Fordmods Logo

BA/BF Cams 

 

Page 1 of 2 [ 22 posts ] Go to page 1, 2  Next

 
 Post subject: BA/BF Cams
Posted: Thu Mar 03, 2011 9:26 pm 
Oompa Loompa
Offline
User avatar

Age: 25

Posts: 22

Joined: 3rd Feb 2011

Gallery: 3 images

Ride: 05' BF XR6 Ute

Location: Yallourn Nth
VIC, Australia

I've been looking around for a set of cams for my BF XR6 and come across the Camtech Cams range, just would like to has anyone used these before and do they perform well against similar cams?

I've been looking at their mid - high performance cams, street/race.
- CT323/324 841A, RPM- 1500-5500
- CT323/324 842B, RPM- 2200-6000

My car is a manual so there shouldn't be any issues with the gearbox

Thanks in advance
Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: BA/BF Cams
Posted: Sat Mar 05, 2011 7:28 am 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Posts: 2644

Joined: 6th Nov 2004

Gallery: 8 images

Ride: 2007

Location: Mount Annan
NSW, Australia

I believe the cheap option is to install a set of XR6T cams.

 

_________________

BF Fairmont Ghia Series II update.
GQ XR6T ghia patrol.

,======o00o
//__|__|_,\_____\,___
|_/--\'_|'__|_/--\_[]IIII[]
_( o ) )_____( o ) )=o=) )__

Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: BA/BF Cams
Posted: Sat Mar 05, 2011 9:27 am 
Oompa Loompa
Offline
User avatar

Age: 25

Posts: 22

Joined: 3rd Feb 2011

Gallery: 3 images

Ride: 05' BF XR6 Ute

Location: Yallourn Nth
VIC, Australia

Really??

I've never heard of that, but they'd be set up for turbo though, wouldn't they?
Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: BA/BF Cams
Posted: Sun Mar 06, 2011 1:44 am 
Stock as a Rock
Offline

Age: 25

Posts: 117

Joined: 17th Aug 2010

Ride: BA XT '02

Location: Darwin
NT, Australia

apparently, a lot of BA/BF people use Atomic cams. stage 2-3 . i havent really heard of camtech or whatever it is.. :s

 

_________________

Holden = Hope Our Luck Doesn't End Now

Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: BA/BF Cams
Posted: Sun Mar 06, 2011 4:02 am 
Stock as a Rock
Offline

Age: 25

Posts: 125

Joined: 15th Dec 2010

Ride: '07 BF XR6 MKII

Location: Melbourne
VIC, Australia

People say to get Crow cams but I've heard that they play up a lot and make the car difficult to tune. Also, I second what efun said, a lot of people suggest going with Atomic cams stage 2-3, they seem a lot friendlier :lol:. I haven't heard of Camtech either, personally I'd rather spend a bit extra and stick with known brands.
Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: BA/BF Cams
Posted: Sun Mar 06, 2011 10:58 am 
Oompa Loompa
Offline
User avatar

Age: 25

Posts: 22

Joined: 3rd Feb 2011

Gallery: 3 images

Ride: 05' BF XR6 Ute

Location: Yallourn Nth
VIC, Australia

yeah, i emailed Camtech the other day for a bit more info

heres a link if you want to check them out

http://www.camtechcams.com.au/ford_6cyl_ba.html
Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: BA/BF Cams
Posted: Sun Mar 06, 2011 6:48 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Posts: 708

Joined: 9th Nov 2004

Ride: Falcon

Location: Liverpool
NSW, Australia

instead of replacing the cams as some will give trouble get the tunner to work out the cam side of the tune definatly hidden power in getting them right.
Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: BA/BF Cams
Posted: Sun Mar 06, 2011 8:32 pm 
Oompa Loompa
Offline
User avatar

Age: 25

Posts: 22

Joined: 3rd Feb 2011

Gallery: 3 images

Ride: 05' BF XR6 Ute

Location: Yallourn Nth
VIC, Australia

i just had a thought earlier today, absolutely no idea if it would work

keep the stock cams, BUT take off the VCT gears and get a set of adjustable vernier gears??
Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: BA/BF Cams
Posted: Sun Mar 06, 2011 9:39 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Posts: 708

Joined: 9th Nov 2004

Ride: Falcon

Location: Liverpool
NSW, Australia

then your going backwards the only reason you want to lock up cam gears is when your chacing 800+ kw & you have custom cams made up that need to be dialed to suit.....
Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: BA/BF Cams
Posted: Mon Mar 07, 2011 10:20 am 
Stock as a Rock
Offline

Age: 25

Posts: 159

Joined: 7th Sep 2009

Gallery: 1 images

Ride: 07 BF XR6 Sedan

Location: Coppabella
QLD, Australia

Hey mate i have put 3 sets of cams thro my bf xr6.. I would steer clear of crow and go for either camtech or atomic.. I have had 2 sets of atomic cams in my car and they seem to be the best..

The trick with cams is having a tuner that knows how they work. I have had 2 different people tune my car with cams and one was able to the other made less power with bigger cams in my car. Went back to the other guy and made more power!

Like mentioned the VCT helps the tuner tune the cams. Altho it does rob a few kws.

I would reckomend stage 3-4 atomics..

Auto or manual??
Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: BA/BF Cams
Posted: Mon Mar 07, 2011 6:00 pm 
Oompa Loompa
Offline
User avatar

Age: 25

Posts: 22

Joined: 3rd Feb 2011

Gallery: 3 images

Ride: 05' BF XR6 Ute

Location: Yallourn Nth
VIC, Australia

hey trav, my car's a manual bf xr6 ute

i've seen the atomic cams on their website, but they don't seem to mention were abouts the powerband is in the rev range
you mentioned that your running them in your car, are you happy with them?

i've heard of alot people having crow cams in their cars, i've found theres alot of mixed opinions about them, whether they work well, or their a prick to get tuned right, and people just taking them back out again.

i'm not really concerned about idle quality or economy (i wouldn't be doing work on my car if i wanted good economy)
i just would like a cam thats pulls hard in the mid rev range
Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: BA/BF Cams
Posted: Mon Mar 07, 2011 7:39 pm 
Oompa Loompa
Offline
User avatar

Age: 25

Posts: 22

Joined: 3rd Feb 2011

Gallery: 3 images

Ride: 05' BF XR6 Ute

Location: Yallourn Nth
VIC, Australia

Camtech Cams sent me back an email the other day,

didn't really say that much, but they said idle quality and driveability depends what how the car gets tuned

the cams i've looked aren't exactly small

Cams are $880 (doesn't matter what grind you get), normally $990

thats about it
Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: BA/BF Cams
Posted: Mon Mar 07, 2011 8:29 pm 
Stock as a Rock
Offline

Age: 25

Posts: 159

Joined: 7th Sep 2009

Gallery: 1 images

Ride: 07 BF XR6 Sedan

Location: Coppabella
QLD, Australia

Yer mate very happy with my atomic cams.. I had crows in but they failed on me..they made good power but yer. What size cams camtech are you looking at? Lift @50?

My mate is get some stage 4 atomics installed this week. I'll report back on how he goes
Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: BA/BF Cams
Posted: Tue Mar 08, 2011 11:31 am 
Getting Side Ways
Offline

Age: 36

Posts: 9453

Joined: 9th Nov 2004

Gallery: 4 images

Ride: Fordrunner 5.0 Turbo

Location: Wollongong
NSW, Australia

Trav199 wrote:
Like mentioned the VCT helps the tuner tune the cams. Although it does rob a few kws.



Exactly how does it rob a few kWs?

The idea behind VCT is to be able to constantly dial in the cam on the fly. The factory run conservative settings here for emissions but if you spend the time to do it right you can pick up power right through the rev range. After an exhaust, fiilter and other cheap mods, a tune and remap of your vct is the most cost effective mod you can do on an NA falcon.

With B and F series their VCT is truly variable, not a 2 stage switch like the AU VCT (which still came on pretty strong might I add).
Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: BA/BF Cams
Posted: Tue Mar 08, 2011 5:43 pm 
Oompa Loompa
Offline
User avatar

Age: 25

Posts: 22

Joined: 3rd Feb 2011

Gallery: 3 images

Ride: 05' BF XR6 Ute

Location: Yallourn Nth
VIC, Australia

trav, for the cam specs

top of the thread, their the cams i'm looking at, and if you scroll down abit, i put in a link that takes you straight to cams for ba/bf falcons

CT323/324 841A
Good street performance with strong mid range. Also works well in mild turbo engines.
RPM RANGE 1500-5500

Duration
- advertised, inlet - 270˚ outlet - 270˚
- @.050", inlet - 216˚ outlet - 216˚
- valve lift, inlet - .502" outlet - .502"

AND

CT323/324 842B
Performance street use. Very strong-mid range, torque & throttle response. Designed to work equally as good in turbo applications
RPM RANGE 2200-6000

Duration
- advertised, inlet - 280˚ outlet - 280˚
- @.050", inlet - 227˚ outlet - 227˚
- valve lift, inlet - .502" outlet - .502"

just copy and paste off the website

hope this helps

at this point i'm leaning towards the 842B, its still the stock head on the car so it might limit it significantly
Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:
Sort by  
 Page 1 of 2  [ 22 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2  Next

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 17 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

 

 

It is currently Fri Dec 15, 2017 2:37 am All times are UTC + 11 hours

 

 

(c)2014 Total Web Solutions Australia - Australian Web Hosting and Domain Names