Fordmods Logo

04 computer on 02 ba 

 

Page 1 of 1 [ 6 posts ] 

 
 Post subject: 04 computer on 02 ba
Posted: Wed Jun 04, 2008 12:23 pm 
Fordmods Newbie
Offline

Age: 46

Posts: 2

Joined: 10th Nov 2004

Gallery: 8 images

Ride: ba xt cobra

Location: ocaen shores
NSW, Australia

hello would like to know if 04 xr6 computer will plug in to my 02 ba xt. will i need to re code my com center or will the car run at all. thanks for any help
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Wed Jun 04, 2008 11:05 pm 
Smokin em up
Offline

Age: 34

Posts: 239

Joined: 20th Jan 2007

Ride: Custom Bedford, 79 Firebird

Location: Perth
WA, Australia

You will definately need to take the car to ford to have the ecu re-coded. Different ecu's match different bem's. Your car wont start with a different ecu.

ford will have to reprogram the new ecu with an old map to match the era of your cars build date. There are hundreds of different ecu maps from BA to BAII

Why are you changing your ecu?

 

_________________

Wrecking BA lots of parts available Pictures and prices here
3 Decks with stackers PRICE DROP

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Wed Jun 04, 2008 11:23 pm 
Technical Contributor
Offline
User avatar

Age: 32

Posts: 2517

Joined: 7th Nov 2004

Gallery: 4 images

Ride: LS3 VF

Location: Bunbury
WA, Australia

also, check the part number on both PCMs, it should read 3R23-12A650-XXX (the XXX can be any conbination of letters) OR 3R23-12A650-XX.

You need to swap the PCM's with a pcm with the same number of digits at the end (the end digits refer to the software level and are updatable by ford anyway) but a 3 digit pcm isnt swappable with a 2 digit one if that makes sense?

why are you doing the swap mate?
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Wed Jun 04, 2008 11:38 pm 
Smokin em up
Offline

Age: 34

Posts: 239

Joined: 20th Jan 2007

Ride: Custom Bedford, 79 Firebird

Location: Perth
WA, Australia

They say you can't swap a 3letter for a 2 letter, but i put a 3 letter manual ecu into my ba when i converted it to manual, they took 3 days to find a map that wouold suit it (a 2 letter map for the 3 letter ecu)

Either way, it is a mess around.

If you're doing it for a 'power increse' you've been fed lies..

Hope this helps..

Happy Motoring

 

_________________

Wrecking BA lots of parts available Pictures and prices here
3 Decks with stackers PRICE DROP

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Thu Jun 05, 2008 12:53 pm 
Fordmods Newbie
Offline

Age: 46

Posts: 2

Joined: 10th Nov 2004

Gallery: 8 images

Ride: ba xt cobra

Location: ocaen shores
NSW, Australia

thanks for your help. i was tolled by putting ba xr6 serise2 it will make it better on fuel.looks like was jiped as i got it from ebay it has latest programe flashed on it.thank again for your help
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Fri Jun 06, 2008 4:19 am 
Getting Side Ways
Offline

Age: 37

Posts: 1273

Joined: 30th Sep 2007

Ride: g6e 2009

Location: hiding in the bushes
WA, Australia

a ba xt and ba xr6 computer are exactly the same and run the same motor. difference is in body kit, interior and stuff only
Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:
Sort by  
 Page 1 of 1  [ 6 posts ] 

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 13 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

 

 

It is currently Tue Dec 12, 2017 2:29 am All times are UTC + 11 hours

 

 

(c)2014 Total Web Solutions Australia - Australian Web Hosting and Domain Names