Fordmods Logo

BA Falcon, installing vacuum gauge 

 

Page 1 of 2 [ 17 posts ] Go to page 1, 2  Next

 
 Post subject: BA Falcon, installing vacuum gauge
Posted: Tue Feb 03, 2009 6:30 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline

Age: 28

Posts: 465

Joined: 25th Jan 2005

Gallery: 18 images

Ride: EL Falcon GLI

Location: Melbourne
VIC, Australia

Hello

i recently purchased a vacuum gauge for my BA falcon. i'm struggling to find a hose that i can connect the vacuum hose to. if anyone has any pics or detailed instructions, it would be most helpful!

thank you!!!

 

_________________

Buy my car :) cause i just bought a BA XR6 :)

Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: BA Falcon, installing vacuum gauge
Posted: Tue Feb 03, 2009 6:47 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 29

Posts: 1831

Joined: 3rd May 2007

Gallery: 8 images

Ride: AUII XR6 Uterus

Location: South Coast
NSW, Australia

* step one - buy vacum guage

* step two - install vacum guage hose included with or supplied seperately.... <ding ding ding>

* step three - install vacume guage

* step four - enjoy monitoring negative boost pretending it was reversed ! lol

 

_________________

Not to get technical, but according to chemistry alcohol is a solution.

Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: BA Falcon, installing vacuum gauge
Posted: Tue Feb 03, 2009 9:56 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline

Age: 26

Posts: 454

Joined: 31st Mar 2005

Gallery: 8 images

Ride: 05 XR6 Mk II Falcon Ute

Location: thornton
NSW, Australia

hahahha lol ;)

 

_________________

EL Futura 5 speed factory:PH47FL goneeeee :(
04 BA XR6 Mk II Sedan: XR67OY gonneee..
2010 250R ninja: gooneeee.
BF 2007 F6 typhoon:F6FOON gonnnee.
05 BA XR6 Mk II Ute: latest

Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: BA Falcon, installing vacuum gauge
Posted: Wed Feb 04, 2009 12:47 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline

Age: 28

Posts: 465

Joined: 25th Jan 2005

Gallery: 18 images

Ride: EL Falcon GLI

Location: Melbourne
VIC, Australia

lol good one guys! but seriously does anyone know where to find a good vacuum hose? perhaps we'll just forget what i'm installing for now!? :D

 

_________________

Buy my car :) cause i just bought a BA XR6 :)

Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: BA Falcon, installing vacuum gauge
Posted: Wed Feb 04, 2009 4:50 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 29

Posts: 1831

Joined: 3rd May 2007

Gallery: 8 images

Ride: AUII XR6 Uterus

Location: South Coast
NSW, Australia

lol sorry, had all the boosted boys laughin at me for the same thing hehe

mine came with a clear hose. not the best material but it does the job.

mayhaps you should go to your local auto or industrial outlet store n ask for some vacume hose of the desired diameter?

 

_________________

Not to get technical, but according to chemistry alcohol is a solution.

Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: BA Falcon, installing vacuum gauge
Posted: Wed Feb 04, 2009 6:13 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline

Age: 28

Posts: 465

Joined: 25th Jan 2005

Gallery: 18 images

Ride: EL Falcon GLI

Location: Melbourne
VIC, Australia

thats cool man,

mine came with a clear hose as well, i'm just struggling to find in the engine or thereabouts what to connect it to :cry:

 

_________________

Buy my car :) cause i just bought a BA XR6 :)

Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: BA Falcon, installing vacuum gauge
Posted: Wed Feb 04, 2009 6:21 pm 
Parts Gopher
Offline

Posts: 69

Joined: 24th Aug 2008

Location: Sydney
NSW, Australia

A 'T-piece' in the brake booster vacuum line will work.

There are better places though. Scout around the vacuum side of the throttle body.
Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: BA Falcon, installing vacuum gauge
Posted: Wed Feb 04, 2009 6:46 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline

Age: 28

Posts: 465

Joined: 25th Jan 2005

Gallery: 18 images

Ride: EL Falcon GLI

Location: Melbourne
VIC, Australia

thanks, i tried that line, but there wasnt enough vacuum in it to register anything, i had someone from autobarn look at it, and he thought that was a good place too, but unfortunately not...

 

_________________

Buy my car :) cause i just bought a BA XR6 :)

Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: BA Falcon, installing vacuum gauge
Posted: Wed Feb 04, 2009 6:50 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline

Age: 28

Posts: 2337

Joined: 25th Apr 2008

Ride: Boxcar Love

Location: Brisbane
QLD, Australia

Taking the vac from the brake booster line will not work. You need a small vac line straight from the manifold.

there is good vac available at the back of the BBM, i just checked my BF.

I have to ask though, why do you want a vac guage??

 

_________________

Commodore australia's favorite car??? What a load of s**t
Image

Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: BA Falcon, installing vacuum gauge
Posted: Wed Feb 04, 2009 6:51 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 29

Posts: 1831

Joined: 3rd May 2007

Gallery: 8 images

Ride: AUII XR6 Uterus

Location: South Coast
NSW, Australia

wow then it sounds like you have more problems than a guage... lol

if there wasn't enough vacum there then your brakes wouldn't work. try tee-ing into one of the accessory vacum lines (same diameter)

i have a bbm on my ea so i have an extra un-used port (no vsv) otherwise i'd probably weld one onto the manifold. i don't quite like tee-ing but thats just personal, no scientific background.

make sure the guage itself isn't rooted coz i've had this before.

 

_________________

Not to get technical, but according to chemistry alcohol is a solution.

Last edited by low_ryda on Wed Feb 04, 2009 6:52 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: BA Falcon, installing vacuum gauge
Posted: Wed Feb 04, 2009 6:52 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline

Age: 28

Posts: 465

Joined: 25th Jan 2005

Gallery: 18 images

Ride: EL Falcon GLI

Location: Melbourne
VIC, Australia

My Girlfriend bought it for me and has been asking that i install it, so yeh.

have you got any photos so i can see what i need to use? it would be extremely helpful!!!

 

_________________

Buy my car :) cause i just bought a BA XR6 :)

Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: BA Falcon, installing vacuum gauge
Posted: Wed Feb 04, 2009 7:08 pm 
Parts Gopher
Offline

Posts: 69

Joined: 24th Aug 2008

Location: Sydney
NSW, Australia

PIMP_LTD wrote:
Taking the vac from the brake booster line will not work. You need a small vac line straight from the manifold.


Look up Pascal's Principle ... http://hyperphysics.phy-astr.gsu.edu/hbase/pasc.html ... While this site is based in hydraulics, the principle applies equally to pneumatics.

And the vacuum for the booster ... comes from the inlet manifold. No vacuum pumps found on these engines. I know a person who has a V2 of a BA XR8 with a boost/vac gauge line running from the brake booster line. Not surprisingly to myself, it works, showing both boost and vacuum.

Look at the system properly and youll see that it will work.

low_ryda wrote:
if there wasn't enough vacum there then your brakes wouldn't work. try tee-ing into one of the accessory vacum lines (same diameter)


Brakes would work, but its a hard pedal without the 20-25inHg of vacuum from the inlet manifold.
Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: BA Falcon, installing vacuum gauge
Posted: Wed Feb 04, 2009 7:27 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline

Age: 28

Posts: 2337

Joined: 25th Apr 2008

Ride: Boxcar Love

Location: Brisbane
QLD, Australia

BFXR6T wrote:
PIMP_LTD wrote:
Taking the vac from the brake booster line will not work. You need a small vac line straight from the manifold.




And the vacuum for the booster ... comes from the inlet manifold. No vacuum pumps found on these engines. I know a person who has a V2 of a BA XR8 with a boost/vac gauge line running from the brake booster line. Not surprisingly to myself, it works, showing both boost and vacuum.

Look at the system properly and youll see that it will work.

Well dur, of course there IS NOT an air pump on them, name the last ford that did have one. I have a BF, i know these cars.

If you think that there is sufficient vaccum in a brake booster line, then good for you. I relise this comes from the manifold, do you think i'm retarded? You sir are an idiot.

Have you ever noticed that the brake booster line is a substantially bigger line than a normal vac hose, the ones required to run a gauge? Old mate even quoted he tried it there and it didnt register properly. Have you also noticed that cars factory equiped with a vac gauge have them connected into either the base of the carb on carb models, or on a small vac outlet on the inlet manifold on injected models? You dont think there is theory in that??

Do some research dude

 

_________________

Commodore australia's favorite car??? What a load of s**t
Image

Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: BA Falcon, installing vacuum gauge
Posted: Wed Feb 04, 2009 7:50 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 29

Posts: 1831

Joined: 3rd May 2007

Gallery: 8 images

Ride: AUII XR6 Uterus

Location: South Coast
NSW, Australia

sorry xr6t i forgot to add effectively,

c'mon i own a falcon.... think i've never needed a flat tow.... ha.......... lol i'd rather use the handbrake though without the sail up coz it will battle to lock up. (not judging lock up as stopping power just braking force applied)

 

_________________

Not to get technical, but according to chemistry alcohol is a solution.

Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: BA Falcon, installing vacuum gauge
Posted: Wed Feb 04, 2009 8:42 pm 
Parts Gopher
Offline

Posts: 69

Joined: 24th Aug 2008

Location: Sydney
NSW, Australia

Quote:
... If you think that there is sufficient vaccum in a brake booster line, then good for you. I relise this comes from the manifold, do you think i'm retarded? You sir are an idiot.
...
Do some research dude


I have a pump of a sort, having a turbo charged engine. I spoke of a vacuum pump, used to create a vacuum when the engine does not produce a vacuum, ie: a diesel engine. Id guess Ford has a few million of these engines about the place.

Look up Pascal's Principle. I gave you a link. Your brake circuits works on this principle.

You make a questionable comment for someone who claims not to be retarded.

What will the difference be between a vacuum reading from just behind a throttle body, a port in the manifold (small diameter as it has been said this is what should be used) and in the line to be brake booster?

Yes, the line to a booster is larger. The reason is so that you get all the vacuum back into the booster rapidly. If you used a small line, it may take seconds to draw the air that has been let in the booster during a brake application, out.

Low_Ryda: Ive seen a number of your posts, you sound on the ball. I wasnt having a dig at you.
Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:
Sort by  
 Page 1 of 2  [ 17 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2  Next

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: cvojkovic, Google [Bot] and 1 guest


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

 

 

It is currently Sat Nov 29, 2014 12:11 pm All times are UTC + 11 hours

 

 

(c)2014 Total Web Solutions Australia - Australian Web Hosting and Domain Names