Fordmods Logo

Another head gasket thread 

Page 1 of 2 [ 16 posts ] Go to page 1, 2  Next

Post subject: Another head gasket thread
Posted: Sat Jun 04, 2005 11:05 pm 
Parts Gopher

VIC, Australia

Ok well my EF i6 Falcon has recently started to leave water/oil/coolant? :? marks on my driveway, and on the last service at a Ford dealer they said that I will need a new head gasket, at a cost of $1600 :shock: :evil: I havent replaced it yet as I am only a uni student and find it hard to come up with that cash but the car has now started to go through coolant quite heavily so I guess its time.. :( and now I have a few questions, could I possibly replace it myself? is it fairly simple? i have replaced an exhaust gasket on my cortina but that was somewhat different :? and if I were to take it to a different mechanic would I be expecting the same cost? Sorry for the lengthy post...

Posted: Sat Jun 04, 2005 11:15 pm 
Getting Side Ways

Gallery: 3 images

Ride: Shell with 4 wheels

NSW, Australia

Easy job

Grab yourself a AU Metal Shim head gasket from ford $90 New set of Head Bolts, Take your exhaust manifold and intake manifolds off take off rocker cover and rocker gear and do all thsoe bits and pieces take the head off then remove old head gasket and clean up area put new one on and put it all back together. Simple.half a day to full day job

Posted: Sat Jun 04, 2005 11:36 pm 
Getting Side Ways

Ride: Falcon EB-s

WA, Australia

An exhaust gasket is pretty basic compared to a head gasket but. I cracked a pair of heads in my EB (two occasions) and got them repaired at a local mechanics. First time cost me 1300 (and thats with repairing the head), second time got it done under some sort of warranty.

The problem with America is stupidity. I'm not saying there should be a capital punishment for stupidity, but why don't we just take the safety labels off of everything and let the problem solve itself?

Posted: Sun Jun 05, 2005 12:05 am 
Parts Gopher

VIC, Australia