Fordmods Logo

cam for my set up??? 

 

Page 2 of 8 [ 108 posts ] Go to page Previous  1, 2, 3, 4, 5 ... 8  Next

 
 Post subject: Re: cam for my set up???
Posted: Wed Jan 13, 2010 5:50 pm 
Tyre Shredder
Offline

Age: 25

Posts: 359

Joined: 22nd Dec 2009

Gallery: 10 images

Ride: el xr6, r33 series 2 skyline

Power: 149 rwkw

Location: adelaide
SA, Australia

i know the vx dident have 245kw i just ment in genral it cant keep up with the holdens that did have 245 only the ones with 225kw, and as i was trying to explin it feels like the cam has no kick and is lifless my car deffs has some go in it but as we all know a cam doesnt produce high power through out the whole rev range so what im saying is if i had a hotter cam i would be able to feel a good kick of power or atleast notice some diffrence in noise. but i cant so i figure its close to standard. can any one answer my questions or is it to hard?

btw im putting my dyno sheet up on my photos if i work out how so look at it if you doubted me altho i did round up by .9kw

 

_________________

God made s**t, Holden put wheels on it

skyline daily
ford building

Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: cam for my set up???
Posted: Wed Jan 13, 2010 6:07 pm 
Tyre Shredder
Offline

Age: 25

Posts: 359

Joined: 22nd Dec 2009

Gallery: 10 images

Ride: el xr6, r33 series 2 skyline

Power: 149 rwkw

Location: adelaide
SA, Australia

couldent put the image on ford mods so heres the html
http://s972.photobucket.com/albums/ae209/paulos92/

 

_________________

God made s**t, Holden put wheels on it

skyline daily
ford building

Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: cam for my set up???
Posted: Wed Jan 13, 2010 6:23 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 28

Posts: 4326

Joined: 30th Oct 2006

Gallery: 18 images

Ride: Envi EF

Location: Grafton
NSW, Australia

Image
Definitely wouldnt go to a 1636 with that power figure, you'd go backwards for sure.
Perhaps get a custom Surecam... but I would make an effort to find out what your tuner has installed and its specs.
150rwkw is nothing to sneeze at from a 157fwkw motor.

 

_________________

>>>EF Futura T build<<<

Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: cam for my set up???
Posted: Wed Jan 13, 2010 7:15 pm 
Tyre Shredder
Offline

Age: 25

Posts: 359

Joined: 22nd Dec 2009

Gallery: 10 images

Ride: el xr6, r33 series 2 skyline

Power: 149 rwkw

Location: adelaide
SA, Australia

il post up tomoro at like 5 or so what the specs are on the cam, but the guy even said the cam was nothing special and i dident pay much for it, what do you think of the wade cam 977b-14 ( keeping in mind im going for 0-100) cheers btw for putting up the pic

 

_________________

God made s**t, Holden put wheels on it

skyline daily
ford building

Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: cam for my set up???
Posted: Wed Jan 13, 2010 7:34 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Posts: 3363

Joined: 27th Dec 2004

Gallery: 4 images

Ride: MCMXCV Falcon

Location: G town
VIC, Australia

wade 1673 is the goer....

 

_________________

Image

Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: cam for my set up???
Posted: Wed Jan 13, 2010 10:44 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 28

Posts: 4326

Joined: 30th Oct 2006

Gallery: 18 images

Ride: Envi EF

Location: Grafton
NSW, Australia

I have a wade 1673 in a manual + all n/a mods bar headwork, and I'd be surprised if it pulled 150rwkw.
I still say custom grind....

 

_________________

>>>EF Futura T build<<<

Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: cam for my set up???
Posted: Wed Jan 13, 2010 10:49 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Posts: 3363

Joined: 27th Dec 2004

Gallery: 4 images

Ride: MCMXCV Falcon

Location: G town
VIC, Australia

gezza has 154rwkw on the 1673 grind...with an AUTO! so it can be done...

in fact the 1673 with a std head can crank out up to 170rwkw

 

_________________

Image

Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: cam for my set up???
Posted: Wed Jan 13, 2010 11:36 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline

Age: 29

Posts: 2563

Joined: 19th Feb 2007

Gallery: 21 images

Ride: 98 EL Futura

Power: 199 rwkw

Location: Lilydale
VIC, Australia

Yeah but from 149rwkw to 154rwkw isn't much of a jump and the dynos are always different readings so his might read more or less than mine. I wouldn't get a 1673 if you are already at 150rwkw, i don't think you will see much of an increase if any. Id be looking at shorter diff gears and a 1521 cam if you want a real kick

 

_________________

EL Futura: CVE head, Wolf V500, ICE Ignition and Coil, 36lb injectors, Walbro 255lb, Paci comps, 3" exhaust, T5, Harrop Truetrac with 3.9s. Now with 198.9rwkw, (~185rwkw and 13.80 @99.1mph) with more power to come

Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: cam for my set up???
Posted: Thu Jan 14, 2010 12:14 am 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 28

Posts: 4326

Joined: 30th Oct 2006

Gallery: 18 images

Ride: Envi EF

Location: Grafton
NSW, Australia

Exactly. He could in fact loose power with the 1673 quite easy if the dyno he uses reads 'low'.
The 1673 isnt really a big NA cam at all!!

 

_________________

>>>EF Futura T build<<<

Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: cam for my set up???
Posted: Thu Jan 14, 2010 12:18 am 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Posts: 3363

Joined: 27th Dec 2004

Gallery: 4 images

Ride: MCMXCV Falcon

Location: G town
VIC, Australia

177 proven rear wheel KW is what this cam can do....and for the price its worth a shot

 

_________________

Image

Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: cam for my set up???
Posted: Thu Jan 14, 2010 12:20 am 
Getting Side Ways
Offline

Age: 29

Posts: 2563

Joined: 19th Feb 2007

Gallery: 21 images

Ride: 98 EL Futura

Power: 199 rwkw

Location: Lilydale
VIC, Australia

But what else was done to the car to get that? from 150rwkw which is what most people get with this cam with a healthy engine to 177rwkw is a big a** jump. I have done most of the NA things to my car except a ported head.

 

_________________

EL Futura: CVE head, Wolf V500, ICE Ignition and Coil, 36lb injectors, Walbro 255lb, Paci comps, 3" exhaust, T5, Harrop Truetrac with 3.9s. Now with 198.9rwkw, (~185rwkw and 13.80 @99.1mph) with more power to come

Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: cam for my set up???
Posted: Thu Jan 14, 2010 12:23 am 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Posts: 3363

Joined: 27th Dec 2004

Gallery: 4 images

Ride: MCMXCV Falcon

Location: G town
VIC, Australia

doesnt need porting the 177 was with stock head on a good bottom end...everything optimised...3" exhaust but everyone will tell u that makes no difference as well!!!

shows theres a lot of restriction in the intake and exhaust on most setups

 

_________________

Image

Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: cam for my set up???
Posted: Thu Jan 14, 2010 12:25 am 
Getting Side Ways
Offline

Age: 29

Posts: 2563

Joined: 19th Feb 2007

Gallery: 21 images

Ride: 98 EL Futura

Power: 199 rwkw

Location: Lilydale
VIC, Australia

ok fully balanced bottom end and 3" exhaust will get you up there. I'm actually looking around to find someone to do a 3" exhaust for me. When I get it done I will get a dyno with a before and after.

 

_________________

EL Futura: CVE head, Wolf V500, ICE Ignition and Coil, 36lb injectors, Walbro 255lb, Paci comps, 3" exhaust, T5, Harrop Truetrac with 3.9s. Now with 198.9rwkw, (~185rwkw and 13.80 @99.1mph) with more power to come

Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: cam for my set up???
Posted: Thu Jan 14, 2010 12:28 am 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Posts: 3363

Joined: 27th Dec 2004

Gallery: 4 images

Ride: MCMXCV Falcon

Location: G town
VIC, Australia

1521 could be good but i havent seen any figures on rwkw for its potential....plus a fair bitmore exy$$ if u need springs and its billet only

 

_________________

Image

Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: cam for my set up???
Posted: Thu Jan 14, 2010 8:50 am 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 35

Posts: 1775

Joined: 10th Jul 2007

Gallery: 8 images

Ride: BFII Turbo

Power: 253 rwkw

Location: Waurn Ponds
VIC, Australia

some good numbers on the dyno, what MPH does it pull on the 1/4? I know your not after 1/4 time, but MPH gives you good indication of actual power.

If you want to max your 0-100 time with a btr auto you need 3.89:1 ratio diff gears.

2nd tops out at around 110 on the limiter, or bang on 100 of you let it change a fraction early.

I had them in my AU when it was auto, and they were friggen terrific. off the line to 100 kept VT clubsport, and VY SS honest.

Most will tell you 4.11s because they think more is always better, but you would be in 3rd by the time you hit 100. thats one too many gearchanges for a maximum 0-100 time.

3.89 gears, 2500 stall, adjustable shift kit, lsd, and at least 235s with good rubber and the time will be amazing, better than you could think possible from a humble 6. its all in the gearing 0-100.

 

_________________

enough isn't enough

Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:
Sort by  
 Page 2 of 8  [ 108 posts ]  Go to page Previous  1, 2, 3, 4, 5 ... 8  Next

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 18 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

 

 

It is currently Sun Dec 17, 2017 11:36 pm All times are UTC + 11 hours

 

 

(c)2014 Total Web Solutions Australia - Australian Web Hosting and Domain Names