Fordmods Logo

BA motor into a AU 

 

Page 4 of 6 [ 82 posts ] Go to page Previous  1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6  Next

 
Posted: Wed Nov 22, 2006 5:02 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 37

Posts: 575

Joined: 5th Nov 2004

Ride: EF

Location: Wodonga
VIC, Australia

Good work Darren. I've been thinking about putting a BA in an EF for a while now, just to shut up all the people that keep posting that it "cant be done".
Its good to see that there are other people out there with an open mind,

Keep up the good work
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Thu Nov 23, 2006 12:48 am 
Tyre Shredder
Offline

Age: 32

Posts: 353

Joined: 27th Nov 2005

Gallery: 9 images

Ride: AUII XR6 VCT

Location: Canning Vale
WA, Australia

You say you need to make a bracket for the AU accelerator cable...isnt the BA throttle-by-wire? BA butter-flys dont have cables.

 

_________________

www.aufalcon.com/dunkly

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Thu Nov 23, 2006 12:58 am 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 34

Posts: 4307

Joined: 5th Nov 2004

Gallery: 9 images

Ride: EF Falcon XT-T

Location: Mornington Peninsula
VIC, Australia

yes... but how can you control throttle by wire with an AU ECU.
yout put an AU throttle body on and wala, throttle cable :)

 

_________________

FALCN6 - EF GLi Turbo, 20" Rims, Air Bag Suspension, Straight LPG, 225rwkw
DTHWGN - EA GL Wagon, LTD Interior, Satin Black, 5.0, Turbo
RACER - EF Futura , 5.0, 5 Speed
PROJECT - 83 Thunderbird, Lowered, 18" Billet Wheels
DAILY - BA Fairmont Ghia 5.4 3V

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Sun Dec 03, 2006 5:00 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 48

Posts: 7029

Joined: 18th Apr 2005

Location: Hobart
TAS, Australia

Hows the conversion coming along. photos??

 

_________________

Mind f**k!!! it works on feeble minded ignorant sheeples... there's plenty of em on this site... some are very intelligent but by god they are so thick!!!

Pakrat wrote:
You can buy them seppertly

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Mon Dec 04, 2006 5:56 pm 
Tyre Shredder
Offline

Age: 55

Posts: 373

Joined: 9th Feb 2006

Ride: AU Wagon

Location: Newcastle
NSW, Australia

xr8 dismantler wrote:
i would suggest an edit for the AU ecu , at this stage we cannot get the engine to run smooth at low revs. (but we needed more time really!!)


i hope this help with anyone wanting to put one of these motors into a AU or earlier ford


Good work mate. Only question is, why not use BA PCM too?

First, it's probably rough at low revs because the cams need to be retarded and the AU ECU doesn't do this, even with an edit.

Secondly, I dunno what Vic laws are like, but the NSW nazis like to see engines and computers transplanted together - a small matter of compliance with something called the Clean Air Act 2000. Mods are also a lot more palatable to insurers if the RTA is happy.

Now if I could do a BF DIVCT & 6-speed transplant into the AU wagon with a zorst and edit, I'd probably spend a s**tload less than putting a blower in and have almost as good a sleeper :P (searches for flameproof suit).

 

_________________

AU1.5 Wagon, Raptor ProStreet kit, Pacemaker 4499's with 3" collector, 3" metal cat, 3" pipe, Pex BSO660 & BSO439, BA brakes, Sprintgas mixer LPG system, Airod variable-venturi mixer... stealth FTW Sniper tuned!

To be updated... soon!

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Tue Dec 05, 2006 10:51 am 
Getting Side Ways
Offline

Age: 36

Posts: 9453

Joined: 9th Nov 2004

Gallery: 4 images

Ride: Fordrunner 5.0 Turbo

Location: Wollongong
NSW, Australia

sly wrote:
xr8 dismantler wrote:
i would suggest an edit for the AU ecu , at this stage we cannot get the engine to run smooth at low revs. (but we needed more time really!!)


i hope this help with anyone wanting to put one of these motors into a AU or earlier ford



First, it's probably rough at low revs because the cams need to be retarded and the AU ECU doesn't do this, even with an edit.


In the BA both cam's are in the same position. I don't know if it advances or retards the cams with the revs cause in an ideal case you retard the exhaust cam and advance the inlet cam as the revs rise. This is how the BF VCT works IIRC.
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Tue Dec 05, 2006 9:42 pm 
Tyre Shredder
Offline

Age: 55

Posts: 373

Joined: 9th Feb 2006

Ride: AU Wagon

Location: Newcastle
NSW, Australia

xcabbi wrote:
In the BA both cam's are in the same position. I don't know if it advances or retards the cams with the revs cause in an ideal case you retard the exhaust cam and advance the inlet cam as the revs rise. This is how the BF VCT works IIRC.


Yes in the BF the inlet and exhaust timing are varied separately, which changes overlap as well as timing. Hence DIVCT - Dual Independent Variable Cam Timing.

In the BA (except for F6 Typhoon and the ute equivalent) the inlet and exhaust cams are moved together, so as the inlet is advanced, the exhaust is too (opposite to ideal) and the overlap never changes. The F6 engine was the testbed for DIVCT, which requires a s**t more computer grunt.

While the BF shows modest power increases over the BA, the real benefit is in the way power is delivered. Max torque is at 500rpm lower, and max power at 250 rpm higher, giving a 750rpm wider sweet spot and better off-idle response.

 

_________________

AU1.5 Wagon, Raptor ProStreet kit, Pacemaker 4499's with 3" collector, 3" metal cat, 3" pipe, Pex BSO660 & BSO439, BA brakes, Sprintgas mixer LPG system, Airod variable-venturi mixer... stealth FTW Sniper tuned!

To be updated... soon!

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Tue Dec 05, 2006 9:58 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline

Age: 34

Posts: 3406

Joined: 7th Feb 2005

Ride: AU2 Ute

Location: melbourne
VIC, Australia

Is the difference just in the computer?

Does the BA motor have the right hardware to do dual independant cam timing? ie if I bought a motec :P
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Tue Dec 05, 2006 10:13 pm 
Tyre Shredder
Offline

Age: 55

Posts: 373

Joined: 9th Feb 2006

Ride: AU Wagon

Location: Newcastle
NSW, Australia

Dansedgli wrote:
Is the difference just in the computer?

Does the BA motor have the right hardware to do dual independant cam timing? ie if I bought a motec :P


I'd give my left ball to know that myself. Maybe I should ring Jim Mock and ask him. Is a motec cheaper than a JMM Ultimate Sequential? :twisted:

 

_________________

AU1.5 Wagon, Raptor ProStreet kit, Pacemaker 4499's with 3" collector, 3" metal cat, 3" pipe, Pex BSO660 & BSO439, BA brakes, Sprintgas mixer LPG system, Airod variable-venturi mixer... stealth FTW Sniper tuned!

To be updated... soon!

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Wed Dec 06, 2006 8:18 am 
Getting Side Ways
Offline

Age: 34

Posts: 3406

Joined: 7th Feb 2005

Ride: AU2 Ute

Location: melbourne
VIC, Australia

I dont think the motec is cheaper than anything :(
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Wed Dec 06, 2006 11:54 am 
Getting Side Ways
Offline

Age: 36

Posts: 9453

Joined: 9th Nov 2004

Gallery: 4 images

Ride: Fordrunner 5.0 Turbo

Location: Wollongong
NSW, Australia

How well do you know your micro controllers? If you're keen you could build and program a small stand alone computer that only controls the VCT as a function of engine RPM, and maybe throttle position.
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Wed Dec 06, 2006 2:08 pm 
Stock as a Rock
Offline

Age: 28

Posts: 176

Joined: 26th Oct 2006

Ride: EF 95' Fairmont

Location: Perth
WA, Australia

i'd be interested in the moddified K-Frame.... cause a BA motor into e series = the best ford ever made :P
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Sun Apr 15, 2007 9:30 pm 
Tyre Shredder
Offline
User avatar

Age: 42

Posts: 330

Joined: 19th Dec 2006

Ride: 2008 FG Falcon XT

Location: Central Coast
NSW, Australia

Has anyone done the BA/F into AU conversion and actually got it on the road yet?

Darren, did you ever get time to snap a few shots of the conversion you did?

Cheers.

 

_________________

"Pardon me while I burst into flames..."
Image

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Mon Apr 16, 2007 12:28 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline

Age: 34

Posts: 3406

Joined: 7th Feb 2005

Ride: AU2 Ute

Location: melbourne
VIC, Australia

Not that I know of.

Its always good to be the first. Buy one and give it a shot. Its the easiest way to find out what is needed.
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Mon Apr 16, 2007 1:26 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 32

Posts: 624

Joined: 5th Jul 2005

Gallery: 6 images

Ride: Fairlane NC

Location: Melbourne. SE
VIC, Australia

well ive got an AU from darren in my NC and its got a cut K-frame. im yet to sign over the engine because of this. id be interested in finding out more about legal kframe stuff but the price seems to be the big set back

 

_________________

NC Fairlane Ghia. AU engine. Pacemaker 4499. 2.5" Redback Zorst, tints, red dash. 17in ba xr (e-series). Suzuki Across (suzi) Sexy in Black

Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:
Sort by  
 Page 4 of 6  [ 82 posts ]  Go to page Previous  1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6  Next

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 31 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

 

 

It is currently Sat Dec 16, 2017 6:33 pm All times are UTC + 11 hours

 

 

(c)2014 Total Web Solutions Australia - Australian Web Hosting and Domain Names