 9 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

 

 

It is currently Thu Dec 14, 2017 5:23 pm All times are UTC + 11 hours

 

 

(c)2014 Total Web Solutions Australia - Australian Web Hosting and Domain Names