Fordmods Logo

AU and EF ECU's - swapping??? - 

 

Page 1 of 1 [ 11 posts ] 

 
 Post subject: AU and EF ECU's - swapping??? -
Posted: Fri May 02, 2008 2:51 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline

Posts: 2448

Joined: 5th Nov 2004

Gallery: 7 images

Location: Brisbane
QLD, Australia

Are the AU and EF ECU's a simple plug/swap?

If so, does that mean that the AU and EF Engines should be a simple swap?

.. Im reading a lot about needing to put your EF crank sensor on the AU, but Im really wondering why you cant just use the AU Sensor and modify your EF Wiring.... Seems like less of a change.

Advice please!

Nigel
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Fri May 02, 2008 10:05 pm 
Parts Gopher
Offline

Age: 30

Posts: 55

Joined: 17th Sep 2007

Ride: EFII Fairmont & F6 Typhoon

Location: Perth
WA, Australia

no cookie man. au runs sequential efi and the ef runs batch or multi point efi non compatibilty looms there. my advice check the pinouts differences between the two and possibly have a dig into whether or not you can interchange the wiring harness with the fuel rail, reg and also the crank sensor and coil pack from the au over to the ef
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Fri May 02, 2008 11:57 pm 
Stock as a Rock
Offline

Age: 35

Posts: 187

Joined: 30th Dec 2006

Ride: 95 EF I

Location: Melbourne
VIC, Australia

are you looking to swap an AU motor to an EF?
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Sat May 03, 2008 12:32 am 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 27

Posts: 1998

Joined: 31st Dec 2007

Gallery: 9 images

Ride: xc wag's, tnklane wag's

Location: Munruben
QLD, Australia

Funnily enough, an au ecu will run a ef engine, but it doesn't like it. :lol:

 

_________________

Signature removed by moderator.signature must not exceed 120x500 pixles

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Sat May 03, 2008 8:59 am 
Getting Side Ways
Offline

Posts: 2448

Joined: 5th Nov 2004

Gallery: 7 images

Location: Brisbane
QLD, Australia

Tell me more about "But it doesnt like it"

.. and yeah, Im looking at an AU motor into an EF
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Sat May 03, 2008 9:23 am 
Stock as a Rock
Offline

Age: 35

Posts: 187

Joined: 30th Dec 2006

Ride: 95 EF I

Location: Melbourne
VIC, Australia

Im considering doing the same thing sometime later this year, or sooner if the head gasket blows in my EF... let us know how you go, I think I will go the way others have and just take everything off the EF motor, swap in the AU and bolt everything back on again... bit more work around the engine but no harness change or ecu change...
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Sat May 03, 2008 9:34 am 
Getting Side Ways
Offline

Posts: 2448

Joined: 5th Nov 2004

Gallery: 7 images

Location: Brisbane
QLD, Australia

Im ok to do the wiring changes - I was more concerned that the AU uses different (better) sensors.

If Im going to go AU, Id like to go All AU... if that make sense

.. of course with the exception of the ECU
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Sat May 03, 2008 9:43 am 
Stock as a Rock
Offline

Age: 35

Posts: 187

Joined: 30th Dec 2006

Ride: 95 EF I

Location: Melbourne
VIC, Australia

ok so you want all AU gear under the bonnet but an EF ecu running it still?

need to do some more reading on the differences between EF/AU now...
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Sat May 03, 2008 9:51 am 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 27

Posts: 1998

Joined: 31st Dec 2007

Gallery: 9 images

Ride: xc wag's, tnklane wag's

Location: Munruben
QLD, Australia

well, it's a straight plug in, but it was a little hard to turn it over, once it did though, it ran a little rough like the timings out or something, and it did end up stalling on me, when i slowed it right down to turn around, but it did work in all fareness no altering of any looms. etc.
it was just a play around as i had the spare ecu there so i don't have a lot of info on it or anything.

 

_________________

Signature removed by moderator.signature must not exceed 120x500 pixles

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Sat May 03, 2008 6:18 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Posts: 2644

Joined: 6th Nov 2004

Gallery: 8 images

Ride: 2007

Location: Mount Annan
NSW, Australia

Nigel wrote:
Tell me more about "But it doesnt like it"

.. and yeah, Im looking at an AU motor into an EF
The main differences are BBM output is on a different pin but I am sure you will need the AU sensors ( at least some of them) for it to run correctly. The AU wiring uses shielded wiring to some sensors where the E series is just loomed BTW.

 

_________________

BF Fairmont Ghia Series II update.
GQ XR6T ghia patrol.

,======o00o
//__|__|_,\_____\,___
|_/--\'_|'__|_/--\_[]IIII[]
_( o ) )_____( o ) )=o=) )__

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Sat May 03, 2008 7:01 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline

Posts: 2448

Joined: 5th Nov 2004

Gallery: 7 images

Location: Brisbane
QLD, Australia

Well.... Sheilded sensors is a good idea... but I get the point.

Hmmm.
Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:
Sort by  
 Page 1 of 1  [ 11 posts ] 

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Facebook [Bot], Google [Bot] and 21 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

 

 

It is currently Fri Dec 15, 2017 12:33 am All times are UTC + 11 hours

 

 

(c)2014 Total Web Solutions Australia - Australian Web Hosting and Domain Names