Fordmods Logo

BA/BF motor into later E-series. 

 

Page 2 of 17 [ 241 posts ] Go to page Previous  1, 2, 3, 4, 5 ... 17  Next

 
Posted: Fri Nov 03, 2006 4:31 pm 
Stock as a Rock
Offline

Age: 28

Posts: 176

Joined: 26th Oct 2006

Ride: EF 95' Fairmont

Location: Perth
WA, Australia

if that does work should be even easier :)
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Fri Nov 03, 2006 5:01 pm 
Fordmods Junkie
Offline
User avatar

Posts: 11739

Joined: 17th May 2005

Gallery: 11 images

Ride: EL Fairmont, VFR400 racer

Power: 144 rwkw

Location: Melbourne
VIC, Australia

Mark if those approximate prices are about there, give or take, that would be great. Cuts it down a lot.

Cheers. I will speak to the mechanic tomorrow. See what they think. If all goes well, then I'll do the conversion once I get the dosh together. If not....well I'll guess doing up the EL motor is my other option.

get back to you tomorrow.

phong =P~

EDIT: managed to find this on ebay...pretty cheap but not sure if thats what is required.

http://cgi.ebay.com.au/Wolf-3D-V4-ECU-E ... dZViewItem

 

_________________

phongus = Post whore 2006
EL XR6 motor, EL ECU + J3 chip, WADE 1673 Camshaft, 3" S/S intake, Pacy 4480, 2.5" Hi flow cat, 2.5" Lukey exhaust.
Max Power = 144.6 rwkw (03/05/2008)

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Fri Nov 03, 2006 5:31 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Posts: 3115

Joined: 20th Dec 2004

Ride: Falcon

Location: Adelaide
SA, Australia

EFFalcon wrote:
BA motors arnt coil pack, they've got Coil on plug, how ever people seem to be saying you could run normal leads to them anyway.

in theory an EF ecu may run it better then an AU one in that an EF uses batch injection so doesn't really need the cam angle sensor, where as the AU's run sequential so need the cam angle sensor.
then again, who knows if an EF or AU ECU would be upto fueling it.
fuel/ignition maps would be off, and you'd have no VCT.


Should also be able to get an MS2 to bank fire it with EDIS for ignition and then with a little custom code even get the VCT working.

 

_________________

Stoke me a clipper, I'll be back for Christmas

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Fri Nov 03, 2006 5:59 pm 
Fordmods Junkie
Offline
User avatar

Posts: 11739

Joined: 17th May 2005

Gallery: 11 images

Ride: EL Fairmont, VFR400 racer

Power: 144 rwkw

Location: Melbourne
VIC, Australia

stockstandard wrote:
EFFalcon wrote:
BA motors arnt coil pack, they've got Coil on plug, how ever people seem to be saying you could run normal leads to them anyway.

in theory an EF ecu may run it better then an AU one in that an EF uses batch injection so doesn't really need the cam angle sensor, where as the AU's run sequential so need the cam angle sensor.
then again, who knows if an EF or AU ECU would be upto fueling it.
fuel/ignition maps would be off, and you'd have no VCT.


Should also be able to get an MS2 to bank fire it with EDIS for ignition and then with a little custom code even get the VCT working.


VCT = Variable Cam Timing?

never knew it was all computer controlled :S....

 

_________________

phongus = Post whore 2006
EL XR6 motor, EL ECU + J3 chip, WADE 1673 Camshaft, 3" S/S intake, Pacy 4480, 2.5" Hi flow cat, 2.5" Lukey exhaust.
Max Power = 144.6 rwkw (03/05/2008)

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Fri Nov 03, 2006 6:27 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 32

Posts: 4146

Joined: 7th Dec 2004

Gallery: 6 images

Ride: E39 523i / EF Fairmont

Location: Brisbane
QLD, Australia

Modify the sump, get an aftermarket ECU, buy a bulge. There ya go son, lol.

 

_________________

E39 523i
EF Fairmont

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Fri Nov 03, 2006 7:57 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline

Age: 31

Posts: 3893

Joined: 15th Nov 2004

Gallery: 24 images

Ride: BF MKII V8 Fairmont Ghia

Location: Perth
WA, Australia

doubt its possible, but would it be at all viable to have a BA ecu controlling the motor/electrics and an EF ecu controlling the rest of the systems?

 

_________________

2007 Steel BF Ghia MKII V8 - 19" GTP's + Superlows

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Fri Nov 03, 2006 7:58 pm 
Fordmods Junkie
Offline
User avatar

Posts: 11739

Joined: 17th May 2005

Gallery: 11 images

Ride: EL Fairmont, VFR400 racer

Power: 144 rwkw

Location: Melbourne
VIC, Australia

Gaz wrote:
doubt its possible, but would it be at all viable to have a BA ecu controlling the motor/electrics and an EF ecu controlling the rest of the systems?


I was thinking the same thing. It would be hard though since the ECU's would need to be broken up into seperate components. might be just a tad more difficult. Better off buying an aftermarket ECU to control everything.

phong =P~

 

_________________

phongus = Post whore 2006
EL XR6 motor, EL ECU + J3 chip, WADE 1673 Camshaft, 3" S/S intake, Pacy 4480, 2.5" Hi flow cat, 2.5" Lukey exhaust.
Max Power = 144.6 rwkw (03/05/2008)

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Fri Nov 03, 2006 8:12 pm 
Oompa Loompa
Offline
User avatar

Age: 32

Posts: 42

Joined: 30th Apr 2006

Gallery: 8 images

Ride: AU1 XR8 Ute, EL Fairmont

Location: Broadford
VIC, Australia

why couldnt ya just use the BA ECU to run the engine if ya have got the whole wiring loom. why would ya have to get an aftermarket comp?

 

_________________

99 AU1 XR8 Ute, Manual /// 97 EL Fairmont, 5 speed manual, Super Lows, Tickford Head, Crow cam, Vernier Gear, Double valve springs, Balanced Bottom End, Hi tech Headers, Hi flow Cat, 2.5" cat back, muff and resi, K&N pod in Airbox, C/D/S rotors all round, EL GT Rims, 3.45 LSD Diff.

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Fri Nov 03, 2006 8:43 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline

Age: 30

Posts: 4609

Joined: 29th Jul 2005

Gallery: 10 images

Ride: BOXCAR

Location: Launceston
TAS, Australia

Nash_QCKSIX wrote:
why couldnt ya just use the BA ECU to run the engine if ya have got the whole wiring loom. why would ya have to get an aftermarket comp?


becuase the BA ECU won't work with out other inputs, such as smartshield (which is different to smart lock) the ICC, Instrument Cluster and loads of other s**t

 

_________________

^^^ What He Said

<a href="http://www.fordmods.com/forums/viewtopic.php?t=44952" target="_blank" class="postlink"> TAS Cruises</a>

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Fri Nov 03, 2006 11:56 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline

Age: 32

Posts: 740

Joined: 10th Nov 2004

Location: sale
VIC, Australia

isnt there something going around to bypass that stuff sure i remember something

mechanicaly it would be pretty easy its the electric stuff that scares the piss out of me i hate that s**t
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Sat Nov 04, 2006 12:25 am 
Technical Contributor
Offline
User avatar

Age: 32

Posts: 2517

Joined: 7th Nov 2004

Gallery: 4 images

Ride: LS3 VF

Location: Bunbury
WA, Australia

shoey50 wrote:
isnt there something going around to bypass that stuff sure i remember something

mechanicaly it would be pretty easy its the electric stuff that scares the piss out of me i hate that s**t


yes apparently FTG have a bypass unit around now to do that...
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Sat Nov 04, 2006 1:03 am 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Posts: 3115

Joined: 20th Dec 2004

Ride: Falcon

Location: Adelaide
SA, Australia

isnt the 'bypass' just an edit to disable the security features?

 

_________________

Stoke me a clipper, I'll be back for Christmas

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Sat Nov 04, 2006 1:35 am 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 34

Posts: 4307

Joined: 5th Nov 2004

Gallery: 9 images

Ride: EF Falcon XT-T

Location: Mornington Peninsula
VIC, Australia

yeah, i think the edit has enough ability to avoid the security crap.
BA ECU + EDIT would most likely be enough, although i havnt heard any confirmed reports.

using a BA ECU would make the whole conversion a lot more legal too.

 

_________________

FALCN6 - EF GLi Turbo, 20" Rims, Air Bag Suspension, Straight LPG, 225rwkw
DTHWGN - EA GL Wagon, LTD Interior, Satin Black, 5.0, Turbo
RACER - EF Futura , 5.0, 5 Speed
PROJECT - 83 Thunderbird, Lowered, 18" Billet Wheels
DAILY - BA Fairmont Ghia 5.4 3V

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Sat Nov 04, 2006 4:10 am 
Fordmods Junkie
Offline
User avatar

Posts: 11739

Joined: 17th May 2005

Gallery: 11 images

Ride: EL Fairmont, VFR400 racer

Power: 144 rwkw

Location: Melbourne
VIC, Australia

EFFalcon wrote:
yeah, i think the edit has enough ability to avoid the security crap.
BA ECU + EDIT would most likely be enough, although i havnt heard any confirmed reports.

using a BA ECU would make the whole conversion a lot more legal too.


Yeah something that I would prefer as well :S...

by the way...i just thought about another problem...insurance...thats gonna cost me an arm and a leg.

 

_________________

phongus = Post whore 2006
EL XR6 motor, EL ECU + J3 chip, WADE 1673 Camshaft, 3" S/S intake, Pacy 4480, 2.5" Hi flow cat, 2.5" Lukey exhaust.
Max Power = 144.6 rwkw (03/05/2008)

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Sat Nov 04, 2006 10:16 am 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 38

Posts: 724

Joined: 11th Nov 2005

Gallery: 1 images

Ride: BF Fairmont

Location: Melbourne
VIC, Australia

Do it phong :) Then show me how :P
Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:
Sort by  
 Page 2 of 17  [ 241 posts ]  Go to page Previous  1, 2, 3, 4, 5 ... 17  Next

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Facebook [Bot] and 23 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

 

 

It is currently Sat Dec 16, 2017 1:30 am All times are UTC + 11 hours

 

 

(c)2014 Total Web Solutions Australia - Australian Web Hosting and Domain Names