Fordmods Logo

au cams 

Page 1 of 1 [ 9 posts ] 

Post subject: au cams
Posted: Sun Apr 22, 2007 8:01 am 
Fordmods Newbie

New Zealand

:D hi all, newbie here, ive got an AU engine in my speedway race car which is pretty well stock at the moment, will a XR6 cam fit without any problems, heard i would have to replace valve springs etc, also whats the cost of getting one in Aussie,as a price comparison of them over here in NZ, Ford NZ seem to charge like wounded bulls, may be cheaper to get one from Oz, thanks in advance

Alcohol, the cause of and solution to, all of lifes problems- Homer Jay Simpson

Posted: Sun Apr 22, 2007 2:28 pm 
Getting Side Ways

Gallery: 23 images

Ride: XR6 Turbo

NSW, Australia

Na you shouldnt need to change valve springs if its just a XR6 cam, Ford always charges like a wounded bull even here in Aus lol.

SS Inductions CAI, K&N Filters, M-spec FMC, Turbosmart BOV, 8psi capa tune, X-force cat.

Mods going on: Nizpro springs, bosch 040 pump + Walbro gss341, 600cc injectors, PWR transcooler, 20% Underdrives, 15psi Actuator, Kingspring SSL's, 15psi tune.....More coming

Posted: Sun Apr 22, 2007 5:37 pm 
Fordmods Newbie

New Zealand

cool, does the XR6 cam have a part number on them or any identifying marks to tell them apart from a stock standard one???, may see if i can get one from a wrecker instead, either that or get one ground to the same specs, thanks

Posted: Sun Apr 22, 2007 5:51 pm 
Smokin em up

Ride: 5 Spd EA Wagon, 5 spd EF Fairmon

VIC, Australia

the xr6's have different springs out of the factory, there has to be a reason... perhaps the standard ones cant cop the lift, or they coil-bind..
Chuck in the cam, and make sure that the springs can cop the lift before you start the car..

If you're not driving a manual, you are only steering...

Posted: Mon Apr 23, 2007 12:13 am 
Smokin em up

Ride: AU 6

VIC, Australia