Fordmods Logo

Air flow meter on EBII 

 

Page 1 of 1 [ 10 posts ] 

 
 Post subject: Air flow meter on EBII
Posted: Sat Sep 03, 2005 1:45 pm 
Oompa Loompa
Offline
User avatar

Age: 30

Posts: 48

Joined: 27th Apr 2005

Ride: EBII XR6T

Location: Sydney
NSW, Australia

Hey boys,
Do EBII have an air flow meter (not MAP or MAF) coz i want to hook a an air/fuel mixture meter to see if it runs lean or rich when i bolt my turbo back on.
I have an air/fuel mixture meter already and it says to be connected to a air flow meter, if the ebII has one could you tell where it is.
Thanx Sam!
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Sat Sep 03, 2005 5:48 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 52

Posts: 4370

Joined: 5th Nov 2004

Ride: BA Fairlane Ghia

Location: Karratha
WA, Australia

They have a MAP, no AFM,.
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Sat Sep 03, 2005 7:10 pm 
Oompa Loompa
Offline
User avatar

Age: 30

Posts: 48

Joined: 27th Apr 2005

Ride: EBII XR6T

Location: Sydney
NSW, Australia

ok, so how would go about hooking up an air/fuel mixture meter. Would it be ok just to put on on it in order give a reading to the air/fuel mixture meter.
Thanx
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Sun Sep 04, 2005 1:16 am 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 52

Posts: 4370

Joined: 5th Nov 2004

Ride: BA Fairlane Ghia

Location: Karratha
WA, Australia

My understanding of it is, MAP. Manifold Absolute Pressure, reads onlt the pressure, and the ECU controls the fuel thru the injectors, calculating the correct amount needed to be injected, dont know how you could hook a meter up there. I no expert on this, so what do you want, a gauge in the car, to tell you what the air fuel mix is?
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Sun Sep 04, 2005 1:28 am 
Getting Side Ways
Offline

Age: 34

Posts: 419

Joined: 6th Nov 2004

Location: canberra
ACT, Australia

well u must be running a after market ecu if u got a turbo on it right.
id put it on a dyno a see how the a/f is
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Sun Sep 04, 2005 2:55 am 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 38

Posts: 1440

Joined: 7th Nov 2004

Ride: 320kw BA XR8

Location: Adelaide
SA, Australia

An air flow meter, which is a MAF, or a MAP has nothing to do with AF ratio reading. You need to tap into the oxygen sensor in the exhaust. The stock narrowband oxygen sensor is not accurate, it only really tells you is it is running rich or lean, to get a true AF reading you need to run a wideband O2 sensor. A wideband is something any decent turbo/blown engine should have IMO but they aren't cheap at around $600.
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Mon Sep 05, 2005 12:26 am 
Oompa Loompa
Offline
User avatar

Age: 30

Posts: 48

Joined: 27th Apr 2005

Ride: EBII XR6T

Location: Sydney
NSW, Australia

Yeah i wanted a gauge or read out inside the car.
Im have stock computer at the moment coz i only to want to run 5psi.
Its just that i was reading the Jaycar book and the air/fuel mixture meter they have says to be hooked up to an air flow meter.
So the only way to check air/fuel ratios is to get it dyno'd.
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Mon Sep 05, 2005 12:32 am 
Oompa Loompa
Offline
User avatar

Age: 30

Posts: 48

Joined: 27th Apr 2005

Ride: EBII XR6T

Location: Sydney
NSW, Australia

Yeah i wanted a gauge or read out inside the car.
Im have stock computer at the moment coz i only to want to run 5psi.
Its just that i was reading the Jaycar book and the air/fuel mixture meter they have says to be hooked up to an air flow meter.
So the only way to check air/fuel ratios is to get it dyno'd.
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Mon Sep 05, 2005 2:26 am 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 38

Posts: 1440

Joined: 7th Nov 2004

Ride: 320kw BA XR8

Location: Adelaide
SA, Australia

SAM08U wrote:
Its just that i was reading the Jaycar book and the air/fuel mixture meter they have says to be hooked up to an air flow meter.


Sounds like the air/fuel adjuster kit Jaycar has, that hooks up to the air flow meter. An air/fuel ratio meter can only work off the O2 sensor.

SAM08U wrote:
So the only way to check air/fuel ratios is to get it dyno'd.


No as I said you can fit a wideband 02 sensor to your car, that is what they use when you are on the dyno. Excellent for tunign and monotoring fuel issues but expensive.
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Mon Sep 05, 2005 11:48 pm 
Oompa Loompa
Offline
User avatar

Age: 30

Posts: 48

Joined: 27th Apr 2005

Ride: EBII XR6T

Location: Sydney
NSW, Australia

ok.
Well thanx for the info.
Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:
Sort by  
 Page 1 of 1  [ 10 posts ] 

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Yahoo [Bot] and 28 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

 

 

It is currently Sat Dec 16, 2017 1:08 pm All times are UTC + 11 hours

 

 

(c)2014 Total Web Solutions Australia - Australian Web Hosting and Domain Names