Fordmods Logo

2 Speed Glide into EF... 

 

Page 1 of 1 [ 4 posts ] 

 
 Post subject: 2 Speed Glide into EF...
Posted: Sun Aug 20, 2006 12:43 pm 
Tyre Shredder
Offline
User avatar

Age: 31

Posts: 325

Joined: 15th Apr 2006

Ride: F350, EF2 Ghia, XC & Corty

Power: 218 rwkw

Location: Wangaratta
VIC, Australia

Got a mate with a 2 Speed Glide in his car... And he wants his 4 spd back.
Replaced auto with a good s/h box from the wreckers, and it still only has 1st and 2nd. will not change into 3rd or 4th. Reverse still works...
Ecu has been replaced, all to no avail.
Has anyone had this happen to their car before?
I believe its a problem with the wiring harness. But which part?
Any suggestions

 

_________________

13.28@103.73mph

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Sun Aug 20, 2006 1:01 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Posts: 6168

Joined: 5th Nov 2004

mine did that....and it mysterioulsy came back with a clutch and 5 gears :P

 

_________________

Image

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Sun Aug 20, 2006 1:41 pm 
Smokin em up
Offline
User avatar

Posts: 250

Joined: 10th Apr 2006

Ride: EF OPT20

Location: Country
SA, Australia

Was the gear position sensor swapped from the old box? Perhaps it is crook and is telling the ECU the selector is in 2nd for all forward gears..

 

_________________

'94 EF GLI
Dash Mat
Color-coded Ashtray
Polished Wheel Nuts

Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: 2 Speed Glide into EF...
Posted: Sun Aug 20, 2006 9:45 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline

Age: 30

Posts: 4609

Joined: 29th Jul 2005

Gallery: 10 images

Ride: BOXCAR

Location: Launceston
TAS, Australia

balizticbobo wrote:
Got a mate with a 2 Speed Glide in his car... And he wants his 4 spd back.
Replaced auto with a good s/h box from the wreckers, and it still only has 1st and 2nd. will not change into 3rd or 4th. Reverse still works...
Ecu has been replaced, all to no avail.
Has anyone had this happen to their car before?
I believe its a problem with the wiring harness. But which part?
Any suggestions


i also beleive its a wiring harness problem. It was probably chopped so the ECU could cope with the older style gear box.

Try fitting a new gear box loom

 

_________________

^^^ What He Said

<a href="http://www.fordmods.com/forums/viewtopic.php?t=44952" target="_blank" class="postlink"> TAS Cruises</a>

Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:
Sort by  
 Page 1 of 1  [ 4 posts ] 

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Google [Bot] and 27 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

 

 

It is currently Sat Dec 16, 2017 9:18 am All times are UTC + 11 hours

 

 

(c)2014 Total Web Solutions Australia - Australian Web Hosting and Domain Names