Fordmods Logo

BBM for EA 

 

Page 1 of 1 [ 10 posts ] 

 
 Post subject: BBM for EA
Posted: Sun Feb 26, 2006 3:34 pm 
Oompa Loompa
Offline

Age: 29

Posts: 22

Joined: 17th Feb 2006

Ride: ea falcon s pack

Location: jurien bay
WA, Australia

i imagine this topic has come up alot but from all the threads ive seen i havnt been able to find any suitable answer, im curious about putting a broadband manifold onto my ea and an i just wondering if anyone who has done this to their ea can give me sum info on putting and el ecu into my car and mabye some other details about the conversion?

 

_________________

EA Falcon S, no current mods :'(

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Sun Feb 26, 2006 4:08 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Posts: 1549

Joined: 27th Apr 2005

Gallery: 1 images

Ride: AU Fairmont Ghia

Location: Perth
WA, Australia

I'm doing it at the moment but without smartlock it is a b**ch. To do the conversion properly you need to run the el computer, which means you need to change your ignition barrel and fit a BEM. You need all the stuff mentioned in the conversion doco as well. Its a long process and given the chance I would go down a different path but I already have 99.9% of the parts.

However if you had an EB or ED it would be a very worthwhile conversion
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Sun Feb 26, 2006 4:21 pm 
Oompa Loompa
Offline

Age: 29

Posts: 22

Joined: 17th Feb 2006

Ride: ea falcon s pack

Location: jurien bay
WA, Australia

thx for the info, just saved me a whole lota trouble, i have heard its still not a bad way to go performance wise but i think ill go a different path n keep it simple, good luck with your conversion, may have to tell me how she goes once your dun aye

 

_________________

EA Falcon S, no current mods :'(

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Sun Feb 26, 2006 4:59 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Posts: 1549

Joined: 27th Apr 2005

Gallery: 1 images

Ride: AU Fairmont Ghia

Location: Perth
WA, Australia

yer i give a greater spread of torque all round, which is good because its not a mod with a trade off.

DO you have a mpi EA or carby style injection?
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Sun Feb 26, 2006 7:40 pm 
Oompa Loompa
Offline

Age: 29

Posts: 22

Joined: 17th Feb 2006

Ride: ea falcon s pack

Location: jurien bay
WA, Australia

yer thats wot ive heard n give better economy so its a good package all round, yer ive got the mpi, u cant do it on the cfi model can ya

 

_________________

EA Falcon S, no current mods :'(

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Sun Feb 26, 2006 7:46 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Posts: 1549

Joined: 27th Apr 2005

Gallery: 1 images

Ride: AU Fairmont Ghia

Location: Perth
WA, Australia

nixioxiao wrote:
yer thats wot ive heard n give better economy so its a good package all round, yer ive got the mpi, u cant do it on the cfi model can ya


I am :shock:

If you have a MPi then you "could" get a BBM manifold and just replace you normal manifold and run the standard computer. Not as good as the EL computer but not as much hassel.

Because I have the throttle body injection (aka CPi) I have to replace EVERYTHING including the fuel pump in the fuel tank.

So if you were to do it you would need BBM, hoses+airbox, thermostat housing?, and possibly a new dipstick, not sure on that one. PM voxace, he did it to his but ended up changing to an EL computer to get it running right. Altedxr6 has got MPi EA's to run the BBM so PM him as well
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Sun Feb 26, 2006 8:30 pm 
Oompa Loompa
Offline

Age: 29

Posts: 22

Joined: 17th Feb 2006

Ride: ea falcon s pack

Location: jurien bay
WA, Australia

yer it wood be s**t of hassle to do it on a CPi, yer ive heard it will work on a mpi but not to the full potential still wood be a nice gain, i herd u have to get el rocker cover, thermostat hosing top and radiator hose aswell but i didnt think theyd be neccessary you had any problems with fitment?

 

_________________

EA Falcon S, no current mods :'(

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Sun Feb 26, 2006 8:38 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Posts: 1549

Joined: 27th Apr 2005

Gallery: 1 images

Ride: AU Fairmont Ghia

Location: Perth
WA, Australia

nixioxiao wrote:
yer it wood be s**t of hassle to do it on a CPi, yer ive heard it will work on a mpi but not to the full potential still wood be a nice gain, i herd u have to get el rocker cover, thermostat hosing top and radiator hose aswell but i didnt think theyd be neccessary you had any problems with fitment?



Havent fitted mine yet, still working out the finer points of the smartlock problem.

You dont need to change the rocker cover. mixed opinions on the hose
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Sun Feb 26, 2006 8:51 pm 
Oompa Loompa
Offline

Age: 29

Posts: 22

Joined: 17th Feb 2006

Ride: ea falcon s pack

Location: jurien bay
WA, Australia

yer i thort it would be somthing like that for most of it thx for clearing that up

 

_________________

EA Falcon S, no current mods :'(

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Fri Apr 07, 2006 1:53 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline

Age: 38

Posts: 1320

Joined: 5th Nov 2004

Ride: 66 Coupe

Location: Perth
WA, Australia

I have smartlock bypass modules available for anyone thats interested, PM me for details
Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:
Sort by  
 Page 1 of 1  [ 10 posts ] 

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Google [Bot], Google Adsense [Bot] and 13 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

 

 

It is currently Sun Dec 17, 2017 2:20 am All times are UTC + 11 hours

 

 

(c)2014 Total Web Solutions Australia - Australian Web Hosting and Domain Names