Fordmods Logo

Auto gearbox with aftermarket ECU 

 

Page 1 of 1 [ 7 posts ] 

 
 Post subject: Auto gearbox with aftermarket ECU
Posted: Wed Jan 12, 2005 4:53 pm 
Tyre Shredder
Offline

Age: 33

Posts: 398

Joined: 5th Nov 2004

Gallery: 3 images

Ride: EL Fairmont

Location: SYDNEY
NSW, Australia

Just wanted to know can you use an auto gearbox if I was to replace my ecu with am ems 8860?

The reason I ask is because every one on here who has an aftermarket ecu has a manual.
Ive been told by a few people that its a pain in the a*** and its better to go manual.

 

_________________

Fuk it, You only live once!!!

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Wed Jan 12, 2005 5:27 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 46

Posts: 1040

Joined: 5th Nov 2004

Gallery: 5 images

Ride: EA Fairmont Ghia

Location: Melbourne
VIC, Australia

You can get a sepertate trans ECU, I have one, it uses a few wires from the gearbox, and the TPS basically, i have a wiring map if you PM your email address will send the excel spreadsheet I have.

 

_________________

Full working BA Shifter now upgraded to BF Shifter.
BA headlight inserts in my EA headlights.

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Wed Jan 12, 2005 9:39 pm 
Fordmods Junkie
Offline
User avatar

Age: 38

Posts: 1000491

Joined: 6th Nov 2004

Gallery: 2 images

Ride: AUXR6 HP With Ducati SupA Bike!

Location: Perth
WA, Australia

thats fine but i am sure your could get the ems to work withthe facotry ecu
i know that SVO xr6 has the factory ecu controling the thermo fans so i cant see whay u cant get the factory ecu to change the box and allow the ems to handle trhe engine...

 

_________________

RIP SCOTT

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Thu Jan 13, 2005 3:17 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 37

Posts: 575

Joined: 5th Nov 2004

Ride: EF

Location: Wodonga
VIC, Australia

Disco Franks right, I run a Wolf 3d in my EF in conjunction with the standard ECU. The wolf controls the engine timing and ignition and the standard ECU runs the auto, thermos, dash and so on.
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Thu Jan 13, 2005 4:21 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline

Age: 36

Posts: 2215

Joined: 5th Nov 2004

Gallery: 17 images

Ride: Oettinger Golf GTI

Location: Sydney
NSW, Australia

The real questoin is do you NEED a aftermarket ECU as have you actually done any big mods that your standard ecu cant handle? they learn pretty damn well..
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Thu Jan 13, 2005 6:27 pm 
Tyre Shredder
Offline

Age: 33

Posts: 398

Joined: 5th Nov 2004

Gallery: 3 images

Ride: EL Fairmont

Location: SYDNEY
NSW, Australia

well......If you remember a while ago I was speeking to 6boost and well that engine is still getting put together.

So basicly just wanted to know what I was up for in the electrical department.

 

_________________

Fuk it, You only live once!!!

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Fri Jan 14, 2005 2:21 am 
Fordmods Junkie
Offline
User avatar

Age: 38

Posts: 1000491

Joined: 6th Nov 2004

Gallery: 2 images

Ride: AUXR6 HP With Ducati SupA Bike!

Location: Perth
WA, Australia

fuzion wrote:
The real questoin is do you NEED a aftermarket ECU as have you actually done any big mods that your standard ecu cant handle? they learn pretty damn well..
yes they may learn but hey after a zorts and intake and a mild cam you might as well go for a aftermarket ecu as then u can do anythign u want ie MASSIVE cam or headwork
from what i hear it is the head work that causes the ecus to have dramas

 

_________________

RIP SCOTT

Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:
Sort by  
 Page 1 of 1  [ 7 posts ] 

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Google [Bot] and 21 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

 

 

It is currently Wed Dec 13, 2017 5:28 am All times are UTC + 11 hours

 

 

(c)2014 Total Web Solutions Australia - Australian Web Hosting and Domain Names