Fordmods Logo

au head on ef? block 

 

Page 1 of 1 [ 13 posts ] 

 
 Post subject: au head on ef? block
Posted: Sat May 27, 2006 6:13 pm 
Stock as a Rock
Offline

Age: 39

Posts: 175

Joined: 6th Jun 2005

Ride: el falcon

Location: Brisbane
QLD, Australia

i just finished getting the head off my falcon (major pain in the a**e) i went out and bought an au series 2 head complete with valves cam etc. my question is: there is a plug on the rear of the au head but the head that i took off didnt have it, what is this plug for? im also puzzled by the fact that my block has no number that is visible i.e number isnt where it should be. the haed that was on it had 94 AB printed on the front which to me says its from an ef is this true? dying without my car have been driving around in girlfriends car and its too slow, so im kinda in a hurry to get it all back together. any help is greatly appreciated thank you
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Sat May 27, 2006 6:25 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Posts: 3115

Joined: 20th Dec 2004

Ride: Falcon

Location: Adelaide
SA, Australia

AU head will go on fine. Just use the rocker gear and cam that came with it.

94AB is an EF head (also fitted to late ED's)

 

_________________

Stoke me a clipper, I'll be back for Christmas

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Sat May 27, 2006 6:30 pm 
Fordmods Junkie
Offline
User avatar

Age: 38

Posts: 1000491

Joined: 6th Nov 2004

Gallery: 2 images

Ride: AUXR6 HP With Ducati SupA Bike!

Location: Perth
WA, Australia

that plug is for the knock sensor iirc

your car not equiped with 1 so no need to worry about it

do what stockstandard said and it be sweet as!

 

_________________

RIP SCOTT

Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: au head on ef? block
Posted: Sat May 27, 2006 7:41 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Posts: 2644

Joined: 6th Nov 2004

Gallery: 8 images

Ride: 2007

Location: Mount Annan
NSW, Australia

martyel wrote:
i just finished getting the head off my falcon (major pain in the a**e) i went out and bought an au series 2 head complete with valves cam etc. my question is: there is a plug on the rear of the au head but the head that i took off didnt have it, what is this plug for? im also puzzled by the fact that my block has no number that is visible i.e number isnt where it should be. the haed that was on it had 94 AB printed on the front which to me says its from an ef is this true? dying without my car have been driving around in girlfriends car and its too slow, so im kinda in a hurry to get it all back together. any help is greatly appreciated thank you
That would be for the Coolant sensor. You can add one there and rewire yours from the thermostat position and get a much more reliable temp reading.

 

_________________

BF Fairmont Ghia Series II update.
GQ XR6T ghia patrol.

,======o00o
//__|__|_,\_____\,___
|_/--\'_|'__|_/--\_[]IIII[]
_( o ) )_____( o ) )=o=) )__

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Sat May 27, 2006 7:58 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 33

Posts: 2282

Joined: 14th Jan 2005

Gallery: 8 images

Ride: ED Fairmont Ghia & EF XR8

Location: Melbourne
VIC, Australia

dont you have to use au running gear, feul rail and injectors on earlier e-series when running an au head :S

 

_________________

Image

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Sat May 27, 2006 7:59 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Posts: 3115

Joined: 20th Dec 2004

Ride: Falcon

Location: Adelaide
SA, Australia

Quote:
That would be for the Coolant sensor. You can add one there and rewire yours from the thermostat position and get a much more reliable temp reading.

So running a sensor in the thermostat housing isnt reliable?

nannas_ed wrote:
dont you have to use au running gear, feul rail and injectors on earlier e-series when running an au head :S


no

 

_________________

Stoke me a clipper, I'll be back for Christmas

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Sat May 27, 2006 8:14 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Posts: 2644

Joined: 6th Nov 2004

Gallery: 8 images

Ride: 2007

Location: Mount Annan
NSW, Australia

stockstandard wrote:
Quote:
That would be for the Coolant sensor. You can add one there and rewire yours from the thermostat position and get a much more reliable temp reading.

So running a sensor in the thermostat housing isnt reliable?

I should have used the words "more accurate indication of temperature " rather than reliable.

 

_________________

BF Fairmont Ghia Series II update.
GQ XR6T ghia patrol.

,======o00o
//__|__|_,\_____\,___
|_/--\'_|'__|_/--\_[]IIII[]
_( o ) )_____( o ) )=o=) )__

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Sat May 27, 2006 8:58 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Posts: 3115

Joined: 20th Dec 2004

Ride: Falcon

Location: Adelaide
SA, Australia

twason wrote:
stockstandard wrote:
Quote:
That would be for the Coolant sensor. You can add one there and rewire yours from the thermostat position and get a much more reliable temp reading.

So running a sensor in the thermostat housing isnt reliable?

I should have used the words "more accurate indication of temperature " rather than reliable.


The sensore themselves are only accurate to within 15% of the actual temperature. Really dont think it matters where you put it.

 

_________________

Stoke me a clipper, I'll be back for Christmas

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Sat May 27, 2006 9:48 pm 
Parts Gopher
Offline

Posts: 56

Joined: 16th Sep 2005

Location: sydney
NSW, Australia

Think you will find that the sensor was placed on the head at the rear on the AU ,was so it can measure head temp as it is able to run the car with total fulid loss. It cant measure temp if its on the thermo housing.
Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: thank you
Posted: Sun May 28, 2006 1:10 pm 
Stock as a Rock
Offline

Age: 39

Posts: 175

Joined: 6th Jun 2005

Ride: el falcon

Location: Brisbane
QLD, Australia

cool thanks everyone for your input, hopefully i should have my car back on the road by next weekend :D
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Sun May 28, 2006 2:02 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 32

Posts: 2754

Joined: 14th Apr 2005

Ride: fairmont

Location: mackay
QLD, Australia

Ant frm alted was going to sell my a AU head for my ED but there wasnt much more benefit and its harder to get cams for, so i got the late ED early EF head on mine

 

_________________

Now i have a EF XR8 5spd.........mmmmmm 5L

Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: au head on ef? block
Posted: Sun May 28, 2006 5:49 pm 
Smokin em up
Offline

Age: 40

Posts: 284

Joined: 6th Nov 2004

Location: x
NSW, Australia

twason wrote:
martyel wrote:
i just finished getting the head off my falcon (major pain in the a**e) i went out and bought an au series 2 head complete with valves cam etc. my question is: there is a plug on the rear of the au head but the head that i took off didnt have it, what is this plug for? im also puzzled by the fact that my block has no number that is visible i.e number isnt where it should be. the haed that was on it had 94 AB printed on the front which to me says its from an ef is this true? dying without my car have been driving around in girlfriends car and its too slow, so im kinda in a hurry to get it all back together. any help is greatly appreciated thank you
That would be for the Coolant sensor. You can add one there and rewire yours from the thermostat position and get a much more reliable temp reading.


Correct coolant sensor. and AU heads have WR2A cast onnthe front
Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: what about the engine number
Posted: Tue May 30, 2006 8:49 pm 
Stock as a Rock
Offline

Age: 39

Posts: 175

Joined: 6th Jun 2005

Ride: el falcon

Location: Brisbane
QLD, Australia

i still dont understand why my engine would have no number on it? i am sending the car to my mechanics on the weekend to get fixed once and for all, because i broke the timing chain guide and have to take the engine out to do that i think :? is 200 dollars a fair price for the work involved :?
Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:
Sort by  
 Page 1 of 1  [ 13 posts ] 

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Google [Bot] and 25 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

 

 

It is currently Mon Dec 18, 2017 8:14 pm All times are UTC + 11 hours

 

 

(c)2014 Total Web Solutions Australia - Australian Web Hosting and Domain Names