Fordmods Logo

AU motor in ED with ED intake manifold? 

 

Page 1 of 1 [ 6 posts ] 

 
 Post subject: AU motor in ED with ED intake manifold?
Posted: Mon Oct 26, 2009 1:30 am 
Stock as a Rock
Offline
User avatar

Age: 26

Posts: 114

Joined: 21st Jun 2009

Gallery: 9 images

Ride: AU Fairlane

Location: Adelaide
SA, Australia

hey guys im thinkin of buying an au motor for the mont and was wondering if i could use the ED intake and not have to change the ecu 2 suit it but just get it re-tuned
im just looking for some of your opinions and advice

cheers
Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: AU motor in ED with ED intake manifold?
Posted: Mon Oct 26, 2009 7:14 am 
Getting Side Ways
Offline

Age: 34

Posts: 1166

Joined: 31st Mar 2005

Gallery: 2 images

Ride: ef falcon, el fairmont ghia

Location: Christchurch
New Zealand

Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: AU motor in ED with ED intake manifold?
Posted: Mon Oct 26, 2009 9:19 am 
Getting Side Ways
Offline

Posts: 5582

Joined: 20th May 2005

Gallery: 11 images

Ride: EB1 Fairmont Ghia T5 Wagon

Location: Seven Hills, Sydney
NSW, Australia

Hi.

The AU engine will work fine with the ED log manifold and ECU.

However, you can't retune the ED ECU. You would need an EL ECU for the J3 chip to work with, and then you may as well add in the BBM.

What I would suggest, is to use the ED log manifold and ECU to get the AU engine in and running, and then do a BBM conversion later.

Cheers
BenJ

 

_________________

BenJ's EB T5 DOHC Ghia Wagon - Current Ride
BenJ's EB GL Sedan - Previous Ride
My respect and thanks go to - snap0964, Paulmac, SWC and MRE-50L

Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: AU motor in ED with ED intake manifold?
Posted: Mon Oct 26, 2009 10:01 am 
Getting Side Ways
Offline

Age: 33

Posts: 6746

Joined: 13th Mar 2006

Gallery: 10 images

Ride: NCII Fairlane

Location: Bathurst
NSW, Australia

BenJ wrote:
Hi.

The AU engine will work fine with the ED log manifold and ECU.

However, you can't retune the ED ECU. You would need an EL ECU for the J3 chip to work with, and then you may as well add in the BBM.

What I would suggest, is to use the ED log manifold and ECU to get the AU engine in and running, and then do a BBM conversion later.

Cheers
BenJ


I thought issues appeared with the A/C compressor hitting the manifold?

 

_________________

R.I.P Tobias my son.

Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: AU motor in ED with ED intake manifold?
Posted: Mon Oct 26, 2009 10:44 am 
Moderator
Offline

Posts: 14513

Joined: 7th Nov 2004

Ride: ford falcon au3 xr8

Location: a shit suburb in sydney
NSW, Australia

have a read of this...
documents.php?d=85
Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: AU motor in ED with ED intake manifold?
Posted: Mon Oct 26, 2009 3:39 pm 
Stock as a Rock
Offline
User avatar

Age: 26

Posts: 114

Joined: 21st Jun 2009

Gallery: 9 images

Ride: AU Fairlane

Location: Adelaide
SA, Australia

cheers for the replies that all helps a lot :)
Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:
Sort by  
 Page 1 of 1  [ 6 posts ] 

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 21 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

 

 

It is currently Sun Dec 17, 2017 2:11 am All times are UTC + 11 hours

 

 

(c)2014 Total Web Solutions Australia - Australian Web Hosting and Domain Names