Fordmods Logo

cam in a car with gas setup 

 

Page 2 of 2 [ 20 posts ] Go to page Previous  1, 2

 
 Post subject: Re: cam in a car with gas setup
Posted: Tue Aug 17, 2010 9:07 am 
Stock as a Rock
Offline

Age: 29

Posts: 145

Joined: 24th May 2010

Gallery: 3 images

Ride: EB Ghia

Location: Ballarat
VIC, Australia

If you want a stock idle without having to get a tune get EL rocker gear and get a 1673 or 1636 with a higher lobe separation. As above mentioned like 114.
If your going to get a tune then get a 977B cause i heard there good for turbo aps as it's at full noise when your turbo will be.
Otherwise email wade and ask for the AU equivalent.
Or if you prefer another brand and them
Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: cam in a car with gas setup
Posted: Tue Aug 17, 2010 9:10 am 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 28

Posts: 3374

Joined: 11th Mar 2008

Ride: EA SVO, AU2 Forte

Location: Bendigo
VIC, Australia

i had a wade 1214au cam in my EB when it had the 3.9L and it has a Impco 200 mixer and model J converter. it loved it.

then the same cam was put in my brothers EA with a 3.9L CPI with a gas hat setup. it loved it too

 

_________________

Daily driver: AU2. 5 speed. 19" FG luxos. Full exhaust. Lowered. AU3 XR leather interior, converted to full power windows. 3.45 LSD. IN THE FUTURE: Tickford 6
Weekend driver: EA SVO AU motor. Built BTR. TCE 2800 stall. T76 turbo. Locked diff. On E85. approx 320rwkw. 11.5 @121mph

Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: cam in a car with gas setup
Posted: Tue Aug 17, 2010 1:15 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline

Posts: 2410

Joined: 4th Sep 2006

Location: Sydney
NSW, Australia

Now that u guyz have installed a cam has it increased lpg consumption much???

 

_________________

Wanted Either Capri/Cortina/XY/XW/XR/XT with tough V8 stroker engine, auto, 9inch, upgraded brakes etc[/SIZE][/size][/color]

Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: cam in a car with gas setup
Posted: Tue Aug 17, 2010 2:23 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline

Posts: 5582

Joined: 20th May 2005

Gallery: 11 images

Ride: EB1 Fairmont Ghia T5 Wagon

Location: Seven Hills, Sydney
NSW, Australia

Only due to the fact that, like petrol, you step on the accellorator more to take advantage of the cam you just installed, therefore using more. If I drive hard for a full tank, I can get 50kms less out of the tank.

But, if I drive sedately, short shifting, cruising along, it is much the same as it was.

Cheers
BenJ

 

_________________

BenJ's EB T5 DOHC Ghia Wagon - Current Ride
BenJ's EB GL Sedan - Previous Ride
My respect and thanks go to - snap0964, Paulmac, SWC and MRE-50L

Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: cam in a car with gas setup
Posted: Tue Sep 07, 2010 3:35 pm 
Stock as a Rock
Offline

Posts: 156

Joined: 30th Jun 2008

Location: Melbourne
VIC, Australia

I'm running a 977b with an ezygas mixer ring setup. Runs fine on lpg, however needs a tune (running fine just munching through fuel). Had it for 3-4 months now and haven't had problems other than using lots of fuel (~20L/100km) at least LPG is cheap though.

Looking at upgrading to a gas research setup now

 

_________________

1: Mum's car: ED XR6 wagon.zorst,stereo
2: My cars: Holden Monaro CV8-Z 2005. ls1 v8 :)
3: Nissan 180sx.sr20det, ~180rwkw.Lotsa mods,0-100 in 5.2secs.crashed into pole :(
4: EB2 Fairmont. 5spd,2.5" zorst,hi-flow cat,extractors,wade977b,j3, plus a 152dB 200psi train horn

Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:
Sort by  
 Page 2 of 2  [ 20 posts ]  Go to page Previous  1, 2

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 17 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

 

 

It is currently Wed Dec 13, 2017 3:21 pm All times are UTC + 11 hours

 

 

(c)2014 Total Web Solutions Australia - Australian Web Hosting and Domain Names