Fordmods Logo

BA/BF Cams 

 

Page 2 of 2 [ 22 posts ] Go to page Previous  1, 2

 
 Post subject: Re: BA/BF Cams
Posted: Tue Mar 08, 2011 7:14 pm 
Stock as a Rock
Offline

Age: 25

Posts: 125

Joined: 15th Dec 2010

Ride: '07 BF XR6 MKII

Location: Melbourne
VIC, Australia

xcabbi wrote:
Trav199 wrote:
Like mentioned the VCT helps the tuner tune the cams. Although it does rob a few kws.



Exactly how does it rob a few kWs?

The idea behind VCT is to be able to constantly dial in the cam on the fly. The factory run conservative settings here for emissions but if you spend the time to do it right you can pick up power right through the rev range. After an exhaust, fiilter and other cheap mods, a tune and remap of your vct is the most cost effective mod you can do on an NA falcon.

With B and F series their VCT is truly variable, not a 2 stage switch like the AU VCT (which still came on pretty strong might I add).


Hey mate, I've got a BF and know that it has true Duel VCT. Heard that even though the BA's said Duel VCT on the rocker cover it wasn't proper?
From day one I've always wanted to know what VCT stands for and what it does exactly. Could you please clear this up? :). This may sound dumb lol, but is it like Fords equivalent of Honda's VTEC or Toyota's VVTI?

Cheers,
Jova.
Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: BA/BF Cams
Posted: Tue Mar 08, 2011 7:22 pm 
Oompa Loompa
Offline
User avatar

Age: 25

Posts: 22

Joined: 3rd Feb 2011

Gallery: 3 images

Ride: 05' BF XR6 Ute

Location: Yallourn Nth
VIC, Australia

Hey mate, just to clear things up for ya,

VCT = Variable Camshaft Timing

Pretty much VCT tunes the cams for revs you are pulling, from when your idleing all the way till you hit the limiter

Wikipedia link, should tell you what you want to know

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Variable_Cam_Timing

cheers
Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: BA/BF Cams
Posted: Tue Mar 08, 2011 8:02 pm 
Stock as a Rock
Offline

Age: 25

Posts: 125

Joined: 15th Dec 2010

Ride: '07 BF XR6 MKII

Location: Melbourne
VIC, Australia

flathead01 wrote:
Hey mate, just to clear things up for ya,

VCT = Variable Camshaft Timing

Pretty much VCT tunes the cams for revs you are pulling, from when your idleing all the way till you hit the limiter

Wikipedia link, should tell you what you want to know

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Variable_Cam_Timing

cheers


Hey thanks a lot man. Really helped :).
Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: BA/BF Cams
Posted: Sun Oct 16, 2011 9:28 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 33

Posts: 514

Joined: 26th Jul 2011

Gallery: 3 images

Ride: Ba XR6 mk2 n/a

Location: sydney N/Beaches
NSW, Australia

The boss 290 fpv engine uses crow camshafts. So what does that tell u!?
All u people mocking crow cams.. Maybe u should look in to the correct tuners before u jump ahead n choose tuners that don't specialize in a particular upgrade!!

 

_________________

BANNED USER

Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: BA/BF Cams
Posted: Sun Oct 16, 2011 9:43 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 33

Posts: 514

Joined: 26th Jul 2011

Gallery: 3 images

Ride: Ba XR6 mk2 n/a

Location: sydney N/Beaches
NSW, Australia

How much rwkw did u guys get out of ur cams?

 

_________________

BANNED USER

Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: BA/BF Cams
Posted: Sat Dec 01, 2012 2:49 pm 
Parts Gopher
Offline

Age: 44

Posts: 74

Joined: 6th Jun 2006

Location: Townsville
QLD, Australia

So how did your mate go with the install and running of the Atomic Stage 4 306551. Curious cos I ordered the Stage 3 306550 and got Stage 4 306551 instead. I though Stage 3 didn't need a tune and Stage 4 did and yet to find a decent tuner up in Townsville.
Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: BA/BF Cams
Posted: Sat Dec 01, 2012 3:31 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline

Posts: 6449

Joined: 11th Nov 2004

clevo400 wrote:
So how did your mate go with the install and running of the Atomic Stage 4 306551. Curious cos I ordered the Stage 3 306550 and got Stage 4 306551 instead. I though Stage 3 didn't need a tune and Stage 4 did and yet to find a decent tuner up in Townsville.


Good luck with that. If you don't own LS powered holden you are just s**t out of luck.


HDT in Mackay do a decent job. I friend of mine just had his VN group A tuned using a Tuner pro and calmaker. Aitkenvale dyno did the original tune with a Haltech, which would blacken plugs and discolour the rear bumper, pig to start, idled like a pig etc.
HDT switched back to a stock ECU and then used Tuner pro and calmaker to sort the tune.
it's a whole different animal now, starts first go every time, idles hot or cold, the bumper is clean and it made a bunch more mid range and a handful more at peak. It's a much nicer car to drive now.

 

_________________

PERMANENTLY BANNED

Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:
Sort by  
 Page 2 of 2  [ 22 posts ]  Go to page Previous  1, 2

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: GT_Wagon and 23 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

 

 

It is currently Sun Dec 17, 2017 11:49 am All times are UTC + 11 hours

 

 

(c)2014 Total Web Solutions Australia - Australian Web Hosting and Domain Names