Fordmods Logo

Accelerator cable 

 

Page 1 of 1 [ 9 posts ] 

 
 Post subject: Accelerator cable
Posted: Mon Apr 03, 2006 1:22 pm 
Tyre Shredder
Offline

Posts: 398

Joined: 9th Mar 2006

Ride: Falcon

Location: Sydney
NSW, Australia

Does everyones ford accelerator cable almost sit on the carpet. They are bloody silly, you mash it into the carpet and it doesnt even pull open the throttle body full way.

I put a washer in under the hood and it pulls up the pedal considerably. Now I know at the traffic lights GP that my ford is opening up properly.

 

_________________

EL Fairmont Ghia, extractors, 2.5 inch system, high flow cat, K&N panel filter, AUXR Snorkel, 3.45diff 0-100km/h 6.9secs

SS COMMODORE LS1 282rwkw, awesome power

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Mon Apr 03, 2006 6:01 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 54

Posts: 4102

Joined: 18th Nov 2004

Gallery: 10 images

Ride: PX2 Ranger 4x4 XLT Dual CAB

Location: Carrum Downs
VIC, Australia

Could be part of the outer casing of the cable has broken away. This will effect how much the throttle will open. I had it happen on my EA. Throttle was so short it would'nt even kick down when floored.

 

_________________

Image
She's meanness put to music and the b**ch is born to run!
Like the sign says, "speed's just a question of money. How fast can you go?"

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Mon Apr 03, 2006 6:07 pm 
Tyre Shredder
Offline

Posts: 398

Joined: 9th Mar 2006

Ride: Falcon

Location: Sydney
NSW, Australia

They come out of the factory that way. All ford throttle cables do not pull up the pedal properly.

Sit in a commodore and the pedal is so far up, it may as well be in your face.

When you buy a ford new, you should just pop the bonnet and adjust the throttle cable straight away. Before you even pay for it.

 

_________________

EL Fairmont Ghia, extractors, 2.5 inch system, high flow cat, K&N panel filter, AUXR Snorkel, 3.45diff 0-100km/h 6.9secs

SS COMMODORE LS1 282rwkw, awesome power

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Mon Apr 03, 2006 10:39 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline

Age: 33

Posts: 6746

Joined: 13th Mar 2006

Gallery: 10 images

Ride: NCII Fairlane

Location: Bathurst
NSW, Australia

get a new throttle cable sounds like it is broken cause had the same problem on my i6 the outer cabling thing was cracked and about half an inch of wire was showing

 

_________________

R.I.P Tobias my son.

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Tue Apr 04, 2006 10:57 am 
Fordmods Junkie
Offline
User avatar

Age: 38

Posts: 5051

Joined: 5th Nov 2004

Ride: Kia Rio - 1.4L Auto

Power: 238 rwkw

Location: Westside
VIC, Australia

EB V8 wrote:
They come out of the factory that way. All ford throttle cables do not pull up the pedal properly.

Sit in a commodore and the pedal is so far up, it may as well be in your face.

When you buy a ford new, you should just pop the bonnet and adjust the throttle cable straight away. Before you even pay for it.


Have you owned either of your cars since new to comment that they came out of the factory that way.

Every one I've driven has the accelerator pedal near level with the brake pedal, and it works just dandy. I would assume, like the others, that the outer cable casing has just cracked or the inside cable has stretched.

Maybe the fact that the commodore pedal sits so high up is the reason why the first 3cm of accelerator movement does nothing to get the car going.

But what I really think is that you should sell these 2 Fords you have to someone who would really appreciate them, and replace them with a Commodore. To me it seems you obviously require a Commodore to drive, as they are so much better, as your recent "banter" suggests.

Oh Flaming why have you forsaken us. :cry:
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Tue Apr 04, 2006 11:44 am 
Technical Contributor
Offline
User avatar

Age: 32

Posts: 3097

Joined: 5th Nov 2004

Gallery: 29 images

Ride: VU SS

Location: Ivanhoe
NSW, Australia

EB V8 wrote:
They come out of the factory that way.


No they don't :lol:

 

_________________

EF Fairmont now Sold!
Guides: Polishing|Modifications |Manual Conversion

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Tue Apr 04, 2006 12:07 pm 
Fordmods Addict
Offline
User avatar

Age: 31

Posts: 7958

Joined: 1st Jun 2005

Gallery: 13 images

Ride: Falcon

Power: 237 rwkw

Location: Melbourne
VIC, Australia

I'm using this for an excuse everytime I get whupped.
Even though I know full well my TB opens all the way...
Perhaps you shouldn't use phonebooks for floor mats?

 

_________________

ED XR8 Sprint - S-Trim, V500, 249rwkw
BF MKII F6 Tornado - 237rwkw

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Tue Apr 04, 2006 1:28 pm 
Fordmods Junkie
Offline
User avatar

Posts: 11739

Joined: 17th May 2005

Gallery: 11 images

Ride: EL Fairmont, VFR400 racer

Power: 144 rwkw

Location: Melbourne
VIC, Australia

my cable snapped while turning a corner. that was hell of a day hahahaha. but my EA when i floor it the throttle body dont open all the way either.....but i dun mind. hopefully the EL will open up a bit more.

 

_________________

phongus = Post whore 2006
EL XR6 motor, EL ECU + J3 chip, WADE 1673 Camshaft, 3" S/S intake, Pacy 4480, 2.5" Hi flow cat, 2.5" Lukey exhaust.
Max Power = 144.6 rwkw (03/05/2008)

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Tue Apr 04, 2006 6:04 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 54

Posts: 4102

Joined: 18th Nov 2004

Gallery: 10 images

Ride: PX2 Ranger 4x4 XLT Dual CAB

Location: Carrum Downs
VIC, Australia

EB V8 wrote:
They come out of the factory that way. All ford throttle cables do not pull up the pedal properly.

Sit in a commodore and the pedal is so far up, it may as well be in your face.

When you buy a ford new, you should just pop the bonnet and adjust the throttle cable straight away. Before you even pay for it.


If that was the case then why is it that when I replaced the cable with a new one the throttle opened to 100%?

Or are you suggesting that Ford use secondhand faulty cables on the factory floor :roll:

 

_________________

Image
She's meanness put to music and the b**ch is born to run!
Like the sign says, "speed's just a question of money. How fast can you go?"

Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:
Sort by  
 Page 1 of 1  [ 9 posts ] 

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: DStirrup and 16 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

 

 

It is currently Fri Dec 15, 2017 10:19 am All times are UTC + 11 hours

 

 

(c)2014 Total Web Solutions Australia - Australian Web Hosting and Domain Names