Fordmods Logo

BBM Conversion Question(s) 

 

Page 1 of 1 [ 10 posts ] 

 
 Post subject: BBM Conversion Question(s)
Posted: Sun May 13, 2007 1:06 am 
Smokin em up
Offline
User avatar

Age: 30

Posts: 290

Joined: 10th May 2006

Ride: 5 Spd EA Wagon, 5 spd EF Fairmon

Location: Melbourne
VIC, Australia

I am in the process of converting my EA to an EL BBM setup.
I changed the loom from the EL one to the EA MPFI loom, now my questions are: -will the BBM work with my EA ISC??
-do the EA and EL ones work the same?
-will the EL ECU control the EA one happily??
Thanks
David

 

_________________

If you're not driving a manual, you are only steering...

Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: BBM Conversion Question(s)
Posted: Sun May 13, 2007 10:35 am 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 40

Posts: 1667

Joined: 23rd Dec 2004

Gallery: 1 images

Ride: Boosted ED XR6, EBII Mont Wgn

Power: 252 rwkw

Location: Mildura
VIC, Australia

DJ_Brown wrote:
I am in the process of converting my EA to an EL BBM setup.
I changed the loom from the EL one to the EA MPFI loom, now my questions are: -will the BBM work with my EA ISC??
-do the EA and EL ones work the same?
-will the EL ECU control the EA one happily??
Thanks
David


the best thing to do is use the EL ecu with the EL engine/ECU looms this way you will be able to run the BBM vacume controller the knock sensor and thermo's, for more info just do a seacch "BBM Conversion" lots of ppl on here have done it and all your questions can be answered in those threads.. i did mine using the info i found on this site.. good luck.. :wink:

 

_________________

Image
[SEXYR-6] ED XR6 T5 Turbo Build
[EBW-347] EB Wagon V8 Stroker Build
FordMods Member #1761

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Sun May 13, 2007 12:30 pm 
Moderator
Offline

Posts: 14513

Joined: 7th Nov 2004

Ride: ford falcon au3 xr8

Location: a shit suburb in sydney
NSW, Australia

hi
the ea isc will work ok on the ea and the el ecu ..
so that wont be a problem.

here is a link to my conversion..
you will find the info on the bbm conversion into ea ..
http://www.fordmods.com/forums/documents.php?doc=85
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Sun May 13, 2007 2:16 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline

Age: 38

Posts: 1319

Joined: 5th Nov 2004

Ride: 66 Coupe

Location: Perth
WA, Australia

Be aware that the EL ecu will not start in the EA due to the missing smartlock signal, you will need a smartlock override module to provide the ecu with the correct signal for it to work.
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Mon May 14, 2007 11:00 pm 
Smokin em up
Offline
User avatar

Posts: 266

Joined: 11th Dec 2004

Ride: AUIII XR8

Location: Melbourne
VIC, Australia

Hello, I have Smartlock Bypass Modules available if you need one.
Best Regards.
Muzza
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Mon May 14, 2007 11:19 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline

Age: 38

Posts: 1319

Joined: 5th Nov 2004

Ride: 66 Coupe

Location: Perth
WA, Australia

yeah so do I
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Tue May 15, 2007 1:12 am 
Commercial Sponsor
Offline

Posts: 350

Joined: 28th Apr 2007

Ride: Falcon

Location: Melbourne
VIC, Australia

hows this for the easy way

fit bbm

fit solenoid

goto jaycar get rpm switch kit

assemble kit

wire it all up

start playing

it all works fine on a ea ecu with the rpm switch!!!!
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Tue May 15, 2007 1:23 am 
Getting Side Ways
Offline

Age: 38

Posts: 1319

Joined: 5th Nov 2004

Ride: 66 Coupe

Location: Perth
WA, Australia

The EL ecu is a much better option though...
Hes obviously changing to BBM for performance reasons, so why not get the spark and fuel maps to suit?

We did some testing in an EA 5 speed with the std EA MPFI intake, swapping only the std EA manual ecu with an EL Auto ecu resulted in a 0.4 sec quicker 1/4 mile, with no other changes. Add a few degrees of timing and the BBM intake to this, and you will probably gain another 2 - 3 tenths
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Tue May 15, 2007 11:46 am 
Commercial Sponsor
Offline

Posts: 350

Joined: 28th Apr 2007

Ride: Falcon

Location: Melbourne
VIC, Australia

66 coupe wrote:
The EL ecu is a much better option though...
Hes obviously changing to BBM for performance reasons, so why not get the spark and fuel maps to suit?

We did some testing in an EA 5 speed with the std EA MPFI intake, swapping only the std EA manual ecu with an EL Auto ecu resulted in a 0.4 sec quicker 1/4 mile, with no other changes. Add a few degrees of timing and the BBM intake to this, and you will probably gain another 2 - 3 tenths


ok i dont have the 2 maps to compare but i have been there and done this in the nineties and with a dyno and a fuel preasure reg got the thing humming to 132rwkw (ea, 5spd, genies, ef bbm, tuning) but its not the best the then available ecus made it that much better!
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Wed May 16, 2007 10:02 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 46

Posts: 1040

Joined: 5th Nov 2004

Gallery: 5 images

Ride: EA Fairmont Ghia

Location: Melbourne
VIC, Australia

dynowog wrote:
hows this for the easy way

fit bbm

fit solenoid

goto jaycar get rpm switch kit

assemble kit

wire it all up

start playing

it all works fine on a ea ecu with the rpm switch!!!!


The EA maps cant handle the switching, it will run rich at the top end actaully lose power, I have dyno sheets to prove this is not a way to go.

 

_________________

Full working BA Shifter now upgraded to BF Shifter.
BA headlight inserts in my EA headlights.

Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:
Sort by  
 Page 1 of 1  [ 10 posts ] 

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Google Adsense [Bot] and 20 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

 

 

It is currently Tue Dec 12, 2017 8:20 am All times are UTC + 11 hours

 

 

(c)2014 Total Web Solutions Australia - Australian Web Hosting and Domain Names