Fordmods Logo

Bris area need help with ECU reset/Idle 

 

Page 1 of 1 [ 5 posts ] 

 
 Post subject: Bris area need help with ECU reset/Idle
Posted: Wed May 14, 2008 4:31 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline

Posts: 441

Joined: 23rd Nov 2007

Location: Brisbane
QLD, Australia

Ok, so my car went to a mech and he put the scanner tool on it and it came back with hard code errors for the idle and ABS sensor.
He then said the car needs to be parked without a battery connected for 24 hrs then he can do a idle/butterlfy valve/s reset...

Hmm that seems a long time to me but I was hoping that someone in Bris can do this much quicker for me in exchange for some beer??

Also, I would like to clean the throttle chamber? too..

Many thanks in advance..
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Wed May 14, 2008 5:05 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline

Age: 30

Posts: 1087

Joined: 1st Sep 2007

Ride: '07 LT XR5

Power: 133 rwkw

Location: sydney
NSW, Australia

what car? just unhook the negative terminal on the battery, then using a screw driver loosen the hose clamps that hold the hose to the throttle body, pull off the hose, wipe the throttle body with a rag so then it is nice n clean.

 

_________________

So much RAM the motherboard twisted off the POST.

I lost 3 cylinders... but gained a turbo...
Proud owner of an '07 XR5Turbo

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Wed May 14, 2008 5:12 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline

Posts: 441

Joined: 23rd Nov 2007

Location: Brisbane
QLD, Australia

Sorry about that..
ED I6..
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Wed May 14, 2008 7:21 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline

Age: 30

Posts: 1087

Joined: 1st Sep 2007

Ride: '07 LT XR5

Power: 133 rwkw

Location: sydney
NSW, Australia

yeah mate, just take the positive terminal off.
then undo the hose to the TB, clean it out yourself, clean the airfilter out while you're at it, 10 or 15min should have passed by this point, you're now fine to hook the battery back up, the ECU will have had time to clear.

then start her up. i will warn you, itll run badly for a while since it needs to relearn, so take it for a spirited drive

 

_________________

So much RAM the motherboard twisted off the POST.

I lost 3 cylinders... but gained a turbo...
Proud owner of an '07 XR5Turbo

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Wed May 14, 2008 7:29 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline

Posts: 441

Joined: 23rd Nov 2007

Location: Brisbane
QLD, Australia

Thanks for that..So that will remove the error logged as a hard code?
The reason I ask this is because I wish to also replace a ABS sensor and the mech told me the only way to remove the code after fixing the problem is with a scantool-hence the name hard code..
Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:
Sort by  
 Page 1 of 1  [ 5 posts ] 

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 34 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

 

 

It is currently Fri Dec 15, 2017 6:12 pm All times are UTC + 11 hours

 

 

(c)2014 Total Web Solutions Australia - Australian Web Hosting and Domain Names