Fordmods Logo

3sp to 4sp please help 

 

Page 1 of 1 [ 13 posts ] 

 
 Post subject: 3sp to 4sp please help
Posted: Fri Mar 24, 2006 12:45 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 40

Posts: 1807

Joined: 6th Feb 2006

Location: CENTRAL
VIC, Australia

how do i go with changing a 3sp to a 4sp in a 88 ea falcon, i have been offerd a manual conversion to put my 4sp auto in a cpi ea 3sp auto, i know it will all bolt up ok and i have a ea 4sp cpi ecu, but whats the go with the wireing?? anyone help.
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Fri Mar 24, 2006 2:15 pm 
Technical Contributor
Offline
User avatar

Posts: 2799

Joined: 6th Nov 2004

Gallery: 7 images

Ride: Falcon

Location: Sydney
NSW, Australia

...the box bolts up, but you will need the 4 speed tailshaft (same as the 5 speed).. You will also need the loom that runs up into the engine bay (round and square plug from what I remember).. And then you need to run an auto loom from the ECU to the engine bay (removing dash unavoidable). From there its simple.. plug it in, and test.



Cheers

 

_________________

;++JustForDimSim++;

Cheap, fast and reliable.. choose 2.

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Fri Mar 24, 2006 4:03 pm 
Stock as a Rock
Offline
User avatar

Age: 31

Posts: 148

Joined: 8th Nov 2004

Gallery: 4 images

Ride: EA Falcon

Location: Gold Coast
QLD, Australia

Didn't the 4spd need a separate computer for the transmission? As opposed to the 3sd just running off the car's ecu, me thinks...

 

_________________

1989 EA Falcon MPI (Converted! YAY!)
2.5" Sports System, Lowered, Thermofans, XG Snorkel
Result: 108.4rkw (145hp)

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Fri Mar 24, 2006 7:20 pm 
Technical Contributor
Offline
User avatar

Posts: 2799

Joined: 6th Nov 2004

Gallery: 7 images

Ride: Falcon

Location: Sydney
NSW, Australia

in the EAs yes. they used a TCM to control it...
but he said:
Quote:
i have a ea 4sp cpi ecu


So I thought he had an auto ECU...

If your ECU is in fact just an EA ECU (as in not an auto not a manual, they were all the same), then you will need either an EB ECU (4spd auto) one without smartlock (I/early II), or a TCM (Transmission Controller Module).


Cheers

 

_________________

;++JustForDimSim++;

Cheap, fast and reliable.. choose 2.

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Fri Mar 24, 2006 10:06 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 40

Posts: 1807

Joined: 6th Feb 2006

Location: CENTRAL
VIC, Australia

justfordima wrote:
in the EAs yes. they used a TCM to control it...
but he said:
Quote:
i have a ea 4sp cpi ecu


So I thought he had an auto ECU...

If your ECU is in fact just an EA ECU (as in not an auto not a manual, they were all the same), then you will need either an EB ECU (4spd auto) one without smartlock (I/early II), or a TCM (Transmission Controller Module).


Cheers
here is the serial no 90DA-12A650-DB the catch code is ODDB the only other info it gives is CFI-SD153 the donor car was a 90 model ea 3.9 cpi with 4 sp auto ex taxi..
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Sun Mar 26, 2006 9:48 am 
Technical Contributor
Offline
User avatar

Posts: 2799

Joined: 6th Nov 2004

Gallery: 7 images

Ride: Falcon

Location: Sydney
NSW, Australia

look up underneath the steering wheel, and the assembly (of your donor car), there should be a nice silver box that says (I think BOSCH?) Transmission Controller Module or something like that... if its there, you need to take that, and the loom to it, and use it with the 4 speed.


Cheers

 

_________________

;++JustForDimSim++;

Cheap, fast and reliable.. choose 2.

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Sun Mar 26, 2006 5:43 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 40

Posts: 1807

Joined: 6th Feb 2006

Location: CENTRAL
VIC, Australia

justfordima wrote:
look up underneath the steering wheel, and the assembly (of your donor car), there should be a nice silver box that says (I think BOSCH?) Transmission Controller Module or something like that... if its there, you need to take that, and the loom to it, and use it with the 4 speed.


Cheers
OH falcon hell, the car would be crushed by now it went for scrap metal :( , did not know about the separate controller. my EB 4.0l , 4sp auto ecu will not suit the manual conversion or?
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Mon Mar 27, 2006 7:45 am 
Technical Contributor
Offline
User avatar

Posts: 2799

Joined: 6th Nov 2004

Gallery: 7 images

Ride: Falcon

Location: Sydney
NSW, Australia

...manual conversion?
If the ECU you got is AUTO specific, then you should be alright.. if not, then you'll need a TCM. Might have to ring up ford, or someone on here is good with ECU part numbers (there was a thread soemwehre about them).. then they can tell you maybe.


Cheers

 

_________________

;++JustForDimSim++;

Cheap, fast and reliable.. choose 2.

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Mon Mar 27, 2006 1:34 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 40

Posts: 1807

Joined: 6th Feb 2006

Location: CENTRAL
VIC, Australia

justfordima wrote:
...manual conversion?
If the ECU you got is AUTO specific, then you should be alright.. if not, then you'll need a TCM. Might have to ring up ford, or someone on here is good with ECU part numbers (there was a thread soemwehre about them).. then they can tell you maybe.
Cheers
sorry for the confusion i wanted to know what drama's i will have if i leave the origanal ecu in my EB (at the moment is auto) when i do the manual conversion. i anit going to worrie about changing the 3sp auto ea to 4sp paying cash instead.
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Tue Mar 28, 2006 12:26 am 
Technical Contributor
Offline
User avatar

Posts: 2799

Joined: 6th Nov 2004

Gallery: 7 images

Ride: Falcon

Location: Sydney
NSW, Australia

if your ECU is TCM reliant (as in doesn't control the auto) you will have no dramas with a manual conversion (as they are the same). If it is, then you will need to place two resistors for the gear selector sensor, and the temperature sensor (simulating a nomral auto environment).


Cheers

 

_________________

;++JustForDimSim++;

Cheap, fast and reliable.. choose 2.

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Tue Mar 28, 2006 12:36 am 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 40

Posts: 1807

Joined: 6th Feb 2006

Location: CENTRAL
VIC, Australia

justfordima wrote:
if your ECU is TCM reliant (as in doesn't control the auto) you will have no dramas with a manual conversion (as they are the same). If it is, then you will need to place two resistors for the gear selector sensor, and the temperature sensor (simulating a nomral auto environment).


Cheers
ok thanks for the info, i dont spose you know if adding the resistors will change fuel comsuption or cold start up's.
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Tue Mar 28, 2006 12:45 am 
Technical Contributor
Offline
User avatar

Posts: 2799

Joined: 6th Nov 2004

Gallery: 7 images

Ride: Falcon

Location: Sydney
NSW, Australia

The resistors only affect small things the auto influences. The temp resistor is there to let the ECU know that the auto box is not overheating (cos its not there), and the ecu doesnt turn the fans on for it. And the gear selector is basically to let it know you are in neutral or gear.. you choose. This affects your idle speed.



Cheers

 

_________________

;++JustForDimSim++;

Cheap, fast and reliable.. choose 2.

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Tue Mar 28, 2006 11:02 am 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 40

Posts: 1807

Joined: 6th Feb 2006

Location: CENTRAL
VIC, Australia

justfordima wrote:
The resistors only affect small things the auto influences. The temp resistor is there to let the ECU know that the auto box is not overheating (cos its not there), and the ecu doesnt turn the fans on for it. And the gear selector is basically to let it know you are in neutral or gear.. you choose. This affects your idle speed.



Cheers
ok thanks, i will do that untill i find a suitable ecu.
Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:
Sort by  
 Page 1 of 1  [ 13 posts ] 

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 24 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

 

 

It is currently Wed Dec 13, 2017 10:04 pm All times are UTC + 11 hours

 

 

(c)2014 Total Web Solutions Australia - Australian Web Hosting and Domain Names