2005 BA XR6 Ute 

Page 1 of 1 [ 8 posts ] 

Post subject: 2005 BA XR6 Ute
Posted: Fri May 25, 2012 6:39 pm 
Fordmods Newbie

Ride: 2005 BA MkII Ute

NSW, Australia

Hello guys!

First post here, so sorry if i dont make complete sence.

Im a L plate, who is soon getting their P's, Dads kinda enough to buy me a car (I know im lucky). Its a BA Ute from the NSW and Vic boarder (Long drive tomorrow) but its only got 63,000km's

Anyway, Its stock standard and im planning to mod it up abit. Ive been looking around and figured my first basic mods would be a Cat back exhaust and some rims so i can look shmik :lol:

So I was looking at 19" BF MKII Typhoon rims, theirs a few sets on ebay, I was reading about off sets ect. Could anyone explain more about that, and if it would affect the Ute? I plan to be towing with it, rather large things later on like a 6m fiberglass boat and horses (Yes, im a horse trainer).

Now, with those rims, how would i go lowering it and does anyone have any recommendations. Our road are crap so i dont want to lower it much just abit.

With the cat back, whats the best options? Ill proberly get a header set later (a new Cat converter needed? Whats the best bang for the buck in that area?)

Anything else i should add to the list? Please throw it in :)

Also to folks in NSW, is it legal for a P-Plater to have a Cold air intake (Due to pod filter ect)

Please keep in mind, I understand somethings of cars but im no way near a mechanic :)

Thanks in Advance!

Post subject: Re: 2005 BA XR6 Ute
Posted: Sat Jun 02, 2012 8:15 pm 
Parts Gopher

Ride: 94 NC II FAIRLANE

NSW, Australia

xr6 ute should be low enough and if your gonna tow a float i would get those load helper things. i lowered my fathers au ute with 1 inch lowering blocks helped handling a bucket load. but when he carries a decent load you can tell its not happy.