Fordmods Logo

AU INTO EF Insurance worry. 

 

Page 1 of 2 [ 23 posts ] Go to page 1, 2  Next

 
 Post subject: AU INTO EF Insurance worry.
Posted: Sun Sep 24, 2006 10:58 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 31

Posts: 557

Joined: 20th Aug 2006

Gallery: 4 images

Ride: EF

Location: Keilor, Melbourne
VIC, Australia

Would insurance companies class puttin an AU motor into an EF a mod?

Being under 25 AAMI only allows the one mod, although I have many, those are easy to change if i smash it, but changin a motor might be hard b4 the towies arrive.

So yeah, I know you'd need an engineers cert to do it(only if you wanna go buy the book), but yeah, would insurance companies screw me over it?

 

_________________

<img src="http://i29.photobucket.com/albums/c260/demoniquekryes/Bothcars1.jpg" alt="Photobucket - Video and Image Hosting"><br><br>

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Sun Sep 24, 2006 11:47 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Posts: 1079

Joined: 18th Sep 2005

Ride: AUII Fairmont

Location: Belmont
WA, Australia

Your best bet is to ask the insurance company - different companies will have different views on it.

Edit - and if you don't want them to add the enquiry to your file then pretend you're a potential new customer asking for a quote.
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Mon Sep 25, 2006 11:26 am 
Smokin em up
Offline
User avatar

Age: 29

Posts: 246

Joined: 6th Jun 2006

Gallery: 4 images

Ride: EA svo turbo, ef Fairmontl

Location: melbourne
VIC, Australia

couldnt you dress the au motor up as the stock one?

 

_________________

R.I.P George.D.Gogas!!!
4.5.85 - 27.2.05

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Mon Sep 25, 2006 11:49 am 
Fordmods Junkie
Offline
User avatar

Age: 38

Posts: 5051

Joined: 5th Nov 2004

Ride: Kia Rio - 1.4L Auto

Power: 238 rwkw

Location: Westside
VIC, Australia

It depends what you would be wanting to do with it.

If you want it just for the bottom end, go find a hybrid engine. Its an AU motor with an EL tin sump and EL pistons and rods that uses a dizzy. You could swap the pistons and rods over to the AU equivalents, then you'd essentially have an AU engine with a dizzy. And it would fit straight in (no K-Frame mods), and no one will know the difference.

If you want to fit the AU ECU to run it, then things might be a little more tricky.
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Mon Sep 25, 2006 11:54 am 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Posts: 2644

Joined: 6th Nov 2004

Gallery: 8 images

Ride: 2007

Location: Mount Annan
NSW, Australia

Is the sump modified or the K frame>?
If its just the sump then not an issue as the official power outputs and displacements are the same as an EF. If it is the KFrame then put a factory sump guard over it so you can't see it if you are concerned..

 

_________________

BF Fairmont Ghia Series II update.
GQ XR6T ghia patrol.

,======o00o
//__|__|_,\_____\,___
|_/--\'_|'__|_/--\_[]IIII[]
_( o ) )_____( o ) )=o=) )__

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Mon Sep 25, 2006 11:59 am 
Fordmods Junkie
Offline
User avatar

Age: 38

Posts: 5051

Joined: 5th Nov 2004

Ride: Kia Rio - 1.4L Auto

Power: 238 rwkw

Location: Westside
VIC, Australia

Both sump and k-frame need to be modified.

A section of the k-frame has to be cut out to allow the sump to fit, as well has grind some of the strength ridges off the front of the sump.
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Mon Sep 25, 2006 12:04 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Posts: 3115

Joined: 20th Dec 2004

Ride: Falcon

Location: Adelaide
SA, Australia

arm79 wrote:
Both sump and k-frame need to be modified.

A section of the k-frame has to be cut out to allow the sump to fit, as well has grind some of the strength ridges off the front of the sump.


It can be installed with sump mods only.

 

_________________

Stoke me a clipper, I'll be back for Christmas

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Mon Sep 25, 2006 2:20 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 38

Posts: 1518

Joined: 6th Nov 2004

Gallery: 14 images

Ride: BA XR6 Turbo

Power: 175 rwkw

Location: The Shire, Sydney
NSW, Australia

More importantly why do you want to put an AU motor into an EF ?
There's bugger all difference in power output for all the stuffing around.
If you did do it though as t66_bt1 said just dress it like an EF and no one would ever know - retain your existing EF rocker cover and intake and they wouldn't look twice.

 

_________________

ImageImage

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Mon Sep 25, 2006 9:09 pm 
Stock as a Rock
Offline

Age: 38

Posts: 102

Joined: 16th Aug 2006

Gallery: 3 images

Location: Adelaide
SA, Australia

I put a EL Tickford 6 into my EF and even that was classed as a mod by most insurance companies I spoke too. If the mod is done to increase the vehicles performance then the insurance companies normally dont like it

 

_________________

95 EF Gli, EF XR6 Motor & Comp, Lowered 2", Koni & Kmac Suspension setup, Gold ROH ZS SP Wheels, trip comp, Pioneer Head Unit, speakers & 12 stacker, 2 1/2" Exhaust, Hi Flow Cat Convertor, Extractors.

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Mon Sep 25, 2006 11:36 pm 
Fordmods Junkie
Offline
User avatar

Age: 38

Posts: 5051

Joined: 5th Nov 2004

Ride: Kia Rio - 1.4L Auto

Power: 238 rwkw

Location: Westside
VIC, Australia

stockstandard wrote:
arm79 wrote:
Both sump and k-frame need to be modified.

A section of the k-frame has to be cut out to allow the sump to fit, as well has grind some of the strength ridges off the front of the sump.


It can be installed with sump mods only.


I thought only sump mods were required for EA to ED. EF/EL needed k-frame mods.

I have the doco here somewhere, just cant find it right now.
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Mon Sep 25, 2006 11:38 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Posts: 3115

Joined: 20th Dec 2004

Ride: Falcon

Location: Adelaide
SA, Australia

Thats true for the normal "grind the ribs" sump mods. If you cut and plate the front of the sump it fits without k-frame modification

Image

 

_________________

Stoke me a clipper, I'll be back for Christmas

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Tue Sep 26, 2006 12:56 am 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 33

Posts: 832

Joined: 5th Nov 2004

Gallery: 7 images

Ride: EL Fairmont

Location: Brisbane
QLD, Australia

thats awesome. i want one for the EL now

 

_________________

too many rabbits in china

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Tue Sep 26, 2006 10:30 am 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 31

Posts: 4323

Joined: 17th Jan 2006

Ride: Soarer 2.5GT-T

Location: Cranbourne
VIC, Australia

.... the only reason you would bother with this is to turbo your car? which is gonna f**k your insurance anyway...
If you cut into the k-frame your car will be technically uninsurable aas you've altered the structural rigidity of the car - unless you get it engineered.
apart from that, if you use an ef rocker cover there's no way they will pick the engine swap.
just get insured with just cars, they pay out no worries for anything lol.
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Tue Sep 26, 2006 10:38 am 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 33

Posts: 832

Joined: 5th Nov 2004

Gallery: 7 images

Ride: EL Fairmont

Location: Brisbane
QLD, Australia

see above pic from stockstandard. the K frame was not touched.

 

_________________

too many rabbits in china

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Tue Sep 26, 2006 10:40 am 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 33

Posts: 832

Joined: 5th Nov 2004

Gallery: 7 images

Ride: EL Fairmont

Location: Brisbane
QLD, Australia

oh and when wreckers sell these things for 600 bucks, it works roughly the same as getting the head done (assuming your head needs a bit of work done too)

 

_________________

too many rabbits in china

Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:
Sort by  
 Page 1 of 2  [ 23 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2  Next

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 14 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

 

 

It is currently Sun Dec 17, 2017 2:03 am All times are UTC + 11 hours

 

 

(c)2014 Total Web Solutions Australia - Australian Web Hosting and Domain Names