Fordmods Logo

AU motor in EF 

 

Page 1 of 1 [ 9 posts ] 

 
 Post subject: AU motor in EF
Posted: Fri Nov 03, 2006 12:49 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 28

Posts: 2983

Joined: 15th Apr 2006

Gallery: 5 images

Ride: Falcon

Location: Aberfoyle Park
SA, Australia

Well i am starting to get noises from the EF motor. Not surprised as it has almost done 300'000kms and still got original head.

I want to put an AU motor and possibly trans in the bastard.

I remember seeing a thread but i looked a fair bit this morning and couldnt find it.

Instead of modding the EF K frame is it possible to just cut the front half of the sump off the AU motor and weld a plate to it so that it will fit?

Is it possible to run a AU trans?

I want to use the old loom as that would be the easy way to do it.

If i decide to go for VCT i would have to change the whole car loom?

 

_________________

HOLDENS go like rockets. They fall apart in stages!!!

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Fri Nov 03, 2006 12:50 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 28

Posts: 2983

Joined: 15th Apr 2006

Gallery: 5 images

Ride: Falcon

Location: Aberfoyle Park
SA, Australia

http://www.fordmods.com/forums/viewtopic.php?t=31883


DERRR its a sticky

 

_________________

HOLDENS go like rockets. They fall apart in stages!!!

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Fri Nov 03, 2006 1:10 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 28

Posts: 2983

Joined: 15th Apr 2006

Gallery: 5 images

Ride: Falcon

Location: Aberfoyle Park
SA, Australia

AU to EF/EL
The EF/EL got an upgraded k-frame which is even more confined than the EA-ED. Because of this, it is not possible to grind the AU sump to get it to fit. Instead, the front cross member of the k-frame can be modified to clear the sump or the sump can be modified to clear the k-frame. Once this is done, fit the sensors from the ef or el engine and install.

pic of a EF/EL k-frame modified for AU engine (taken by BOOSTEDEF). Sump has been cut vertically either side of the sump, the middle pushed forwards and then welded up.



Picture of a modifed AU sump in an EF/EL k-frame



So what sensors and can i keep original bolt on's such as alternator, a/c compressor and power steering

 

_________________

HOLDENS go like rockets. They fall apart in stages!!!

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Fri Nov 03, 2006 11:07 pm 
Stock as a Rock
Offline

Age: 33

Posts: 136

Joined: 9th Nov 2004

Ride: EA2 'Mont

Location: Warrnambool
VIC, Australia

all sensors, basically use ef manifolds, accessories etc should all bolt up no problems, you're lucky in that it's an ef so it's still coil pack but you may need to put your sequencer in the dizzy hole where the au just has an idle shaft to run the oil pump

sensors ie water temp etc, oil pressure switch etc
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Sat Nov 04, 2006 3:36 am 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Posts: 6168

Joined: 5th Nov 2004

AU engine u will need AU alternator! i was looking at doing this...but talking to my mechanic he said keep my EF one as i know its history! good to have a car in the family for f'king ages!

 

_________________

Image

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Sat Nov 04, 2006 6:43 am 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Posts: 2644

Joined: 6th Nov 2004

Gallery: 8 images

Ride: 2007

Location: Mount Annan
NSW, Australia

I don't think it will be easy to use the EF alternator on an AU, the mounting is totally different.

 

_________________

BF Fairmont Ghia Series II update.
GQ XR6T ghia patrol.

,======o00o
//__|__|_,\_____\,___
|_/--\'_|'__|_/--\_[]IIII[]
_( o ) )_____( o ) )=o=) )__

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Sat Nov 04, 2006 2:53 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 28

Posts: 2983

Joined: 15th Apr 2006

Gallery: 5 images

Ride: Falcon

Location: Aberfoyle Park
SA, Australia

twason wrote:
I don't think it will be easy to use the EF alternator on an AU, the mounting is totally different.


So i need an AU alternator? Will this simply plug into the existing loom, like i mean IIRC there is a plug on the side as well as the big red cable.

 

_________________

HOLDENS go like rockets. They fall apart in stages!!!

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Sat Nov 04, 2006 5:04 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Posts: 2644

Joined: 6th Nov 2004

Gallery: 8 images

Ride: 2007

Location: Mount Annan
NSW, Australia

Yes plug and play, bigger output as well. Just different mounting style.

 

_________________

BF Fairmont Ghia Series II update.
GQ XR6T ghia patrol.

,======o00o
//__|__|_,\_____\,___
|_/--\'_|'__|_/--\_[]IIII[]
_( o ) )_____( o ) )=o=) )__

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Sat Nov 04, 2006 5:08 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 28

Posts: 2983

Joined: 15th Apr 2006

Gallery: 5 images

Ride: Falcon

Location: Aberfoyle Park
SA, Australia

twason wrote:
Yes plug and play, bigger output as well. Just different mounting style.


AND I WAS LIKE 'f**k YEAH'

 

_________________

HOLDENS go like rockets. They fall apart in stages!!!

Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:
Sort by  
 Page 1 of 1  [ 9 posts ] 

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 17 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

 

 

It is currently Thu Dec 14, 2017 6:31 am All times are UTC + 11 hours

 

 

(c)2014 Total Web Solutions Australia - Australian Web Hosting and Domain Names