Fordmods Logo

au motor to ef 

 

Page 1 of 1 [ 13 posts ] 

 
 Post subject: au motor to ef
Posted: Wed Oct 25, 2006 7:09 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline

Age: 32

Posts: 740

Joined: 10th Nov 2004

Location: sale
VIC, Australia

hey guys am currently wanting to... no wait needing to uprgade my ef motor shes a fair bit tired i want to put an au motor in and just had a few questions first one should i spend the extra $ and buy a vct motor is there much difference? if so what and also electronics wise can you use the standard ef ecu or what would be the go in that department for both normal and vct motors any help would be great cheers
Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: au motor to ef
Posted: Wed Oct 25, 2006 8:02 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 31

Posts: 4946

Joined: 15th Nov 2004

Gallery: 2 images

Ride: Trik'd up EFII XR6

Location: Perth
WA, Australia

shoey50 wrote:
hey guys am currently wanting to... no wait needing to uprgade my ef motor shes a fair bit tired i want to put an au motor in and just had a few questions first one should i spend the extra $ and buy a vct motor is there much difference? if so what and also electronics wise can you use the standard ef ecu or what would be the go in that department for both normal and vct motors any help would be great cheers



cant remeebr off hand someone was tellin me for this conversion dont bother with the VCT...was some downside to it or upside by not but sorry dude cant remember what exactly it was

 

_________________

For Sale: 25 Farad Rockford Fosgate Competition Series Carbon Cap, more to come - pm me if interested

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Wed Oct 25, 2006 9:28 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 31

Posts: 662

Joined: 4th Sep 2005

Gallery: 6 images

Ride: EL XR6

Location: Riddells Creek
VIC, Australia

i know there is some cutting underneath to make way for the sump - but other doesnt the vct need a custom ecu to run it cause the ef computer wont do it?
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Wed Oct 25, 2006 9:35 pm 
Stock as a Rock
Offline

Age: 30

Posts: 148

Joined: 23rd Dec 2005

Ride: el falcon

Location: perth
WA, Australia

vct made more power but was more heavy or some s**t, i think they actualy may have gone slower than the normal xr6

 

_________________

only 2 things should come in a 2 litre, milk and juice
Image

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Wed Oct 25, 2006 9:38 pm 
Tyre Shredder
Offline

Age: 29

Posts: 354

Joined: 27th Jun 2006

Gallery: 4 images

Ride: EL Fairmont Ghiaaaaa!

Location: Wesside, Melbourne
VIC, Australia

http://www.trueblueford.com//shane_el.html

I also think there arent any different cams availabe for the VCT motor either.

 

_________________

Image
Whiteline'd

Last edited by Adam_Legs11 on Wed Oct 25, 2006 9:41 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Wed Oct 25, 2006 9:40 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Posts: 3115

Joined: 20th Dec 2004

Ride: Falcon

Location: Adelaide
SA, Australia

VCT was heavy because of the IRS, and yes it was slower in a straight line.

VCT should be able to be made to work with the EF ecu (use an rpm switch) but the tune wont be great.

VCT engines make more power in std form but its a lot easier to modify a non-vct engine.

There is a link in the FAQ that can give you lots of info on the sump/k-frame mods required to fit them.

 

_________________

Stoke me a clipper, I'll be back for Christmas

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Wed Oct 25, 2006 9:51 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 31

Posts: 662

Joined: 4th Sep 2005

Gallery: 6 images

Ride: EL XR6

Location: Riddells Creek
VIC, Australia

yeah thought it was to the k-frame - a fair bit of it needs to be cut out too - didnt another member do it and post up pics not sure - but have seen pics of it!
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Thu Oct 26, 2006 12:09 am 
Getting Side Ways
Offline

Age: 32

Posts: 740

Joined: 10th Nov 2004

Location: sale
VIC, Australia

yeah already know about the cutting thats no prob at all just wondering about the ecu side so by the sounds of it im better of with the normal au motor? the non vct one. can the non vct one be hooked up to the standard ef ecu what is involved wiring wise simply plug and play or what cheers guys
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Thu Oct 26, 2006 12:32 am 
Getting Side Ways
Offline

Age: 32

Posts: 1112

Joined: 18th Jan 2005

Location: MAFFRA
VIC, Australia

id imagine it would be plug and play with the ef manifold,just taking the advantages of the head/rockers and fresher engine,coz it would still be running all your injectors and stuff,unless theres gains in the manifold that you were after,but using all your accesories your ecu will still run them

 

_________________

97 el xr6,5 speed short shifter,sequential scoop,no arial,freshly resprayed,low on 17's,3 inch zorst,stainless hi flo cat,snort stage 3 stainless manifold,garrett t04e,front mount cooler,wolf 3d ecu,seimens 760cc injectors,walbro fuel pump

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Thu Oct 26, 2006 12:54 am 
Tyre Shredder
Offline
User avatar

Age: 32

Posts: 371

Joined: 28th Jan 2005

Ride: EF Fairmont

Location: Perth
WA, Australia

ecu is fine, your just changing the block and head, you use the same manifold and all the other bits and pieces go straight together...
you DONT need to cut the k-frame you can use the ef sump as long as u have the rear bearing case machined..

 

_________________

EF XR8 - 5speed, Extractors & Exhaust

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Thu Oct 26, 2006 7:24 am 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Posts: 2644

Joined: 6th Nov 2004

Gallery: 8 images

Ride: 2007

Location: Mount Annan
NSW, Australia

The_Jackal wrote:
ecu is fine, your just changing the block and head, you use the same manifold and all the other bits and pieces go straight together...
you DONT need to cut the k-frame you can use the ef sump as long as u have the rear bearing case machined..


Correct there are three optons.

1/. Cut the K-Frame.
2/. Cut and shut the sump, warranty voided perhaps.
3/. Swap the sump with the old one but machining is required but loose the extra rigidity the AU sump provides the crank.


The VCT is I believe hydraulic not electrical in the AU so the ECU should be fine.

 

_________________

BF Fairmont Ghia Series II update.
GQ XR6T ghia patrol.

,======o00o
//__|__|_,\_____\,___
|_/--\'_|'__|_/--\_[]IIII[]
_( o ) )_____( o ) )=o=) )__

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Thu Oct 26, 2006 8:49 am 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 37

Posts: 575

Joined: 5th Nov 2004

Ride: EF

Location: Wodonga
VIC, Australia

The VCT is hydraulically operated, but electronically controlled, similar to the bbm, which is vacuum operated, and electronically controlled.
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Thu Oct 26, 2006 11:28 am 
Tyre Shredder
Offline

Posts: 339

Joined: 19th Jul 2006

Location: Sydney
NSW, Australia

If you're serious about it, check this out. He did a full AU VCT conversion to an EL, I would imagine it would be a similar amount of work (a lot, if you want to do it right). Also, there's a link to his forum there, he's a good bloke, and will answer any questions you have.
Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:
Sort by  
 Page 1 of 1  [ 13 posts ] 

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 25 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

 

 

It is currently Tue Dec 12, 2017 3:57 pm All times are UTC + 11 hours

 

 

(c)2014 Total Web Solutions Australia - Australian Web Hosting and Domain Names