Fordmods Logo

Are EL valves & ports bigger than AU? Will head bolt to AU? 

 

Page 1 of 1 [ 13 posts ] 

 
 Post subject: Are EL valves & ports bigger than AU? Will head bolt to
Posted: Tue Apr 10, 2007 7:27 am 
Getting Side Ways
Offline

Posts: 625

Joined: 6th Nov 2004

Ride: R32 GTR

Location: Brackistan
VIC, Australia

My AU motor is seriously lacking torque when the revs climb. My old EL motor had a mild cam and it would rev quite nicely, albeit with awful amounts of harshness. The AU revs beautifully but its gutless.

Can I have the best of both worlds, does the EL head bolt up to the AU block? Are there any issues to be aware of or any modifications that need to be made? Is the steel head gasket of the AU reusable? Are the head bolts of the AU reuseable?
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Tue Apr 10, 2007 7:29 am 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 32

Posts: 3687

Joined: 4th Mar 2005

Gallery: 23 images

Ride: XR6 Turbo

Location: Taree
NSW, Australia

Yeah everything should bolt straight on, so I have read.

 

_________________

SS Inductions CAI, K&N Filters, M-spec FMC, Turbosmart BOV, 8psi capa tune, X-force cat.

Mods going on: Nizpro springs, bosch 040 pump + Walbro gss341, 600cc injectors, PWR transcooler, 20% Underdrives, 15psi Actuator, Kingspring SSL's, 15psi tune.....More coming

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Tue Apr 10, 2007 8:57 am 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 54

Posts: 4102

Joined: 18th Nov 2004

Gallery: 10 images

Ride: PX2 Ranger 4x4 XLT Dual CAB

Location: Carrum Downs
VIC, Australia

The Head will bolt on without a problem. A new headgasket should always be used. As with the headbolts.

 

_________________

Image
She's meanness put to music and the b**ch is born to run!
Like the sign says, "speed's just a question of money. How fast can you go?"

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Tue Apr 10, 2007 9:07 am 
Fordmods Newbie
Offline

Age: 30

Posts: 18

Joined: 8th Apr 2007

Ride: ef xr8

Location: bendigo
VIC, Australia

just make sure you do them up tight they have a common problem coming loose
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Tue Apr 10, 2007 10:37 am 
Technical Contributor
Offline
User avatar

Age: 32

Posts: 3097

Joined: 5th Nov 2004

Gallery: 29 images

Ride: VU SS

Location: Ivanhoe
NSW, Australia

In my EB I had an AU block and EB head.

 

_________________

EF Fairmont now Sold!
Guides: Polishing|Modifications |Manual Conversion

Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: Are EL valves & ports bigger than AU? Will head bolt
Posted: Tue Apr 10, 2007 11:48 am 
Fordmods Junkie
Offline
User avatar

Age: 38

Posts: 5051

Joined: 5th Nov 2004

Ride: Kia Rio - 1.4L Auto

Power: 238 rwkw

Location: Westside
VIC, Australia

Bozz wrote:
My AU motor is seriously lacking torque when the revs climb. My old EL motor had a mild cam and it would rev quite nicely, albeit with awful amounts of harshness. The AU revs beautifully but its gutless.


I find your comments strange, as I always found that hybrids/AU's could be fairly gutless off the line compared to the e-series, but their high rpm power was much better than the e-series - in stock standard trim of course.

To the point of where I would line up an identical non hybrid car, be raped off the line, but catch up and overtake before we hit the 400m mark.

But yes, an EF/EL head will fit the AU block. I ended up ditching my hybrid head for this reason for a 94DT head. And all smoothness of the engine is from the bottom end, not the head.
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Tue Apr 10, 2007 5:21 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline

Posts: 625

Joined: 6th Nov 2004

Ride: R32 GTR

Location: Brackistan
VIC, Australia

arm79 - heres the dyno graph - make of it what you will

http://lotsofspace.net/au_dyno_lpg.jpg

at 2500rpm its all over, torque starts falling like a commodore off a cliff
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Fri Apr 13, 2007 1:26 am 
Oompa Loompa
Offline
User avatar

Age: 28

Posts: 44

Joined: 8th Mar 2007

Gallery: 2 images

Location: Kadina
SA, Australia

auto speed brought out a thread bout th e series heads compared to au....th e series has better flow from factory but th au head has a greater potential to produse larger power then th e series if u r porting...an yes,will bol on an ALWAYS use new gaskets an bolts....(comon sense)

 

_________________

*WARNING*
Small Jap Imports May Be Ingested.

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Mon Apr 16, 2007 3:27 am 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 30

Posts: 3737

Joined: 22nd May 2006

Ride: BF F6 Tornado - #0077

Location: Bendigo
VIC, Australia

think there was another thread on a few days ago that said you can run e series cams in the au head.

done by using the e pedistles and au rocker arms off the rocker trains or something.

actually, can someone either back me up on that or dig up the thread?

 

_________________

** For Sale ** http://www.fordmods.com/ford-parts-for-sale-f17/assorted-e-series-parts-t124697.html

F6 Tornado 2006 Build

Is it about sex? The engine in my car? Or a cure for cancer?
No?

Then f**k off

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Sun May 06, 2007 10:30 pm 
Oompa Loompa
Offline
User avatar

Age: 28

Posts: 44

Joined: 8th Mar 2007

Gallery: 2 images

Location: Kadina
SA, Australia

yeah im pretty sure thats correct...iv been told i can use my e series cam if i run all my e series rocker gear, should just bolt up cause only difference is th journal diameter an th different pedesals an rocker gear corrects that so, yeah.....go ur hardest i say

 

_________________

*WARNING*
Small Jap Imports May Be Ingested.

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Mon May 07, 2007 5:11 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 32

Posts: 1833

Joined: 3rd May 2007

Gallery: 8 images

Ride: AUII XR6 Uterus

Location: South Coast
NSW, Australia

wal_racing_38 wrote:
just make sure you do them up tight they have a common problem coming loose


most people use a torque wrench for that.....

changing the pedastools will only change the top half diamieter of the journals leaving the complete diameter when installed looking like a cracked egg....

not to mention the rocker ratio... 1.8 & 2.1 respectivly i do believe...

 

_________________

Not to get technical, but according to chemistry alcohol is a solution.

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Mon May 07, 2007 5:11 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 32

Posts: 1833

Joined: 3rd May 2007

Gallery: 8 images

Ride: AUII XR6 Uterus

Location: South Coast
NSW, Australia

wal_racing_38 wrote:
just make sure you do them up tight they have a common problem coming loose


most people use a torque wrench for that.....

changing the pedastools will only change the top half diamieter of the journals leaving the complete diameter when installed looking like a cracked egg....

not to mention the rocker ratio... 1.8 & 2.1 respectivly i do believe...

 

_________________

Not to get technical, but according to chemistry alcohol is a solution.

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Mon May 07, 2007 6:27 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline

Age: 31

Posts: 1279

Joined: 5th Apr 2005

Gallery: 2 images

Ride: Toyota Supra RZ

Location: Burwood Nights
VIC, Australia

Would it not be reasonable to just swap the cam and the rocker gear over?

edit: sorry just read a few posts up!
Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:
Sort by  
 Page 1 of 1  [ 13 posts ] 

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Google [Bot], Swalgerman and 24 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

 

 

It is currently Thu Dec 14, 2017 7:51 pm All times are UTC + 11 hours

 

 

(c)2014 Total Web Solutions Australia - Australian Web Hosting and Domain Names