Fordmods Logo

au engine is in 

 

Page 1 of 1 [ 14 posts ] 

 
 Post subject: au engine is in
Posted: Mon Aug 07, 2006 6:36 pm 
Stock as a Rock
Offline

Age: 39

Posts: 175

Joined: 6th Jun 2005

Ride: el falcon

Location: Brisbane
QLD, Australia

i finally got the au engine into my el, but the bellhousing doesnt match up. two questions should i have had to change the housing and secondly does this mean that the gearbox that is in the car at the moment is from an eb or ed? because i could never get it into first gear manually so i had a suspicion that it may have been an earlier gearbox. thanks for any help you can give me
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Mon Aug 07, 2006 9:35 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline

Age: 36

Posts: 9453

Joined: 9th Nov 2004

Gallery: 4 images

Ride: Fordrunner 5.0 Turbo

Location: Wollongong
NSW, Australia

Looks like you either have an XE-EA 3 speed box or your shifter is busted from a previous accident.
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Mon Aug 07, 2006 9:40 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 31

Posts: 497

Joined: 5th Nov 2004

Gallery: 11 images

Ride: 1989 300ZX Twin turbo Z32

Location: Bardon, Brisbane
QLD, Australia

i thought that the bellhousing would still bolt up (although not all bolts would go in).

I just went and had a look at the rear of my au engine (i bought one for an eb conversion too - havent put it in yet). Anyway the bolts when compared to my eb auto trans seems to look like they would bolt up.

 

_________________

Sold my EB :(
Now got my 300zx :)

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Mon Aug 07, 2006 10:12 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 35

Posts: 1001

Joined: 5th Nov 2004

Gallery: 19 images

Ride: EL Fairmont Ghia

Power: 132 rwkw

Location: Brisbane
QLD, Australia

marty what model au did you get your engine out of? series 1/2/3 etc? cheers sam

 

_________________

175.7hp 15.5 @ 374,000km
Team I have two E-Series AND all my teeth.

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Mon Aug 07, 2006 10:28 pm 
Parts Gopher
Offline

Age: 70

Posts: 55

Joined: 19th Mar 2005

Location: sydney
NSW, Australia

I have a AU 2 XR6 motor in my EL and the auto's bottom bell housing did not fit - the lower two bolts, so I had a AU auto fitted now all OK (actually motor & auto. Excellent!)
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Mon Aug 07, 2006 10:34 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 35

Posts: 1001

Joined: 5th Nov 2004

Gallery: 19 images

Ride: EL Fairmont Ghia

Power: 132 rwkw

Location: Brisbane
QLD, Australia

bugger, i had some ideas as to getting an au engine for the ef, they are $250 at abc wreckers cheaper than fixing my old rattler up. trouble is i am in the process of doing a manual install so i might have to give that a fricken miss. :(

how much different was it? I had to modify the pedal box from an EA manual to fit the ef, so if its not impossible then i may still do it.

 

_________________

175.7hp 15.5 @ 374,000km
Team I have two E-Series AND all my teeth.

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Mon Aug 07, 2006 11:20 pm 
Fordmods Newbie
Offline

Posts: 11

Joined: 7th Aug 2006

Power: 203 rwkw

Location: mELBOURNE
VIC, Australia

THe AU belhousing will bolt up to the EA-EL 4speed Autos no problem. If youre really woried about the bell hosung bolts not fitting using youre current belhousing just get an AU belhousing and it will look factory
In my EB im runing aN el T5 with an EA t5 belhousing with An AU engine, The main bolts line up, all that dont are the lower sump rail bolts these dont really matter..
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Mon Aug 07, 2006 11:22 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 32

Posts: 2833

Joined: 7th Nov 2004

Gallery: 4 images

Ride: Lincoln LS, MKII Escort, ED

Location: geelong
VIC, Australia

if it wont select any gear manually its just a dirty gear position selector, my old box wouldnt go into 3-2-1 at all

 

_________________

Because i can.

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Tue Aug 08, 2006 12:04 am 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 35

Posts: 1001

Joined: 5th Nov 2004

Gallery: 19 images

Ride: EL Fairmont Ghia

Power: 132 rwkw

Location: Brisbane
QLD, Australia

ok, well the plan so far is to use my ea t5 in the ef, and get an au engine when the ef one decides to s**t itself.
so can i use the ea T5 bellhousing??

 

_________________

175.7hp 15.5 @ 374,000km
Team I have two E-Series AND all my teeth.

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Tue Aug 08, 2006 7:39 am 
Parts Gopher
Offline

Posts: 77

Joined: 2nd Mar 2006

Location: Wollongong
NSW, Australia

samftr wrote:

so can i use the ea T5 bellhousing??



Yes


cheers Mic
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Tue Aug 08, 2006 12:01 pm 
Technical Contributor
Offline
User avatar

Age: 32

Posts: 3097

Joined: 5th Nov 2004

Gallery: 29 images

Ride: VU SS

Location: Ivanhoe
NSW, Australia

Yeah, I'm just using the EB bellhousing...
although if anyone knows where to find an AU bellhousing to suit a T5 let me know.

 

_________________

EF Fairmont now Sold!
Guides: Polishing|Modifications |Manual Conversion

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Tue Aug 08, 2006 12:30 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 31

Posts: 497

Joined: 5th Nov 2004

Gallery: 11 images

Ride: 1989 300ZX Twin turbo Z32

Location: Bardon, Brisbane
QLD, Australia

so is it dangerous not to use an au bellhousing?

 

_________________

Sold my EB :(
Now got my 300zx :)

Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: its going good
Posted: Wed Aug 09, 2006 3:30 pm 
Stock as a Rock
Offline

Age: 39

Posts: 175

Joined: 6th Jun 2005

Ride: el falcon

Location: Brisbane
QLD, Australia

i had to go out and buy an el gearbox, and an au bellhousing. the gearbox that was in it had a part number of 87da7000ce, which i think is from an xf. it amazes me how they got it all to go together when i bought it i may have to change the tail shaft aswell as it might be too long. the au engine i got was from a series 2 au, hopefully it will be running by friday finally :D
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Wed Aug 09, 2006 6:08 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 35

Posts: 1001

Joined: 5th Nov 2004

Gallery: 19 images

Ride: EL Fairmont Ghia

Power: 132 rwkw

Location: Brisbane
QLD, Australia

oh well then when i stick the ea t5 in my car ill take some pics of the auto/ manual stuff. there will most likely be an au engine go in to it at a later date

 

_________________

175.7hp 15.5 @ 374,000km
Team I have two E-Series AND all my teeth.

Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:
Sort by  
 Page 1 of 1  [ 14 posts ] 

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Google [Bot] and 19 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

 

 

It is currently Wed Dec 13, 2017 9:10 am All times are UTC + 11 hours

 

 

(c)2014 Total Web Solutions Australia - Australian Web Hosting and Domain Names