Fordmods Logo

BA stalling 

 

Page 1 of 1 [ 13 posts ] 

 
 Post subject: BA stalling
Posted: Wed Aug 16, 2006 9:28 pm 
Stock as a Rock
Offline

Age: 32

Posts: 192

Joined: 8th Nov 2004

Gallery: 5 images

Ride: 08 ranger xlt

Location: Perth
WA, Australia

today as i was driving my cars idling turned ta s**t. if it went below 2000rpm it would flutter n pant then stall.

when the car was parked it wouldnt start. i had ta pump the accelerator a bit to get her goin. and the idling was again very s**t.

i checked the air intake and that was clean, and i had plenty of fuel. so i wos thinkin it mite hav been either an electrical issue or a part issue.

anyhow i decided to persist with her and just had the car in park and help the go pedal to bout 2100rpm for a couple of minutes. then the idle started to carm itself down to the point that i could take my foot off the accelerator and it wos idling smoothly. hasnt missed a beat afta that.

im only guessing but it could be bad fuel? or sumthing s**t in there. is there anything i can pour into the fuel tank to give it a bit of a clean or sumthing? im always using bp ultimate when filling up.

 

_________________

IF ONLY MY GIRLFRIEND WAS AS DIRTY AS MY CAR

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Wed Aug 16, 2006 9:31 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 31

Posts: 4849

Joined: 19th Feb 2005

Gallery: 1 images

Ride: BA Falcon Suzy Across

Power: 178 rwkw

Location: melbourne
VIC, Australia

use some injector cleaner thru a tank, after about 100km's, give it a boot to redline to clean out the engine cobwebs.

 

_________________

178.3 rwkw
15.1@96 mph
Now with 3.9 shrooms

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Wed Aug 16, 2006 9:35 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline

Age: 30

Posts: 4609

Joined: 29th Jul 2005

Gallery: 10 images

Ride: BOXCAR

Location: Launceston
TAS, Australia

i'd be wanting to know what the problem is before booting anything to the redline

 

_________________

^^^ What He Said

<a href="http://www.fordmods.com/forums/viewtopic.php?t=44952" target="_blank" class="postlink"> TAS Cruises</a>

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Wed Aug 16, 2006 10:50 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 30

Posts: 3737

Joined: 22nd May 2006

Ride: BF F6 Tornado - #0077

Location: Bendigo
VIC, Australia

dads BA did that a few times. he just switched it off and on again. must of been something to do with the engine management not loading up right

 

_________________

** For Sale ** http://www.fordmods.com/ford-parts-for-sale-f17/assorted-e-series-parts-t124697.html

F6 Tornado 2006 Build

Is it about sex? The engine in my car? Or a cure for cancer?
No?

Then f**k off

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Thu Aug 17, 2006 1:03 am 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 27

Posts: 889

Joined: 23rd Aug 2005

Gallery: 1 images

Ride: 1984 XE Falcon

Location: South East Melb
VIC, Australia

fiftyone wrote:
dads BA did that a few times. he just switched it off and on again. must of been something to do with the engine management not loading up right


probably runs windows 95 lol

yeah injector cleaner is a good idea 100/km or so should do it and if that fails boot it till redline :twisted:
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Thu Aug 17, 2006 10:56 pm 
Technical Contributor
Offline
User avatar

Age: 32

Posts: 2517

Joined: 7th Nov 2004

Gallery: 4 images

Ride: LS3 VF

Location: Bunbury
WA, Australia

i've seen BA's and Territories with low km (like 20k's) start and run like a bag of s**t continually. Getting a proper carbon clean done fixes it. what happens is the back of the intake valves gets a build up of carbon, causing the valves to stick open a bit and this not enough compression...
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Thu Aug 17, 2006 11:00 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 31

Posts: 4849

Joined: 19th Feb 2005

Gallery: 1 images

Ride: BA Falcon Suzy Across

Power: 178 rwkw

Location: melbourne
VIC, Australia

how much does a proper carbon clean cost?

 

_________________

178.3 rwkw
15.1@96 mph
Now with 3.9 shrooms

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Thu Aug 17, 2006 11:17 pm 
Stock as a Rock
Offline

Age: 32

Posts: 192

Joined: 8th Nov 2004

Gallery: 5 images

Ride: 08 ranger xlt

Location: Perth
WA, Australia

yes how much

 

_________________

IF ONLY MY GIRLFRIEND WAS AS DIRTY AS MY CAR

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Fri Aug 18, 2006 2:17 am 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 48

Posts: 7029

Joined: 18th Apr 2005

Location: Hobart
TAS, Australia

get yourself some "Valvoline Fuel Injector Cleaner"

That'll clear all the crust behind the exhaust valves.

Last time I got a carbon clean it cost an extra $99.00 on top of a major service.

 

_________________

Mind f**k!!! it works on feeble minded ignorant sheeples... there's plenty of em on this site... some are very intelligent but by god they are so thick!!!

Pakrat wrote:
You can buy them seppertly

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Fri Aug 18, 2006 9:39 am 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 38

Posts: 1013

Joined: 12th Nov 2004

Gallery: 3 images

Ride: MY06 REX

Location: Perthoslavakia
WA, Australia

If it continues to do it, you probably have a bad throttle body. Its a pretty big problem on the turbo's - I had mine replaced under warranty for the same thing. It was only an intermittent problem though.

 

_________________

The Evil Strawberry

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Fri Aug 18, 2006 10:53 am 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 48

Posts: 7029

Joined: 18th Apr 2005

Location: Hobart
TAS, Australia

do the BA/BF use map sensor?

If so, that might be your problem. start tracing the problem by disconnecting sensors one at a time & note any erratic operation.

 

_________________

Mind f**k!!! it works on feeble minded ignorant sheeples... there's plenty of em on this site... some are very intelligent but by god they are so thick!!!

Pakrat wrote:
You can buy them seppertly

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Fri Aug 18, 2006 12:10 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 31

Posts: 4849

Joined: 19th Feb 2005

Gallery: 1 images

Ride: BA Falcon Suzy Across

Power: 178 rwkw

Location: melbourne
VIC, Australia

everything is just too electronic. I fear pulling something out from a sensor may cause an ECU module to s**t itself. :(

 

_________________

178.3 rwkw
15.1@96 mph
Now with 3.9 shrooms

Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: ba
Posted: Fri Aug 18, 2006 6:20 pm 
Smokin em up
Offline
User avatar

Age: 29

Posts: 246

Joined: 6th Jun 2006

Gallery: 4 images

Ride: EA svo turbo, ef Fairmontl

Location: melbourne
VIC, Australia

The old mans territory had a s**t idle if u let it idle for more than about a minute! ford said it just needed an ecu reflash and problme fixed!!! but after 3 reflashes over 4 months nothing was fixed so it could be the actual ecu itself or something andf not the software!!!

 

_________________

R.I.P George.D.Gogas!!!
4.5.85 - 27.2.05

Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:
Sort by  
 Page 1 of 1  [ 13 posts ] 

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 14 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

 

 

It is currently Tue Dec 12, 2017 6:22 am All times are UTC + 11 hours

 

 

(c)2014 Total Web Solutions Australia - Australian Web Hosting and Domain Names