Fordmods Logo

Bloody odometer not working now 

 

Page 1 of 1 [ 12 posts ] 

 
 Post subject: Bloody odometer not working now
Posted: Fri Sep 29, 2006 7:30 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 29

Posts: 3928

Joined: 5th Nov 2004

Gallery: 9 images

Ride: ED 5 Speed GLiXR

Location: Now in Brisbane
QLD, Australia

Ok ive got an ED GLi, and did an oil change on tuesday. Last night was the first time i realised the odometer isnt working anymore, so now i'm going to have to guess when i have to change the oil next.
Now dad was mentioning that if you overfill the oil that this can lead to the odometer not working, is this the case or not?
(yes i slightly overfilled by like 150 or so ml.)

 

_________________

17" Tezza Steelies, King F**king lows, pedders sports ryders, 2.5" cat back exhaust, pacemaker extractors, T5 manual
Low, loud and Slow

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Fri Sep 29, 2006 7:38 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 32

Posts: 3687

Joined: 4th Mar 2005

Gallery: 23 images

Ride: XR6 Turbo

Location: Taree
NSW, Australia

Dont think that would cause it,

 

_________________

SS Inductions CAI, K&N Filters, M-spec FMC, Turbosmart BOV, 8psi capa tune, X-force cat.

Mods going on: Nizpro springs, bosch 040 pump + Walbro gss341, 600cc injectors, PWR transcooler, 20% Underdrives, 15psi Actuator, Kingspring SSL's, 15psi tune.....More coming

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Fri Sep 29, 2006 7:45 pm 
Technical Contributor
Offline
User avatar

Age: 38

Posts: 4093

Joined: 20th Mar 2005

Gallery: 2 images

Ride: 2.0 Turbo VW

Power: 142 rwkw

Location: Seaford State:
VIC, Australia

lol... i like his style...
He obviously knew you overfilled it.

Not a chance in hell... its just died.

 

_________________

Carefree, we may not be number one, but we're up there.

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Fri Sep 29, 2006 8:13 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Posts: 1079

Joined: 18th Sep 2005

Ride: AUII Fairmont

Location: Belmont
WA, Australia

Rofl and you believed it that's great :)

Odometer runs off the speedo which runs off the gearbox. Nothing to do with your oil
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Fri Sep 29, 2006 9:02 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 33

Posts: 5924

Joined: 5th Nov 2004

Gallery: 7 images

Ride: Ford FPV FG F6 310

Power: 149 rwkw

Location: Brisbane
QLD, Australia

the gear in the instrument cluster is rooted.

 

_________________

NEW RIDE - FPV FG F6 6spd Auto. 12.26@114MPH, 1.88 60FT on Cheapy Tyres with 38PSI - Stock except K&N filter!

R.I.P. BF XR6 Turbo - You will not be forgotten :( 12.06@120MPH

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Sat Sep 30, 2006 3:34 am 
Fordmods Junkie
Offline
User avatar

Posts: 11739

Joined: 17th May 2005

Gallery: 11 images

Ride: EL Fairmont, VFR400 racer

Power: 144 rwkw

Location: Melbourne
VIC, Australia

.....ur gullable arent u? but yeah i think the odometer snapped. so u might need to fix that or just get a new cluster.

 

_________________

phongus = Post whore 2006
EL XR6 motor, EL ECU + J3 chip, WADE 1673 Camshaft, 3" S/S intake, Pacy 4480, 2.5" Hi flow cat, 2.5" Lukey exhaust.
Max Power = 144.6 rwkw (03/05/2008)

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Sat Sep 30, 2006 7:50 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 29

Posts: 3928

Joined: 5th Nov 2004

Gallery: 9 images

Ride: ED 5 Speed GLiXR

Location: Now in Brisbane
QLD, Australia

No i actuallly laughed at dad, I had an idea that a cbale or some form of thing had broken. It sorta stopped working after i reset the odo (the bottom one obviously) So maybe when i pressed the button it broke?

 

_________________

17" Tezza Steelies, King F**king lows, pedders sports ryders, 2.5" cat back exhaust, pacemaker extractors, T5 manual
Low, loud and Slow

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Sun Oct 01, 2006 12:11 pm 
Fordmods Newbie
Offline

Posts: 7

Joined: 28th Sep 2006

Location: Canberra
ACT, Australia

Try giving your trip meter reset button a few short sharp presses. It might free the mechanism if you are lucky. If not then you could try pulling your cluster apart and seeing if you can fix it. You've got nothing to lose.

Note that these clusters are electronic, ie. no cable. If your speedo is still working then the speed signal is getting to the cluster OK.

 

_________________

Current rides: XF Ute, XB Coupe, SY Territory.

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Sun Oct 01, 2006 12:51 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline

Age: 36

Posts: 3794

Joined: 9th Aug 2005

Ride: Hilux

Location: Mornington
VIC, Australia

smoke_rubber wrote:
the gear in the instrument cluster is rooted.


this man speaks the truth. so common. usually happens when you reset it. onme tooth will break off the gear. cheap enough to buy, easy to fix if you know how.

 

_________________

Now driving a Hilux

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Sun Oct 01, 2006 5:18 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 33

Posts: 5924

Joined: 5th Nov 2004

Gallery: 7 images

Ride: Ford FPV FG F6 310

Power: 149 rwkw

Location: Brisbane
QLD, Australia

yeh its even more prone to breaking when people press it while actually moving.

 

_________________

NEW RIDE - FPV FG F6 6spd Auto. 12.26@114MPH, 1.88 60FT on Cheapy Tyres with 38PSI - Stock except K&N filter!

R.I.P. BF XR6 Turbo - You will not be forgotten :( 12.06@120MPH

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Sun Oct 01, 2006 10:26 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 29

Posts: 3928

Joined: 5th Nov 2004

Gallery: 9 images

Ride: ED 5 Speed GLiXR

Location: Now in Brisbane
QLD, Australia

smoke_rubber wrote:
yeh its even more prone to breaking when people press it while actually moving.


Ummm oops.
Nah kidding, i did it whilst parked before a scavenger hunt, then whilst driving looked down to se ehow many km;s we had gone it wasnt going. Will have a look into the probs and get my mate to pull it apart (damn having mechanic and car electricition friends is great).

 

_________________

17" Tezza Steelies, King F**king lows, pedders sports ryders, 2.5" cat back exhaust, pacemaker extractors, T5 manual
Low, loud and Slow

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Sun Oct 01, 2006 10:44 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline

Age: 31

Posts: 3893

Joined: 15th Nov 2004

Gallery: 24 images

Ride: BF MKII V8 Fairmont Ghia

Location: Perth
WA, Australia

hey TTBMX. can you go fetch me a long wait from the toolbox ;)

as they said, probably a stuffed gear in the cluster.

 

_________________

2007 Steel BF Ghia MKII V8 - 19" GTP's + Superlows

Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:
Sort by  
 Page 1 of 1  [ 12 posts ] 

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 15 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

 

 

It is currently Tue Dec 19, 2017 6:17 am All times are UTC + 11 hours

 

 

(c)2014 Total Web Solutions Australia - Australian Web Hosting and Domain Names