Fordmods Logo

'97 EL Falcon GLi I6 - Recommended Fuel: 91, 95 or 98? 

Page 1 of 1 [ 11 posts ] 

Post subject: '97 EL Falcon GLi I6 - Recommended Fuel: 91, 95 or 98?
Posted: Wed Sep 25, 2013 10:50 pm 
Parts Gopher

Ride: 1997 Ford El Falcon Gli Wagon

SA, Australia

G'day, guys.

I have been running 98 premium in my Falcon for the past 6 or 7 months and the car is much nicer to drive, gets better mileage to the tank and has noticeably more power (placebo effect maybe?).

I was recently told that running this fuel has caused my car to develop a very rough idle in the last two months. This idle dies off as RPM increases but is terrible at the lights, but gets a little better when in neutral or park.

What do you think, guys? Is 98 premium right for my car? Or should I drop back?

Does anybody know what the recommended fuel for a '97 EL Falcon is?

Thank you, all! :D

Ride: '97 EL Falcon GLi Wagon
Mods: 2.5" Redback catback, 6000k HID, Blue LED Trip Computer, Blue LED dash, LED Audi Style Parker Lights, Footwell Lighting, White interior door handles with fade in and out with parker lights, Fairlane rear courtesy lamp.

Post subject: Re: '97 EL Falcon GLi I6 - Recommended Fuel: 91, 95 or 98?
Posted: Wed Sep 25, 2013 11:40 pm 
Stock as a Rock

Gallery: 9 images

Ride: EF 2 Fairmont. AU 5 Litre ute

VIC, Australia

98 should be fine, what servo have you been going to? You could have got a bad batch of fuel.
I normally run 91 or 95 in both my cars. I do notice when I run 100 in them they idle better.

Posted: Wed Sep 25, 2013 11:49 pm 
Getting Side Ways

Ride: BF F6 Tornado - #0077

VIC, Australia

Sounds like either the engine mounts are shagged or the inlet gasket has gone. maybe a new set of plugs or at least check them. I'd love to hear why they think the fuel has caused this....

Also, you should smack who ever said that really hard

** For Sale ** http://www.fordmods.com/ford-parts-for-sale-f17/assorted-e-series-parts-t124697.html

F6 Tornado 2006 Build