Fordmods Logo

AU engine in XG questions 

 

Page 1 of 1 [ 4 posts ] 

 
 Post subject: AU engine in XG questions
Posted: Fri Feb 04, 2011 11:34 pm 
Fordmods Newbie
Offline

Age: 37

Posts: 18

Joined: 22nd Oct 2010

Location: bris
QLD, Australia

Hi, i know theres numerous threads in general around AU conversion in e series cars and have read through most of them. Im picking up an AU engine to swap out my tired original e series engine thats in it. Car is an auto and ill be keeping it that way. The engine im picking up also includes ecu, engine loom, sensors and accessories. Most things i can work out from the other threads and having the engine in front of me, few questions i have so far regard the electronics. Will no doubt have more once i get the engine down and a better look how everything connects up.

I would prefer, even if it takes a little long to do, use the AU ecu. From what i understand this means converting to the coil packs on the AU engine, which also means using the AU wiring loom.

- Is this the only way to use the au ecu or can i swap back to the dizzy?
- If it is the only way, and i need to use the AU engine loom, are there any adapter kits that convert from the square plug to the 2 round(?) plugs that are on the XG, or can i wire it up myself using the existing loom?
- To keep the serpentine belt setup, do i run the xg accessories or leave the au gear on?
- What other electrical issues (or any other major really) am i likely to run into? I guess ones that are more to do with the XG specifically and i might not have read about

Cheers
Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: AU engine in XG questions
Posted: Sat Feb 05, 2011 11:12 am 
Technical Contributor
Offline
User avatar

Age: 38

Posts: 4093

Joined: 20th Mar 2005

Gallery: 2 images

Ride: 2.0 Turbo VW

Power: 142 rwkw

Location: Seaford State:
VIC, Australia

Throw the engine right in.
Retain ALL the accessories that came on the XG.

If you can, Get the bell housing for the AU engine as they're slightly different to the E-series type.
alternatively you can use your existing bell housing and loose 2 bolt holes.


Use Your existing thermostat housing.

Install the Dissy.

you WILL have to modify the sump as the Sway bar will hit it.

ford-4l-and-6-cylinder-f1/au-sump-mod-for-e-series-t79648.html

 

_________________

Carefree, we may not be number one, but we're up there.

Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: AU engine in XG questions
Posted: Sat Feb 05, 2011 11:42 am 
Fordmods Newbie
Offline

Age: 37

Posts: 18

Joined: 22nd Oct 2010

Location: bris
QLD, Australia

If i use the dizzy can i still use the au ecu tho?
Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: AU engine in XG questions
Posted: Sat Feb 05, 2011 12:20 pm 
Technical Contributor
Offline
User avatar

Age: 38

Posts: 4093

Joined: 20th Mar 2005

Gallery: 2 images

Ride: 2.0 Turbo VW

Power: 142 rwkw

Location: Seaford State:
VIC, Australia

no

 

_________________

Carefree, we may not be number one, but we're up there.

Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:
Sort by  
 Page 1 of 1  [ 4 posts ] 

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 21 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

 

 

It is currently Sat Dec 16, 2017 5:14 am All times are UTC + 11 hours

 

 

(c)2014 Total Web Solutions Australia - Australian Web Hosting and Domain Names