Fordmods Logo

Anyone ever got a Motor running OUTSIDE of a car? 

 

Page 1 of 1 [ 10 posts ] 

 
 Post subject: Anyone ever got a Motor running OUTSIDE of a car?
Posted: Sun May 22, 2005 5:12 am 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 39

Posts: 1434

Joined: 5th Nov 2004

Gallery: 15 images

Ride: ALTED XR6 - ALTED EA - EF TAXI

Location: Sunshine Coast QLD
QLD, Australia

Just wondering, Im sure someone has done it, Say, Motor on engine stand, Wired up, Loom complete, connected to ECU, battery and fuel pump and all the rest ...

Anyone ever started one NOT in a car? .

If so, How did you go about doing it?

Something big is going to happen soon to I6 Motors :) ...

Antony - ALTEDPERFORMANCE
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Sun May 22, 2005 11:19 am 
Stock as a Rock
Offline
User avatar

Posts: 107

Joined: 7th Nov 2004

Ride: EL Futura

Location: Melbourne
VIC, Australia

Back when I was in high school we had an old 302W on a stand and had it running. Of course there was no ECU or anything so it was fairly easy. Just made a stand for the radiator and stuck a bit of pipe outside a window for the exhaust! :D

 

_________________

Image

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Sun May 22, 2005 2:28 pm 
Fordmods Junkie
Offline
User avatar

Age: 38

Posts: 1000491

Joined: 6th Nov 2004

Gallery: 2 images

Ride: AUXR6 HP With Ducati SupA Bike!

Location: Perth
WA, Australia

course u can thats how engines work on engine dyno's

although with the i6 u would need the wiring loom ecu etc and then i am not sure it will start without the BEM for the smartlock...

 

_________________

RIP SCOTT

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Sun May 22, 2005 3:09 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline

Age: 36

Posts: 7287

Joined: 5th Nov 2004

Gallery: 12 images

Ride: 1994 ED XR8 Sprint

Location: Somewhere in
QLD, Australia

i've seen an XF EFI 6 cyl running in a cradle with all the electrics hooked up, so it's not impossible

 

_________________

Banned

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Sun May 22, 2005 4:41 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline

Age: 34

Posts: 419

Joined: 6th Nov 2004

Location: canberra
ACT, Australia

its very easy to do. when ever we do front cuts we always run the motor before putting it in the car.
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Sun May 22, 2005 6:43 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 39

Posts: 1434

Joined: 5th Nov 2004

Gallery: 15 images

Ride: ALTED XR6 - ALTED EA - EF TAXI

Location: Sunshine Coast QLD
QLD, Australia

Good to hear other people have done it ... Because im going to be using a engine dyno in the next mth or so to test ALTED cams in ALTED motors, But just have to get everything setup in the shed first .

I was thinking of use a pre-smart ECU to run it....
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Mon May 23, 2005 2:21 am 
Technical Contributor
Offline
User avatar

Posts: 2799

Joined: 6th Nov 2004

Gallery: 7 images

Ride: Falcon

Location: Sydney
NSW, Australia

pre smartlock would be the way to go, as there is no mucking around with smart lock, and its as basic as it gets with the 4 litres.
A manual EBII pre smartlock would be even better, as there won't be auto sensors to fool (like in auto to manual conversion).
ofcourse you can always have something like a megasquirt.
It'll be a pretty big setup, (radiator, battery, whole engine in general, exhaust system, fuel tank/container, air intake, etc), but definately cool 8-)


Good luck with it!


Cheers

 

_________________

;++JustForDimSim++;

Cheap, fast and reliable.. choose 2.

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Mon May 23, 2005 9:44 am 
Getting Side Ways
Offline

Posts: 2448

Joined: 5th Nov 2004

Gallery: 7 images

Location: Brisbane
QLD, Australia

Hmmmm.

Manual Bellhousing, Flywheel off an auto or a manual, starter motor, and Manual EEC...

Wreckers run motors like that all the time - you hear them fired up and running on the ground of course they dont put water through them.

.. and some of us have to remember the days where they used to fire up engines and see which ones lasted longest at shows.

Nigel
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Mon May 23, 2005 10:38 am 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 46

Posts: 1040

Joined: 5th Nov 2004

Gallery: 5 images

Ride: EA Fairmont Ghia

Location: Melbourne
VIC, Australia

Get a k-frame to bolt it to, and bolt the k-frame to something, will make it easy for setup, or as suggested maybe a front half cut or there abouts would give you the dash and everything to really test in car :)

 

_________________

Full working BA Shifter now upgraded to BF Shifter.
BA headlight inserts in my EA headlights.

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Mon May 23, 2005 4:49 pm 
Smokin em up
Offline

Age: 40

Posts: 284

Joined: 6th Nov 2004

Location: x
NSW, Australia

Probably done it a couple of hundered times! All pre ECU controlled though.

Easy to do just fiddly if you are setting up different engines all the time.

Mazda rotaries were easiest starter on top of the motor and not too much torque reaction when you revved them up.

A nice cradle and jig to manage all the electronics will be required now. ECU and BEM and loom to interconnect high pressure fuel pump some sort of radiator set up too.
Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:
Sort by  
 Page 1 of 1  [ 10 posts ] 

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 22 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

 

 

It is currently Fri Dec 15, 2017 11:46 pm All times are UTC + 11 hours

 

 

(c)2014 Total Web Solutions Australia - Australian Web Hosting and Domain Names