Fordmods Logo

cam for DOHC 

 

Page 1 of 1 [ 5 posts ] 

 
 Post subject: cam for DOHC
Posted: Sat Mar 03, 2007 2:31 pm 
Fordmods Newbie
Offline

Age: 31

Posts: 6

Joined: 24th Feb 2007

Gallery: 1 images

Location: CAIRNS
QLD, Australia

i got a ba falcon and i've got full exhaust and a K&N air filter. i was thinking of getting a better cam, i was woundering if i need to buy two or is there one that controlls the othere two? and what size should i use to get better acceleration.

 

_________________

(.Y.)

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Sat Mar 03, 2007 5:25 pm 
Technical Contributor
Offline
User avatar

Age: 32

Posts: 2517

Joined: 7th Nov 2004

Gallery: 4 images

Ride: LS3 VF

Location: Bunbury
WA, Australia

in all honesty mate its very expensive and not especially worth putting a cam in a car with elaborate VCT setup such as a ba. this is because normally an aftermarket cam has higher lobes to create better breathing, however the vct is able to simulate this exactly right for every situation, thus creating good idle quality, good power, and torque etc. better option for you is going down the flash tune using a dyno, better results for much less money
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Sat Mar 03, 2007 7:44 pm 
Smokin em up
Offline

Age: 30

Posts: 274

Joined: 22nd Feb 2006

Ride: AU 6

Location: Geelong
VIC, Australia

yeah u need 2, Nizpro are doing cams for the Ba's thou at 2k its very expensive but it puts out close to 200rwkw
Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: thanks
Posted: Sat Mar 03, 2007 11:16 pm 
Fordmods Newbie
Offline

Age: 31

Posts: 6

Joined: 24th Feb 2007

Gallery: 1 images

Location: CAIRNS
QLD, Australia

thanks guys is there is anything that i can do that would be good for the low end

 

_________________

(.Y.)

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Sat Mar 03, 2007 11:25 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline

Age: 36

Posts: 9453

Joined: 9th Nov 2004

Gallery: 4 images

Ride: Fordrunner 5.0 Turbo

Location: Wollongong
NSW, Australia

xpression wrote:
in all honesty mate its very expensive and not especially worth putting a cam in a car with elaborate VCT setup such as a ba. this is because normally an aftermarket cam has higher lobes to create better breathing, however the vct is able to simulate this exactly right for every situation, thus creating good idle quality, good power, and torque etc. better option for you is going down the flash tune using a dyno, better results for much less money


VCT only changed timing. Lift is unchanged.
VVTL-i is a toyota system which changes timing and lift. This would be a kick a*** system to have a bit of a muck around with.

Yhe Nizpro cams I think have the same duration as the stock cams but I think they have higher lift. (someone correct me on this).
Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:
Sort by  
 Page 1 of 1  [ 5 posts ] 

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Facebook [Bot] and 34 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

 

 

It is currently Tue Dec 12, 2017 8:03 pm All times are UTC + 11 hours

 

 

(c)2014 Total Web Solutions Australia - Australian Web Hosting and Domain Names