Fordmods Logo

AU VCT into EBII 

 

Page 4 of 10 [ 141 posts ] Go to page Previous  1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7 ... 10  Next

 
 Post subject: Re: AU VCT into EBII
Posted: Thu Apr 30, 2009 7:23 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Posts: 771

Joined: 2nd Oct 2008

Gallery: 6 images

Ride: 94 ED falcon

Location: Brisbane, 4173
QLD, Australia

XR-lane if you get it working that would be great and a write up with pic's would be sick.

Ive got a an AU BBM i want to bolt onto a EL hybrid engine.

Not sure what wiring to use as its going into ED.

Will be using an EL ecu but ive only got a std auto EL one, sounds like i need a J3 chip you speak of. Does the J3 change it from a auto to manual ecu?
Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: AU VCT into EBII
Posted: Thu Apr 30, 2009 7:25 pm 
Moderator
Offline

Posts: 14513

Joined: 7th Nov 2004

Ride: ford falcon au3 xr8

Location: a shit suburb in sydney
NSW, Australia

XR-Lane wrote:
TROYMAN wrote:
well i didnt say it cant be done but it is much easier to use the el manifold.
the sensor im refering to is the one under the fuel rail.. and there is no hole for the e series sensor under it..
so it will need to be drilled and tapped to fit the e series one.
also there is no fitting for the map sensor vacuum on the au manifold but you can use another vacuum port..
also the au tps(on the throttle has different voltage reference) and the isc will work but has a different plug..



Ok troy fair enough, but the tps and the isc are on the throttle body, you could just use the EF throttle body and not have any problems there. and where is the map sensor vacuum on the AU manifold?

Cheers Josh

it doesnt have one because the au has its map sensor in that t map sensor..
here is a pic from when linesix did his vct conversion. he drilled and tapped the manifold to use the e series sensor..
Attachment:
mainfold%20mods%20EBII_test1.JPG
mainfold%20mods%20EBII_test1.JPG [ 206.81 KiB | Viewed 47 times ]
Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: AU VCT into EBII
Posted: Thu Apr 30, 2009 7:49 pm 
Fordmods Junkie
Offline
User avatar

Age: 35

Posts: 3045

Joined: 26th Nov 2008

Ride: 1975 XB Falcon 500

Location: In the drivers seat
SA, Australia

That does not look like my BBM at all, hang on a sec Ill upload some pics

 

_________________

Image
http://www.facebook.com/Ford1975

Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: AU VCT into EBII
Posted: Thu Apr 30, 2009 8:06 pm 
Fordmods Junkie
Offline
User avatar

Age: 35

Posts: 3045

Joined: 26th Nov 2008

Ride: 1975 XB Falcon 500

Location: In the drivers seat
SA, Australia

Ok I removed my fuel rail, and got the sensor off.

Image

Image

As you can see the hole is there in this AU BBM it just needs a tap run through it. The vacuum line seems to be the same aswell.

What do you think Troy?

Josh.

 

_________________

Image
http://www.facebook.com/Ford1975

Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: AU VCT into EBII
Posted: Thu Apr 30, 2009 9:14 pm 
Moderator
Offline

Posts: 14513

Joined: 7th Nov 2004

Ride: ford falcon au3 xr8

Location: a shit suburb in sydney
NSW, Australia

hmm thats interesting???
maybe there is a difference in the series 1,2 or 3 sensors and manifolds?..
is yours a series 1.??
im thinking maybe the series 1 au manifolds might have been a carry over casting from el?
ill have a look at the au manifolds i have in the shed and see what sensors they have..
Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: AU VCT into EBII
Posted: Thu Apr 30, 2009 9:18 pm 
Fordmods Junkie
Offline
User avatar

Age: 35

Posts: 3045

Joined: 26th Nov 2008

Ride: 1975 XB Falcon 500

Location: In the drivers seat
SA, Australia

LOL, yeah I dont know what series it is now? But it is a VCT engine, where they all the same in series 1 2 and 3? Maybe I did get a series 1 VCT engine.

Cheers

Josh

 

_________________

Image
http://www.facebook.com/Ford1975

Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: AU VCT into EBII
Posted: Thu Apr 30, 2009 9:39 pm 
Moderator
Offline

Posts: 14513

Joined: 7th Nov 2004

Ride: ford falcon au3 xr8

Location: a shit suburb in sydney
NSW, Australia

there must be a difference..
i just checked the series3 manifold that came off my vct engine and its like the pic i posted up..
then i looked at the series 1 manifold from my first au conversion its got the sensor like in your pic..

so we learn something new every day..lol
Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: AU VCT into EBII
Posted: Thu Apr 30, 2009 9:42 pm 
Fordmods Junkie
Offline
User avatar

Age: 35

Posts: 3045

Joined: 26th Nov 2008

Ride: 1975 XB Falcon 500

Location: In the drivers seat
SA, Australia

TROYMAN wrote:
there must be a difference..
i just checked the series3 manifold that came off my vct engine and its like the pic i posted up..
then i looked at the series 1 manifold from my first au conversion its got the sensor like in your pic..

so we learn something new every day..lol



Ok then, so does that mean my VCT engine has less power or the same? not sure of the difference in them. besides what we just found out :lol:

Josh

 

_________________

Image
http://www.facebook.com/Ford1975

Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: AU VCT into EBII
Posted: Thu Apr 30, 2009 9:45 pm 
Moderator
Offline

Posts: 14513

Joined: 7th Nov 2004

Ride: ford falcon au3 xr8

Location: a shit suburb in sydney
NSW, Australia

its pretty much exactly the same power wise so it dont really matter...

the differences in the sensors might have something to do the changes in the ecu's in au?
Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: AU VCT into EBII
Posted: Thu Apr 30, 2009 9:46 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Posts: 771

Joined: 2nd Oct 2008

Gallery: 6 images

Ride: 94 ED falcon

Location: Brisbane, 4173
QLD, Australia

So guys with your intensive research involving a walk to the shed.

Ive got a an AU BBM i want to bolt onto a EL hybrid engine.

What wiring do i use? its going into ED. Ive got ED wiring and AU wiring

Will be using a std auto EL ecu, sounds like i need a J3 chip you speak of. Can i use the J3 chip so i can use the auto ecu i got for free in with the T5?
Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: AU VCT into EBII
Posted: Thu Apr 30, 2009 9:47 pm 
Fordmods Junkie
Offline
User avatar

Age: 35

Posts: 3045

Joined: 26th Nov 2008

Ride: 1975 XB Falcon 500

Location: In the drivers seat
SA, Australia

TROYMAN wrote:
its pretty much exactly the same power wise so it dont really matter...

the differences in the sensors might have something to do the changes in the ecu's in au?


Well I spose it dont matter really. After all Im using the EF ECU at the moment anyways :lol:

 

_________________

Image
http://www.facebook.com/Ford1975

Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: AU VCT into EBII
Posted: Thu Apr 30, 2009 9:49 pm 
Moderator
Offline

Posts: 14513

Joined: 7th Nov 2004

Ride: ford falcon au3 xr8

Location: a shit suburb in sydney
NSW, Australia

its easier to use your eb wiring...
im using an auto el ecu in mine at the moment with the resistor trick..
and its running fine...
Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: AU VCT into EBII
Posted: Thu Apr 30, 2009 9:51 pm 
Fordmods Junkie
Offline
User avatar

Age: 35

Posts: 3045

Joined: 26th Nov 2008

Ride: 1975 XB Falcon 500

Location: In the drivers seat
SA, Australia

itlookslikeaxr6 wrote:
So guys with your intensive research involving a walk to the shed.

Ive got a an AU BBM i want to bolt onto a EL hybrid engine.

What wiring do i use? its going into ED. Ive got ED wiring and AU wiring

Will be using a std auto EL ecu, sounds like i need a J3 chip you speak of. Can i use the J3 chip so i can use the auto ecu i got for free in with the T5?


If your AU BBM is a series one like mine is then it looks like you can but will need to put thread in the hole im my above pic with a tap.

J3 chip will turn your ECU into a manual one, as for the rest Ill leave that one to Troyman as i have not done the conversion

 

_________________

Image
http://www.facebook.com/Ford1975

Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: AU VCT into EBII
Posted: Thu Apr 30, 2009 9:57 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Posts: 771

Joined: 2nd Oct 2008

Gallery: 6 images

Ride: 94 ED falcon

Location: Brisbane, 4173
QLD, Australia

Mine as Part number

WR2A 9425 AC

One would expect there different if the BBM them selves are slightly different. You probably cat see yours but troyman could get his, but i dont expect him to go out to shed. In your own time.
Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: AU VCT into EBII
Posted: Thu Apr 30, 2009 10:01 pm 
Fordmods Junkie
Offline
User avatar

Age: 35

Posts: 3045

Joined: 26th Nov 2008

Ride: 1975 XB Falcon 500

Location: In the drivers seat
SA, Australia

itlookslikeaxr6 wrote:
Mine as Part number

WR2A 9425 AC

One would expect there different if the BBM them selves are slightly different. You probably cat see yours but troyman could get his, but i dont expect him to go out to shed. In your own time.



Yeah mine is sitting on the bar, I can cross reference the number if you like? Where is that number stamped, on the top half?

Anyway while you wait have a look at this

http://www.tiperformance.com.au/index.html

Josh

 

_________________

Image
http://www.facebook.com/Ford1975

Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:
Sort by  
 Page 4 of 10  [ 141 posts ]  Go to page Previous  1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7 ... 10  Next

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 28 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

 

 

It is currently Mon Dec 18, 2017 10:09 pm All times are UTC + 11 hours

 

 

(c)2014 Total Web Solutions Australia - Australian Web Hosting and Domain Names