Fordmods Logo

XR ECU gone bad.... HELP! 

 

Page 1 of 1 [ 15 posts ] 

 
 Post subject: XR ECU gone bad.... HELP!
Posted: Fri Apr 28, 2006 11:38 pm 
Smokin em up
Offline

Posts: 236

Joined: 1st Sep 2005

Ride: EL Ghia Tickford 5.0

Location: Adelaide
SA, Australia

Finally after 6 months i've got my ED XR6 ECU running my ED Xr6 donk, (had a 3.9EB ECU untill today) and the sh*t has hit the fan! firstly it would hardly run at all untill i swapped fuel regs over. Now it's poping and groaning constantly out the air box!!! the injectors are twice as loud, it has a miss and a flat spot..... WHY????

The EB ECU has been fine since day one when i fired up the XR donk to run it in after a full rebuild. I was just after more power.... now it's slower..

any suggestions? all i can thnk of is fuel pressure? does the fuel pump have to be changed?

 

_________________

EL Fairmont Ghia 5.0
Sunroof - Leather - 3" Exhaust - 19" GTP's - Tickford Kit

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Sat Apr 29, 2006 4:37 am 
Technical Contributor
Offline
User avatar

Posts: 2799

Joined: 6th Nov 2004

Gallery: 7 images

Ride: Falcon

Location: Sydney
NSW, Australia

What car have you got?
And how long has the ECU been in the car?

Does putting the old one back in make a difference?


Cheers

 

_________________

;++JustForDimSim++;

Cheap, fast and reliable.. choose 2.

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Sat Apr 29, 2006 5:34 pm 
Smokin em up
Offline

Posts: 236

Joined: 1st Sep 2005

Ride: EL Ghia Tickford 5.0

Location: Adelaide
SA, Australia

Its a series one eb... i put the ecu in yesterday....
with the old ecu it runs fine.....

GRRRR!!!!! :(

 

_________________

EL Fairmont Ghia 5.0
Sunroof - Leather - 3" Exhaust - 19" GTP's - Tickford Kit

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Sat Apr 29, 2006 6:22 pm 
Smokin em up
Offline

Posts: 236

Joined: 1st Sep 2005

Ride: EL Ghia Tickford 5.0

Location: Adelaide
SA, Australia

I got 3 codes out of the xr ecu... CTS, ISC and o2 sensor....
I think they are 3.9 items. (I only swapped blocks-not manifolds) would that be causing the problem?

 

_________________

EL Fairmont Ghia 5.0
Sunroof - Leather - 3" Exhaust - 19" GTP's - Tickford Kit

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Sun Apr 30, 2006 11:08 am 
Technical Contributor
Offline
User avatar

Posts: 2799

Joined: 6th Nov 2004

Gallery: 7 images

Ride: Falcon

Location: Sydney
NSW, Australia

have you hooked those two up? Something like that, Id be going over the wiring diagram, and checking that all plugs are the same.. like the looms.

Also, it was an MPFI and is an MPFI?

CTS isn't all important, just really there for advance, ISC not important at all, o2 sensor you definately need. With the ECU plugged in, check on that pin that the EGO is giving you a fluctuating voltage...


Cheers

 

_________________

;++JustForDimSim++;

Cheap, fast and reliable.. choose 2.

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Sun Apr 30, 2006 6:57 pm 
Smokin em up
Offline

Posts: 236

Joined: 1st Sep 2005

Ride: EL Ghia Tickford 5.0

Location: Adelaide
SA, Australia

The only thing that has changed since it was running perfectly on the 3.9MPEFI ECU is the new XR ECU... all the ECU pin outs are the same except Auto trans... and both ecu's are manual and both ecu's are MPEFI

Help much appreciated :|

 

_________________

EL Fairmont Ghia 5.0
Sunroof - Leather - 3" Exhaust - 19" GTP's - Tickford Kit

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Sun Apr 30, 2006 8:00 pm 
Technical Contributor
Offline
User avatar

Posts: 2799

Joined: 6th Nov 2004

Gallery: 7 images

Ride: Falcon

Location: Sydney
NSW, Australia

what's the part number on the ECU, new and old?



Cheers

 

_________________

;++JustForDimSim++;

Cheap, fast and reliable.. choose 2.

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Sun Apr 30, 2006 8:09 pm 
Smokin em up
Offline

Posts: 236

Joined: 1st Sep 2005

Ride: EL Ghia Tickford 5.0

Location: Adelaide
SA, Australia

EB ECU 90DA-12A650-AD
XR ECU 90SA-12A650-DE

 

_________________

EL Fairmont Ghia 5.0
Sunroof - Leather - 3" Exhaust - 19" GTP's - Tickford Kit

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Sun Apr 30, 2006 8:16 pm 
Technical Contributor
Offline
User avatar

Posts: 2799

Joined: 6th Nov 2004

Gallery: 7 images

Ride: Falcon

Location: Sydney
NSW, Australia

Are you sure that's a ED XR ECU? Sounds like an EB ECU. I could be wrong.

I might be wrong, and Im just guessing, cos its hard to tell through the use of descriptive words, but if you have an CPI computer, it think you have 80lbs injectors... which would explain why its running like s**t.

Is the bottom of the 90SA-12650-DE have a plastic black plug, or a metal screw on plate?


Cheers

 

_________________

;++JustForDimSim++;

Cheap, fast and reliable.. choose 2.

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Sun Apr 30, 2006 8:32 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Posts: 1549

Joined: 27th Apr 2005

Gallery: 1 images

Ride: AU Fairmont Ghia

Location: Perth
WA, Australia

the CPi wouldnt fit the new manifold and he would be 4 injectors short. check that the O2 sensor is working (easiest to check at the ECU, its the second pin to the left of the bolt holding the female loom to the ecu. use a pinout diagram from the tech docs section. you should get a voltage between .1V - .8V
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Sun Apr 30, 2006 8:34 pm 
Technical Contributor
Offline
User avatar

Posts: 2799

Joined: 6th Nov 2004

Gallery: 7 images

Ride: Falcon

Location: Sydney
NSW, Australia

I meant CPI computer lol.... and yes he would be 4 injectors short, but our ECUs run in batched mode, meaning they switch what they think is 2 injectors, whereas its 2 banks of 3 injectors, so it could aswell be that.



Cheers

 

_________________

;++JustForDimSim++;

Cheap, fast and reliable.. choose 2.

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Sun Apr 30, 2006 10:04 pm 
Parts Gopher
Offline

Age: 40

Posts: 97

Joined: 3rd Apr 2005

Ride: 98 F.B.T

Location: Ferntree Gully
VIC, Australia

Hi an ED XR computer should be 93DT sounds like your new PCM has problems or is not compatible with your engine...
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Sun Apr 30, 2006 10:05 pm 
Parts Gopher
Offline

Age: 40

Posts: 97

Joined: 3rd Apr 2005

Ride: 98 F.B.T

Location: Ferntree Gully
VIC, Australia

Hi an ED XR computer should be 93DT sounds like your new PCM has problems or is not compatible with your engine...
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Thu May 04, 2006 7:41 pm 
Smokin em up
Offline

Posts: 236

Joined: 1st Sep 2005

Ride: EL Ghia Tickford 5.0

Location: Adelaide
SA, Australia

Thanks guys's but i got stooged, it's not an XR ECU like i was told. it's a CFI ECU, i'm supprised it ran at all. Wish i didn't buy that smartlock by-pass now.

ahh well...

Would an EL ECU be any benifit to me? It would have to be better than a 3.9 MPEFI ECU as i have now surely?

 

_________________

EL Fairmont Ghia 5.0
Sunroof - Leather - 3" Exhaust - 19" GTP's - Tickford Kit

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Fri May 05, 2006 12:39 am 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Posts: 1549

Joined: 27th Apr 2005

Gallery: 1 images

Ride: AU Fairmont Ghia

Location: Perth
WA, Australia

EL ecu would be good if your going to run a BBM or thermo's
Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:
Sort by  
 Page 1 of 1  [ 15 posts ] 

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 7 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

 

 

It is currently Thu Dec 14, 2017 12:23 am All times are UTC + 11 hours

 

 

(c)2014 Total Web Solutions Australia - Australian Web Hosting and Domain Names